Ratings based on 7,107 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Tx

Well located to Riverwalk.

Posted May 26, 2017
We enjoyed our stay very much. Staff was very friendly. Highly recommend restaurant in hotel for breakfast. You must try the Belgian waffles and berries.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Perfect Location to Enjoy Riverwalk, Alamo

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Spacious room, excellent location
Location: Riverwalk, Alamo, restaurants, historic buildings all within a very easy walk
We stayed in a lovely king bedroom suite. It was roomy and completely modern, and had a great view of the riverwalk. The couch in the living room folds out into a queen bed. We also enjoyed the pool and fitness center. For couples wanting to see the riverwalk and Alamo, and especially for families with children, Hotel Contessa is very nearly perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

All around fabulous hotel

Posted May 25, 2017
We were so pleased that we've decided to make our stay there a tradition! We loved the space, the staff went above and beyond, our treatments at the spa were incredible! Quiet overlooking the river, private pool.... Looking forward to our next stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baton Rouge, LA

A great stay at the Contessa!

Posted May 24, 2017
After securing last minute tickets for the NBA western championship game I had to scramble to find a hotel in San Antonio. I knew I wanted to stay on the Riverwalk. After perusing Expedia I chose the Contessa. The room before taxes was $141 a night, quite a deal as most of the luxury hotels such as the Contessa are usually well into the 200-300. Naturally the overnight Valet service was $36 but again that is quite standard these days. Upon arrival the valets were most efficient and friendly. The front desk as well. Our room was ready at 2 which was a nice surprise. The hotel itself is beautiful, gorgeous artwork everywhere. The suite was fabulous, beautifully appointed. Location perfect. Las Ramblas, the restaurant/bar on the river level was great. We sat outside and had a nice lunch, including great $5 margaritas (Happy Hour) the BLT made with fried green tomatoes. Happily our basketball team, the Golden State Warriors, won the game and clinched a spot in the finals. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of the neatest places I've stayed

Posted May 23, 2017
I LOVED this room. The layout is different than any room I've been in. Very comfortable. I will stay here every time I'm in town!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from F

Outstanding room, staff, and location.

Posted May 23, 2017
Outstanding room, staff, and location. Great for family. Third time we've stayed at this same hotel and whenever we visit San Antonio this is our spot. The entire experience at this hotel is first class.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from g

Great hotel in a great location

Posted May 22, 2017
We stayed for two days and wished it could have been longer. Beautiful hotel, modern, very clean room with lots of room, very nice staff, in a great location. LOVED it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guam

Excellent.

Posted May 20, 2017
Wonderful location and great hotel. Hotel is first class.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohienix, AZ

Walk out to Riverwalk

Posted May 20, 2017
Excellent Suite for a great price in a super location. Parking was pricey, but otherwise, I travel frequently and would recommend this place over many others if you want to be near a lot of the action.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from China Spring Tx

First class hotel

Posted May 20, 2017
Staff was very friendly and helpful, hotel restaurant was very good will stay there again.