Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from El Paso, TX

Nice hotel with great location

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Friendly check in.. breakfast was good. The cleaning crew was patient with my accommodations. Rooms were well equipped. Comfortable!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disappointing stay

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Pros: The room was neat. The television worked.
Cons: meals
Location: We stayed there because it was close to the hospital where I had a procedure the next morning. Not the easiest to get around.
My husband has stayed in these hotels before with nothing but praise. This one was not close to that level. "Dinner" was a wiener, bun, salad, soft pretzel and soup. We could have gotten much more nourishing meal at a fast food place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, TX

Will definitely stay again!

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Six Flags, Sea World, LDS Temple, River Walk, The Alamo
Clean room, comfortable bed, great breakfast! Loved our stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016
The breakfast is great! The staff is very nice. Location is very convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from US

Comfortable Hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Spaciousness of room, hotel staff, complimentary meals, proximity to my business venue.
Cons: Housekeeping of room and restricting noisy hotel guests-children running down hallway bouncing off room doors. Many guests were disturbed by this.
Location: I was near to my speaking venue so the location was great. Close to Riverwalk and downtown San Antonio.
I enjoy the spacious rooms and appreciated the complimentary dinners, breakfasts, and cookies : ) The weakest part of my stay was room service--they did not vacuum each day or switch out used glasses.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Clean room friendly staff. Will be staying again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Great hotel near downtown

Posted Apr 10, 2016
This hotel was absolutely fantastic. Clean rooms, free wifi and breakfast, as well as not having to worry about your vehicle being broken into. It's about a 30 minute drive from downtown so you aren't in the action, but loads of restaurants and eateries nearby where you don't feel like you're scraping by. For me, it was well worth the distance for the price. I would definitely recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Burleson Texas

Would not stay here again

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: LIked the 2 room suite. Slept well in the queen size bed.
Cons: Noise control, water pressure, sleeper sofa, pillows
Around 6 am, loud music with booming base started and continued all morning until we checked out. Apparently it is the nearby church with loud music. Very disruptive to sleep. Also the hotel is undergoing renovations and was noisy during the day. Sleeper sofa was extremely uncomfortable and threatened to fold up when you moved. I called and asked for a rollaway bed and we were told they did not have any in spite of it being in the hotel description. Shower had very very low water pressure which was very disappointing. Pillows were not fluffy at all and went flat when you laid on them. Would not stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Visiting family

Posted Nov 18, 2015
HWS is an excellent hotel to stay. Always stay at this location. Very convient location to my family, restarants, shopping etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Great experience. We stayed for labor day and had a very pleasant experience.