Ratings based on 2,285 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin

Miami circa 1964 in San Antonio!

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor facing the pool... private pool-level patios facing pool in center courtyard & full service poolside bar!
Cons: Upgraded mattresses & down pillows would be nice... but the ones there now are not too bad...
Location: Equal walking distance to downtown or the Pearl Brewery eateries! Or check out the romantic basement bar at the Havana hotel just 2 blocks down.
This place is a time warp, but in a good way! Yes, it's old but very well maintained & clean... However, if you're used to wearing your silkies at the Embassy Suites (or the Menger Hotel), then this place is not for you...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TX

Hotel by Quiet end of the riverwalk

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Pros: I liked the riverwalk and downtown access. If you don't care for the busy and loud area of riverwalk this is a good location.
Cons: Please refer to comments above. Much could be improved.
Location: I liked the riverwalk and downtown access. If you don't care for the busy and loud area of riverwalk this is a good location.
I was disappointed with my stay. The room was very small and crowded. There was very little space to walk around in. The bathroom door would not shut. Cleaning service came and only made one bed. It appeared there were not many guests during my stay; however, I got a room on the second floor with no view. In addition I was placed right by the elevator so I heard it go up and down the entire stay. This was annoying at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Family stay

Posted Jan 21, 2016
Pros: Location and price
Cons: Driveway at main entrance is short & narrow & serves as both drop-off/pick-up lane & entrance to parking lot so it can back up, but no way around it
Location: It's a 10 minute walk to everything in downtown and a 10-minute drive to the Alamo Dome (pending parking traffic)
Hotel looks like an older building but everything inside is up-to-date. Location is right on the Riverwalk and is a 10 minute walk to the main area of downtown San Antonio which includes the Alamo and mall. Area around hotel is quiet. Had a minor issue with hot water in our room and our parking fees were waived to make up for it which was nice. Compared to other hotels on/near Riverwalk this was best combination of location, price, and quality.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico, DF

Hotel bueno de precio, malo en calidad

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Este hotel maneja una tarifa económica a doc con la calidad del mismo, la mayor de las ventajas la cercanía (20 minutos) del centro del riverwalk, sin embargo el penúltimo día de mi estancia no hicieron limpieza en la habitación, además de que el desayuno es malo, y las instalaciones bastante obsoletas
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Corpus Christi

We had a very relaxing stay and loved the view

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Quick and easy check in and nice environment..loved the location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

リバーウォークに近い素敵なホテル

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Greyhound利用には最適な場所 近くにコンビニ等はないがホテルにあるお店が23:00まで営業 コインランドリー有り 朝食は有料$11くらい 部屋は広くベットも素敵 冷蔵庫、電子レンジ有り スタッフはみんなとても親切 サンアントニオのおすすめのお店やマップなどが準備されている
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel. Great location.

Posted Jan 13, 2016
My only complaint is the hotel security was a little lax. Outside access doors were all unlocked and anyone could circumvent the lobby and come in without being seen.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ok hotel, bad part of town

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Our vehicle was broken into New Year's Eve. The hotel parking lot was full so we ended up across the street. Bad part of town. Old building. Small rooms but ok beds and amenities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

New Year's Eve

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: We only slept there - did not use any other facilities (ate breakfast somewhere else). The bar/cafe at the entrance had excellent live music.
Family and I (wife, me, 14yo girl, 12yo boy) spent New Year's Eve in San Antonio and we stayed here. BIG place, with a Latino character (especially the music in the elevators). One note: for those not familiar with San Antonio, while El Tropicano is technically on "The Riverwalk" (which it advertises), it is not on the more crowded (famous) downtown portion of The Riverwalk - not a problem because that is only a 7-10 minute walk away, but do not expect to walk out of the lobby into the crowds.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Not what I was expecting

Posted Jan 4, 2016
First we realized that it was not close to the recreations and retaurants proximity, we have to walk quite of bit to get to it, we sleep on a dirty room, our room was never clean after the first night, we have to call the front desk to get toilet paper, our shower down spout broke off it was repaired the next day, two hours before our departure, not recommending this Hotel to anybody after our first experience.