Ratings based on 972 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC, Canada

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Very friendly staff. Loved the lazy river!
Location: Would highly recommend the River Walk.
Excellent resort for families. Lots of activities for children.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice enough place. Don't eat or drink.

Posted Apr 29, 2017
This resort was lacking in a few areas. The room was not very clean (spiderwebs in the corners) or updated. The hotel had an overall feeling of being outdated or lacking a consistent atmosphere. We tried a couple of different restaurants and room service but is was all terrible and ended up ordering pizza from outside the hotel. The staff was however very friendly and helpful. Our children had a lot fun on the bikes and in the pool. Overall considering the cost of the stay and top shelf prices for food and beverages that tasted aweful I would consider another resort for the same money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great family resort

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: The pool/lazy river is the highlight of this resort. The golf course was right there...but we didn't play golf. The course looked beautiful though.
Cons: The rooms were small (we had a 2 queen room...but the beds looked to be slightly smaller than queens). Not a lot of space to spread out, but not bad.
Location: 30 minutes to downtown, 30 minutes from the airport. Pretty easy to get around. SA is a big city, but this was in a good location. Hotel grounds A++
We got a ground floor room right across from the playground area...just down from the pool. Sliding glass door to the outside area. We could come/go as we pleased...it was so incredibly nice. The pool/lazy river was simply awesome. Pools, "beach" area (with real sand), lazy river with tubing, water falls, hot tubs, servers walking the grounds...it was just spectacular. There are free bikes--no check-in/check-out, no forms to sign, just a rack of bikes. You take the bike for a spin and return it to the rack. Restaurants on-site, around the pools, fridge in the room, the place is set up for families...and they do a great job of it. Washers/driers right down the hall. The place is great. But the pool complex is the attraction...and words don't do it justice. We had staff ask us how our stay was...as we were lounging at the pool, walking, wherever. Not intruding, just asking. One time we had some random staff member ask "How is your stay?" We were literally lounging at the pool...just sitting there. We ask him if there was a lost/found area (our kids left their flip-flops at the beach the day before). The guy (I wish I could remember his name), got on his walkie-talkie and asks if flip-flops were found. Sure enough, they had them. The guys goes to retrieve the flip flops. Both were bagged/zip-tied. 5 minutes later he hands them to us. I was blown away. And everyone was like that...just top-notch all the way around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great resort for families

Posted Mar 24, 2017
It's a very kid friendly resort with lots of activities for kids, but at same time there is an on site spa where you can book a massage or nail service, athough it does get booked fast so if you plan to go call early for appts. The spa is on the far end away from the daily kid's activities so its quiet with a separate pool area. They have a main pool area with its own lazy river which kids love. Also a flow rider for surf and body board lessons. There's also a nice driving golf range and course as well. So something for everyone. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. There was movie night and s'mores every evening out in the lawn, bikes provided for anyone wanting to ride the trails or you could walk them. There is a sand volleyball and badminton areas along with other family outdoor games. They also have a pool tables and indoor activities and even daycare service if you need it. There is a playground area, Great open areas where you feel like you are not in the city. We really didn't need to venture out, but it is close to Seaworld and 10 min from downtown riverwalk. We did take a side trip to see the natural bridge caverns, about 45 minutes away. It does get crowded during spring break and the lines become long, they open 9am we went early. Much to do and can't get bored. As far as food onsite, its ok justice your typical hotel food buffets and small menu selections. While convenient Its alright. But there are a few close by food chains and local res
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Marketing Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so thrilled to hear that you all enjoyed your experience with us including all of the activities and amenities we have to offer! We are so glad you were able to take advantage of the weather and enjoy every bit of your stay. We hope to welcome back again for another great stay!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san antonio

Outdated & a bit too far from everything in SA

Posted Mar 21, 2017
I booked for double bed occupancy since it was 3 of us. Got to room to find a king sz bed only. Called front desk to explain I needed and booked 2 beds. My husband is 6'0 250 and my 15 yr old son is 6'2 250 lbs. how was me sleeping in between supposed to be comfortable. They brought in a roll away bed for me. My son did not fit on the bed, so I had to take the rollaway. I paid almost $1000 for a very uncomfortable stay! Never again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Marketing Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you and your family were not comfortable with your room accommodations. We strive to provide the utmost in hospitality and comfort, and apologize if we fell short of that with you. We hope to invite you back for another stay in a different room situation. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great place for a quick family vacay

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Cons: Wish they had a shuttle service over to SeaWorld.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Ate too many s'mores, but well worth it. Loved the waterpark area. Beautiful grounds with a nice and peaceful surrounding.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Marketing Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your raving review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay including the s'mores by the fire. We hope to invite you back again for another family vacation!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great family hotel

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Loved amenities except for the non-existing spa accommodation for a mother-daughter. The spa simply cannot support the resort volume, especially for new clientele.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Marketing Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we truly appreciate it. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the activities and amenities we have to offer our resort guests. We hope that the next time you visit us we are able to accommodate your duo request. We are very sorry to hear that we were not able to do that over Spring Break. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston, tx

Great family spring break.

Posted Mar 18, 2017
We were greeted with toys for the kids. All the water activities were somewhat heated during spring break. Smores and movies on the lawn were great. The facility is very clean and taken care of. We had phenomenal service the whole stay. There was a schedule of daily family activities as well as a bouncy house in one of the ballrooms and a small arcade. Even being packed for spring break nothing was ever inconvenient or uncomfortable. We will definitely be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Marketing Manager, Hotel Management
Wow! That is so great to hear! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay over Spring Break and would certainly stay with us again. We are glad the service you received from our staff was satisfactory. We look forward to your next stay with us!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice resort for families and friends.

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Cons: There were not any evening activities for adults, and not much for kids. Needs a 'cruise director' approach. Staff could not keep hot-tubs running.
We have visited several times, usually for Spring Break. A ton of fun summer activities for kids. Springboard Cafe (casual dining) not much better than before (expensive, slow, can't handle the traffic even for buffets). Pool facility team couldn't keep pool areas clean or hot-tubs running. There were not any evening activities for adults, and not much for kids. Needs a 'cruise director' approach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Marketing Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review, we greatly appreciate it. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience with us. We will definitely consider your feedback for next Spring Break. We hope you are able to join us again soon!
4 out of 5
by Truong

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels