Ratings based on 1,447 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Convenient location

Posted Jan 23, 2017
The hotel was under renovation so we didn't get to explore much of the hotel. We had a room that opened up to the courtyard which was pleasant.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, MA

Under renovation

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Pros: The location on the River Walk.
Cons: They are undergoing lobby improvements.
Location: The location on the River Walk is close to the major visitor attractions in San Antonio.
We were disappointed to find the hotel lobby and public spaces under renovation when we arrived. Our stay offered little more than a room (and a lot of tarps). It may be very nice when done, but not so much during our stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Nice hotel but was under renovation during my stay. Lots of chaos and make-shift accomodations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Location was very good. Hotel rooms were very nice and upscale, but the lobby was undergoing renovations. Rooms were quiet and very comfortable. Cannot beat the location and valet was only 30 dollars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotel on riverwalk

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Location, good service
Cons: Room design and decoration
Location: Riverwalk is right there.
Great welcome from staff and a bottle of wine in room! Room design was odd and only one garbage can, but otherwise comfortable if aesthetically disjointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Best view of riverwalk

Posted Jan 17, 2017
By far best valet ever. Room was great with a wonderful view of the riverwalk. Our wedding night so majestic. Walked down to riverwalk and when i mentioned we were staying get at Valencia, all attention was on us. Very well recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dallas, tx

Under construction

Posted Jan 11, 2017
We paid over $265 to get a nice room with a river walk view. We arrived and the hotel was undergoing renovations. The checkin "desk" was a podium in the corner with a poor woman just standing behind it and her purse on the floor next to her. Our room was clean. We ordered room service for dinner which was not good. Shortly before 7:30am the construction noise started, electric saws and hammering. We called the front desk twice to ask for it to stop. At 8:15 the manager called our room to ask if the noise ceased. My husband said we were greatly disappointed with the construction, our dinner and the noise. As compensation, we didn't have to pay for our dinner. So, for $265, we had a hotel shrouded in sheets, bad food and a poor night's sleep.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Disappointed

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Having said all of the above, the rooms were quite nice and the location was great.
Cons: Better management of construction.
Location: Right on the Riverwalk and near great restaurant and bars.
After selecting the Valencia because of it's rating and the pictures of a beautiful hotel, we were very disappointed when entering to find the lobby and all guest areas (bar, restaurant, lobby) were under construction. Now I get that hotels need to renovate, and I get that January is probably a slow period, but it would have been nice to have a heads-up. AND at the very least, the first words out of the person who was checking us in should have been "sorry for our construction". After complaining to management, they offered us nothing in compensation. When we asked if there was a business center where we could print out boarding passes for our flight home, we were told (by a manager) that it was closed as part of the construction. Wouldn't it have been nice if the manager offered to print out the passes for us? But no. I guess it could be worse. We ran into another guest (also grousing about the construction) who told us that they had 50 rooms booked for a wedding and had not been told about the construction! Not very good management.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from j

Good location for ease to the Riverwalk.

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Lobby was being renovated so there were no facilities or areas to meet with friends. Staff was pleasant and room was great. Not the hotel's fault but the outside noise from the street woke me both mornings around 5:30 am
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Always great (note: remodeling in progress)

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Valencia is a great hotel even being remodeled the staff always make you feel as comfortable as possible. I would like to go back in Spring to enjoy the facilities, this time the main areas were closed.