Ratings based on 5,371 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect hotel for the Riverwalk

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Cons: Bathroom lighting
Something for everyone. The suites are spacious and comfortable, the lounge has great ambiance and the rooftop pool is great in the summer. Our only complaint is is dim lighting in the bathrooms - makes it really difficult to put on makeup!
Comment from EPC
Sep 1, 2015 by Troy, EPC
We appreciate the 5 star review of our spacious suites and rooftop pool. We sincerely appreciate your business and hope you will return again very soon. Troy Mathews General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great River walk Hotel.

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Excellent...Hotel is beautiful!! Has a nice bar and nice outside sitting area...
Comment from EPC
Sep 1, 2015 by Troy, EPC
Thank you for the compliments to the hotel, bar and patio. We look forward to your return stay. Troy Mathews General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel on the river walk!

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Room was extremely clean! Staff was awesome and the valet babied my BMW M5! Such a great hotel for the price! Will be returning in the near future!
Comment from EPC
Aug 26, 2015 by Troy, EPC
We sincerely appreciate the 5 star review of the hotel. I’m so pleased our staff took care of you during you stay and we look forward to your return visit. Troy Mathews General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Perfect room

Posted Aug 24, 2015
The room was located in a perfect location , it wasn't facing the main lobby , awesome for the pups so they wouldn't get scared with the lobby noise
Comment from EPC
Aug 26, 2015 by Troy, EPC
We appreciate your review of the hotel and we look forward to seeing you and your pups again very soon. Troy Mathews General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas Texas

Nice hotel great location

Posted Aug 24, 2015
It's just a little weird I've never stayed in a nice hotel like this where they charge you eight bucks a day to use the pool We were afraid to ask for the key for the refrigerator thinking there was another extra charge, yes the refrigerators are locked
Comment from EPC
Aug 26, 2015 by Troy, EPC
Thank you for your review of the hotel. As with many hotels, there is an amenity fee which includes access to our rooftop pool. We hope you will choose to stay with us again. Troy Mathews General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Downingtown, PA

Great Hotel and Area to Visit.

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: Rooms were spacious. Great staff Food was very good Excellent location
Location: Great location Near all of the river walk attractions Ten minute walk to the Alamo and King William Area Two minutes to La Villita Arts Center
The Hotel Contessa had all of the amenities you could ask for. Very nice suites, a pleasant staff that was always willing to please, a very nice restaurant with both indoor and outdoor dining and great bar for decompressing in after a day of sightseeing. The outdoor dining area is not directly on the river walk but it affords an excellent view of the river and you are separated from the people walking by. The location along the river walk was perfect for us as it was away (but not too far away) from the crowded restaurant area. It is an easy walk to all of the areas attractions. Overall we had an excellent experience will stay there again on our next trip to San Antonio.
Comment from EPC
Aug 24, 2015 by Troy, EPC
We appreciate the 5 star review of the hotel, excellent location and spacious suites. I will pass along your compliments to our friendly staff and we look forward to your return visit. Troy Mathews General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Excellent location

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Cons: Nice rooftop pool, but it's a bit small when hotel is full. On Saturday, the pool was too crowded, but on Sunday it was almost empty.
Location: You're near the end of the River Walk, but that is a nice feature since you can still get to everything easily, but it keeps crowds away
We enjoyed our second stay at the Contessa as much as the first time. Texas was very hot in August, but that's not the hotels fault. Rooms were very clean, staff was courteous, location was great, right on the River Walk. Can't ask for more.
Comment from EPC
Aug 24, 2015 by Troy, EPC
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We appreciate your business during a hot summer and so glad you enjoyed the location directly on the Riverwalk. We hope you will come back again very soon. Troy Mathews General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, Texas

Great hotel on the River Walk

Posted Aug 18, 2015
We were celebrating our anniversary and found a jewel of hotel in La Contesa. Next time we will stay longer to experience more of the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2015 by Troy, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We look forward to your return visit. Troy Mathews General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, OK

Everything was wonderful & beautiful!!!!

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: The view, the room, the food, the riverwalk, and we are grateful you allowed our dogs to stay with us in your wonderful hotel!
The hotel is absolutely beautiful. The room was very spacious and comfortable. We loved the access to the Riverwalk, the food was delicious, and the view at night of downtown was awesome!!
Comment from EPC
Aug 18, 2015 by Troy, EPC
Thank you for the compliments to the hotel, spacious suites and location. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return visit. Troy Mathews General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Beautiful hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2015
The staff was great and the room was exactly what we wanted. My husband and I have a two teenagers and a toddler. We all were very comfortable in the double suite. It was close to everything you'd want to see in downtown San Antonio. We'll be staying here again. With that said, parking is expensive @ 40 bucks a night for vallet. However, you can come and go as you please. At check out I was charged for an early check in and late departure. They corrected the mistake but it would've been easy for anyone to miss. Checking out was chaotic, they should consider complimentary late check out to random rooms. The bellman were backed up and so was vallet. All in all, Im happy with my choice and these few things will not keep me away. Ooohhh and the concierge service was excellent!
Comment from EPC
Aug 20, 2015 by Troy, EPC
Thank you very much for the compliments to the hotel and our friendly staff. I’m pleased to read your family was comfortable in our spacious suites and enjoyed our great location on the Riverwalk. We hope you will come back again very soon! Troy Mathews General Manager