Ratings based on 350 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Back in time

Posted Feb 10, 2016
I felt like I would see Hemingway sitting the lobby writing a novel.....I fell in love with the Havana's rich - culteral feel of the past. The architecture of the hotel is full of dark woods and red carpeting. The King room we were in had a full wall of dark wood plantation shutters... Open them and you are looking out on a large covered porch --- a very eclectic and unique hotel stay. The staff were available for any help and very friendly. On the lower floor is a hidden bar with dark lighting and private sitting areas. The glass restaurant was beautiful and felt like I was taken back to the past. Walk across the street and you can follow the Riverwalk to all attractions. Beautiful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Unique And Unforgettable Experience

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: *Rooms are beautiful! Decor is charming. Fresh flowers. *Helpful and friendly staff. *Intimate & relaxed atmosphere. You are more likely to meet new people here. *Excellent location on Riverwalk. *On site restaurant. *Plenty of bath product & great towels. *Bed is comfortable with great linens. Cons: *Parking is difficult. Only one car can go in or come out at once. If you are driving a truck, someone may have to get out to help you park. *Getting luggage inside can be a hassle. Doesn't appear to be dedicated bell men. There is a lift on the side of the building and a good elevator inside. *Mini bar/fridge is stocked beautifully, but that didn't matter to me because items have a 400% markup (plus taxes and a generous servive charge). I felt this was an opportunity for Hotel Havana to set themselves apart from the rest by having a reasonable markup. If that isn't an issue for you, you will be happy. I can't bring myself to spend such a significant premium on items I can pick up myself. *Bathroom is cramped in the basic room, and the poor lighting and (stylishly) corroded mirror means makeup application can be a chore. *Internet speed is the worst I've seen in a hotel. Don't come here to work unless you're writing a book. *Windows are thin, but I slept well. Can't argue with results! HH has a unique experience to provide it's guests, and it's not concerned with competing against the Hyatt. If this is what you're looking for, don't think twice. It's really good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anchorage, Alaska

Funky in an old style kinda way

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Pros: I loved Ocha, the Hotel's restaurant. Lovely decor and great food. Not to be missed for breakfast. They serve a great cappuccino.
Cons: A more comfortable bed and for substantial blankets during the winter months.
Location: Easy access to the Riverwalk and all that it has to offer.
A unique hotel done with an interesting decor but not completely comfortable. The bed was too soft, the blankets were insufficient to keep me warm and there wasn't much natural light in the room. If you are looking for a truly beautiful hotel done in a very unique and beautiful way, I would suggest staying at The Emma if you don't mind paying the extra cost.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston

Great location , easy river walk access

Posted Dec 24, 2015
Great charm and hotel concept. Staff lowered rating ☹️
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable and great experience.

Posted Dec 5, 2015
The wife and I loved it. Would definitely visit this place again. Food was AMAZING! We received complimentary drink tickets to their bar, which was a nice bonus. Wish we could have stayed longer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edwardsville IL

Awesome History in a Great Location

Posted Nov 20, 2015
Pros: The location and eclectic features.
Cons: Noise level.
Location: The hotel is within about a 15 minute walk to the heart of activities on the river walk and about a 30 minute walk to the Pearl District.
The hotel is very eclectic, has a wonderful history, and is in a great location away from the hustle and bustle. The only negative to the hotel, is it is a bit noisy. You can hear the road and construction traffic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford, MS

Great small hotel right next to Riverwalk

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Pros: See above.
Cons: I could hardly get up on the bed, it was so high. That was okay, though. Could have used another blanket. Other than that, super.
Location: The Riverwalk is so wonderful. I walked all the way to the Alamo one day and the San Antonio Museum of Art the next. It's beautiful.
I really liked this hotel. It looked like a Cuban building from around 1900 which I guess was the idea. It was beautifully located, across the street from Riverwalk -- great walking area. Funky interior (which I mean as a very good thing), lively colors, and a comfortable room. The tortilla soup was by far the best tortilla soup I have ever tasted. I'd go there again in a heartbeat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Hotel with character befitting San Antonio.

Posted Nov 12, 2015
Pros: Decor and service.
Cons: A little two and one oil on the armoire door.
Location: Looks over the riverwalk.
Well maintained, furnished and served the Hotel Havana has comfort and old fashioned style. Also one of the most interesting restaurants. Comfortable and casual.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kristopher

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Quaint Hotel

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
Unique historic hotel property. We enjoyed our stay.