Ratings based on 308 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Good experience, unique hotel. Restaurant is excellent! Staff very friendly. Entrance to Riverwalk right across the street, and about a 10 minute walk to downtown area. Would highly recommend for a unique hotel experience. Does not have a swimming pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Great Noir Fiction Hotel Straight Out of the 30s

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: It's commitment to being an authentic period piece.
I really enjoyed the authenticity of this funky little place. I always knew I wanted to stay here, having lived in San Antonio previously, but I'd never had the chance until I moved away. Great staff, great minibar, great bars (in the Hotel, that is), it even smelled good. I really enjoyed myself.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from durham NC

Cool decor!!

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Hotel had unique decor. Loved the style. Very friendly hotel staff. Breakfast was delicious and had large portions. Steps to Riverwalk was right across the street Hotel had lots of parking spots right next to entrance. Would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ingleside, TX

High hopes... big let down...

Posted Jun 26, 2015
In theory this place is outstanding... in reality, HUGE disappointment. Hotel Havana looks amazing as you approach the front. As you enter the lobby you smell cigars just as you might imagine you would in true Havana. Check was super quick & easy. Once we got to our room my excitement went flat. The beautiful wooden floors were covered in dust. There wasn't a microwave. The fridge was adorable. (just don't eat or drink anything they have stocked in or on top of it $$$$$) The toilet wouldn't flushes the handle was held down. Room service is the same menu as the restaurant down stairs and the prices are insane. The breakfast for 2 of us was $50 and left much to be desired. ($3 for milk & $8 for orange juice) The location is just right for a walk down the river walk. Finally, the lotion, body wash & shampoo smell WONDERFUL!!! & the lotion is SUPER SILKY. All in all if you do book here don't go with high expectations...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lexington KY

wonderful hotel on the river walk

Posted Jun 17, 2015
A lovely well maintained old hotel. Great character, extremely friendly staff, incredible food, beautuful and unique guest rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Stay!!

Posted Jun 16, 2015
It was a great stay! The Alamo is a ten minute walk as if the rest of the things to see,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Daniel from Houston, TX

Nice Stay

Posted May 30, 2015 on Hotels
We were greeted nicely by front desk, and we showed up early with our dog, hoping that we can check in a bit early but couldn't. It was busy there when we got there, and it's not an expectation to be able to check in early, just unfortunate. Otherwise, they held our stuff and then moved them into our room before we returned to check-in. That was nice. Our room was on the floor level but had a door separating two rooms inside, so it was quiet even though we were close to the lobby. The hotel has a smell of an older building but it wasn't off putting, actually added to allure. The rooms were well decorated and stocked with a full fridge of drinks and snacks for purchase. Bathroom shower head was a little on the low side (I'm 5'11") but the water pressure and heat were good. Also had plenty of soap, body wash and conditioner, and lotion. The room had very comfortable bed and very soft pillows. Even had a little side room that was nice to place your stuff. No real closet that I was aware of. The restaurant attached call Ocho was pretty good. A little on the expensive side but had a nice view of the river, good service and the food was above average. We're from Miami originally, so we weren't expecting authentic Cuban food but it was good enough. If I was to ever come back to San Antonio, I may stay there again. The walk to the main river walk was like 10 minutes and other than going by a park with some sketchy looking people, it was safe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from salado, tx

Hotel with character & attentive staff

Posted May 28, 2015
I loved this place. I'm from San Antonio. Did not want a cold boring hotel. This was an old home I passed by frequently while growing up. Wooden floors, antiques galore. Staff was wonderful. My room was a little noisy. My traveling companion did not have that problem. Downtown eating & sites easily in walking distance. Loved the solarium on th side as a restaurant/bar. Good food. Nice job!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Carlos from New York City

Not what it was

Posted May 24, 2015 on Hotels
I did not find the front desk as friendly as in times past. Did not appreciate the 17 dollars for parking charge for uncovered tight parking with no amenities in that regard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Marilyn from San Anselmo, CA

A perfect oasis!

Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels
Loved the location and loved staying here!