Ratings based on 1,755 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from idaho

Great location

Posted May 23, 2017
Great room. Very comfortable. Wonderful breakfast. Great downtown location. Bad staff. Bad bad parking. Hotel is being renovated and the parking is a mess
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Very convenient location.

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Location, free parking and HEB Market across the street.
Cons: Providing a shuttle for guests who cannot walk the distance to Riverwalk and Downtown area would be an added bonus to all guests.
Location: Riverwalk and downtown area were within walking distance. Plenty of restaurants also. Great to have HEB Market across the street!
Excellent free parking provided. Within walking distance to Riverwalk, Alamo and downtown. Started each day with complimentary breakfast and ended each day with stop at HEB Market across the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Nice hotel in downtown area.

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Location/clean room
Cons: Remodeling
Location: Close to market square, restaurants, river walk. Nice market across the street with gas station. Easy ramp off freeway.
Under construction - no parking, loud noise all day, entrance blocked. When finished will be nice.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Misleading

Posted May 11, 2017
Hotel under construction. Did not let us know when booking online. Asked for items and told did not have. No one at front desk when trying to checkout and needed receipt. Poor customer service
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

construction

Posted May 10, 2017
Not informed that spa was being removed. Jack hammer woke us up early one morning and check in area was under construction
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Under Construction

Posted May 5, 2017
Recently spent 3 full days here. The hotel is in the middle of renovating. The rooms were nicely redone. Monday we went to the pool only to be approached by a staff explaining the pool would be closing at 1pm due to the construction. Tuesday the pool was closed all day. Wednesday the pool was again closed all day, and that was our last day in San Antonio. Honestly we would not have stayed here if we knew the pool was going to be closed the entire stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

A pleasant place to stay

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: The bed was very comfortable. We both slept very well.
Cons: More variety in breakfast offerings. While the food was indeed tasty, it was the same stuff every morning. Good yet boring!
Location: Close to downtown attractions such as The Alamo and The Riverwalk. Other stuff not difficult to get to either.
We were in San Antonio for vacation and booked here because we thought it would be close to things we wanted to see and visit. That it was. With a good map everything we wanted to do and places we wanted to go were easy to find and get to. One drawback was no nearby restaurants/places to eat. Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful. However, we did encounter one lady working the front desk at check in and early mornings who acted very indifferent as if she couldn't or didn't want to be bothered. Remodeling was in progress and while construction mess can be a bit of a bother it was handled very well and was no real distraction at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient and good value.

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Location, price, room layout, staff.
Location: Riverwalk, Alamo, restaurants, market.
We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It is being renovated, which meant that we had to enter from a side door and register in a small office. No worries. The staff handled it well and a bit of inconvenience to facilitate an updated hotel is no big deal. Housekeeping could have notched it up a bit with their vacuuming and cleaning off surfaces, but other than that, no problem in that area. We LOVED the layout of the room, with a separate sitting area as well as a desk. The bed was very comfortable. Overall, the room was great. The location is just a few blocks from the famous Riverwalk, which made it great and we weren't forced to look for hard to find parking spots downtown. Would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Expected more. Old motel style. Lobby was closed

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The whole motel
Location: Expected better location
Old style motel. Had to enter from back door. Lobby was closed for renovation. Did not know when made reservation. Had expected more from La Quinta. Checking in was in a dumpy room. Quite a letdown To be nice gave it OK rating. Luckily it was for one night otherwise I would have moved out!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from da U.P., eh

Great place to stay.

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: The rooms were spacious, well appointed, and clean. Hotel staff were accommodating. The breakfast bar had an array of tasty choices.
Cons: The completion of the lobby and registration renovations - the staff did a great job in difficult conditions.
Location: It was an easy walk to Market Square and some restaurants. It was a $6-8 cab ride to the Alamo, city attraction bus tours, and River Walk area.
We stayed here celebrating a 47 year reunion for 3 of us stationed together in Vietnam; it was 10 days of Fiesta in San Antonio. The hotel and Fiesta made our reunion memorable.