Ratings based on 657 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Big disappointment from Howard Johnson

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Front desk rudeness to breakfast area mess. Old smelly rooms to towels for the swimming pool. Every single thing needs improvement
Location: We booked this hotel bcoz of easy location to River walk & Alamo but bcoz of on going construction we cannot get easy exit for the hotel.
First of all it is a very old hotel with some renovations. We felt that we paid $ 74/ night which was not worth the money. Location of this hotel was very hard to reach bcoz of the ongoing construction. Breakfast was super bad. We stayed for 3 days and all 3 days same frozen Biscuits and Sausage and Orange/apple juice was out of order. One day there was so many people in the breakfast area and there was no Food at all, no food means literally no food. Not a single slice of bread or bagels or biscuits or sausage or milk or juice. And this makes it better that there was not a single spoon or plate or bowl either. Everyone was waiting in the breakfast area that someone from the staff will bring any food. We have to ask the front desk and she said that we did not expect this many people so that's how we ran out of everything. R U kidding me ? Will never ever stay in this hotel or even better will never ever stay at any Howard Johnson locations. Breakfast timing was for 6:00 to 9:00 and from 8:40 they clsoe one of the door of the breakfast room and at 8:50 housekeeping lady will come and say that I am wrapping up so don't ask for anything else. I have stayed from all chain of hotels from Hilton to Super 8 but have never experienced this kind of breakfast situations at any of the hotels Shame on the management.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jalisco

habitación agradable

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: el tamaño de las habitaciones y el baño
Cons: el olor a humedad
Location: cerca no hay nada, las distancias muy largas
hotel muy viejo, huele a mucha humedad, las habitaciones de muy buen tamaño, el baño excelente el tamaño y todo muy limpio, el personal muy agradable, y atento, zona nada comercial el precio muy accesible,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel.

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Good stay. Close to splashtown. Wifi didn't work but everything was good. Clean and spacious. We would stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2016
No fue lo que pensaba. Lo dejamos antes de tiempo porque estaba muy sucio, no hicieron nuestra habitación en una ocasión, otra no nos dejaron toallas...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Looks good on the outside.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
The first thing we noticed was a musty smell though out the hotel. The room was a good size but airconditioner not able to cool the living area. Matress was lumpy and bedskirt had holes, needs better furniture that isn't so damaged, had no floor mat for the shower floor & trash was left behind bathroom door. Be sure to check your bill, you need to tell them you will not be using the safe or they will charge you $1.50.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Hotel moldy smell

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Although custo me service was outstanding the hotel had a very bad mold smell and after being their for 5 min I had a allergic reaction and had to seek medical care.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again :(

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: The staff was very friendly
Cons: everything except the staff
Location: Nothing near .
The staff was very nice and friendly but the facility nothing good to say. The room smelled bad and the A/C system was not cooling well and it was dirty. I had to go buy my own fan. The room was clean the Refrigerator and the Microwave were outdated . The bed was comfortable that was about all, the breakfast was ridiculous. I thought that this Hotel was going to be good because it is Howard Johnson and the pictures are nothing as shown. Will never stay here again for the price not worth it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houston

Close to everything

Posted Jul 13, 2016
The hotel is in a great location. We stayed there for 3 nights. Saved quite a bit of money staying here. Easy access to the freeway and right across the freeway to splash town. My only complaints is the bed was a little uncomfortable and the AC didn't work as well as I would have hoped it would. Also they could add a little more items to their breakfast... sausage, biscuits, and waffles everyday gets a little boring.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for one night

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Not worth $100 a night. Room was roomy, beds were comfortable. Room service was a joke. One tv didn't work, one phone didn't work. Lots of cosmetic repairs need done.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I am very sorry to hear that you were not very pleased with the quality and value of our offerings during your visit here at our hotel. Your detailed feedback about your visit will be called to the attention of our team for corrective measure. We will work hard to further improve our offerings moving forward. We hope to have the chance to serve you again soon. Have a lovely day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Hotel close to Fort Sam Houston

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Maid service was great daily. Hall carpet is dirty and needs replaced but the room was decent for the price. It is situated were it floods easily.