Ratings based on 2,940 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hartford, CT

Great access to Riverwalk and Rooftop Views

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Location, historic building, rooftop pool and hot tubs.
Cons: Upkeep of building. Variety of items at lunch and happy hour.
Location: Riverwalk, Alamo
Great historic building, rooftop pool and views are amazing. Great access to Riverwalk, restaurants very close.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas-Fort Worth

Good place for a conference

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Good location, good breakfast, interesting architecture, and nice people.
Cons: Parking was expensive. Honestly, I parked down the street in a different parking garage, and saved at least $10 over the weekend.
Location: Visit the Riverwalk - lots of restaurants and shops to choose from. Visit the new "Battle of Texas Independence" exhibit close to Rivercenter Mall.
Expedia gave a price break, and staying at the Drury Plaza was cheaper than staying at the hotels closer to the convention center, and it wasn't that far too walk either, even in the rain, which I did Saturday (I had my raincoat). This hotel has character (it was a bank that has been renovated), and I liked the layout. It also had an outdoor pool and an indoor pool that were both of good size. I was alone, so I picked the room with one bed, which was fine. The room was comfortable and laid out nice. Service was good, and those to stay a few days are encouraged to re-use sheets and towels, which cuts costs. Breakfast was good too - choices of eggs, ham or sausage, oatmeal, fruit, and assorted breads. The other hotels close to the convention center didn't have breakfast included, but the Drury Plaza does - and a breakfast like that would be at least $12 at a restaurant. I would stay here again. It's in the middle of downtown, and is within walking distance to several tourist spots (i.e. the Alamo) and the Riverwalk, as well as the convention center, the courthouse, and two churches - I went to Mass Sunday morning at Old St. Joseph's. I think there are some larger rooms there too, since it looked like quite a few families stayed there too.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington

Nice location

Posted Aug 23, 2016
We stayed in a suite. We had a king size bed in our bedroom and a sleeper sofa in the living room for the kids. It was a bit disappointing that the sleeper sofa was not made up with sheets when we arrived. We were tired when we arrived and had to make up the bed ourself with a bag of bedding in the closet. The room was clean. The suite was large. I would have liked a bedroom door though for privacy. The slider door out to the balcony was so hard to open and close we did not use it much . There was also the start of a mold problem in the shower area. The staff was friendly. We enjoyed the evening kickback and breakfast. we stayed for 5 nights.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston TX

VERY NICE CLOSE IN BETWEEN ALL YOUR SHOPPING

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Everything..... you are in between market square, riverwalk, and alamo
Cons: NOTHING
Location: Location is perfect
VERY VERY NICE, beautiful, clean, very comfy!! Is a huge hotel you have to leave ahead to avoid waiting for valet!!! But other than that excellent
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Nice, peaceful weekend getaway

Posted Aug 22, 2016
The room was more than expected. Very quiet. I loved the bathtub, very relaxing
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great ammenities, great service, perfect location!

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Loved the rooftop ammenities over looking San Antonio. The staff was great, valet service was very nice and helpful. We stayed in a luxury King and the room was very nice and clean. The drinks were great, pool and hot tubs were great, nice fitness center with a great view. The location was perfect for the river walk, the basement takes you straight to it. The only thing I didn't like about this hotel was the ammenities closed at 9:30 which is kind of a bummer.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A gem in the center of downtown

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: It would have been nice if they had an on site cash bar/restaurant. They did a lovely job with the happy hour and breakfast.
Location: Center of downtown and easy access to the river walk.
Friendly staff, in the center of downtown and in the middle circle of the river walk, with basement access to the river walk. From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed and had excellent timely service. Even when there was a backup to get the valet parked car in or out of the garage, the staff expedited the process and we never had to wait more than 10 minutes. The room itself (a double queen) was lovely with a ceiling fan and traditional furniture. The beds were heavenly to sleep in with an excess of pillows both feather type and foam type so you could pick your preference. Large TV, small refrigerator, and nice coffee set up. The bathrooms had shampoo, rinse and wash dispensers built in with quality products ~ very much appreciated. The second floor offered a free happy hour set up with hot appetizers every evening and a free hot breakfast every morning, as well as a coffee, soft drink bar open 24/7 included in the room rate. The hotel was once a bank and many historical features remain with historical information posted ~ nice touch. Lobby is beautiful with a lovely stained glass window. The hot tub and pool on the top of the 24 floor hotel offer a stunning view of the city.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Hotel experience

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: While they offer free food and drink we found the quality to be lacking.
Cons: The free food
Location: In great position for walking the River Walk. Safe and convenient.
Gorgeous old hotel with lots of character. Service was great. Rooms are spacious and comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Great hospitality close to river walk /city sites

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Loved our stay, free breakfast, dinner and three free drinks per customer, (21^) per day. Roof pool nice and recommend going up to roof after dark before they close to see city lights. Only downfall for some might be no bar or restaurant on site except for the free meals. So many establishments in the vicinity that was not a big deal for us. Great staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Breakfast and Kickback meal were great.

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Walk out basement door and right on riverwalk close to Alamo and other site seeing locations.