Ratings based on 3,556 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denton, TX

College visit in San Antonio

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Pros: Charming atmoshphere and very clean. Comfortable bed.
Cons: The room we stayed in was noisy from the AC units, maybe housed in the upper floor above our room. Tolerable - like "white noise".
Location: Great location, across from the Alamo and the River Walk. Easy access to the freeway too. Lot's of horse drawn carriages around too.
My husband and I visited our daughter in San Antonio. She is going to Trinity University and we wanted a hotel in the downtown area and easy access. We selected the Menger Hotel because they had a special rate. The hotel is being renovated in some areas and we stayed in the older part of the hotel which had already be renovated. A very lovely room and comfy bed. The room had a lot of character, as does the hotel. We appreciated the history of the hotel, and look forward to staying there again. The pool and gardens are very pretty and the bar is historic as well. This isn't a modern luxurious hotel, but rather an old historic hotel with lots of history. Comfortable and friendly. We heard it was haunted...but no sightings. The stained glass ceiling is beautiful. The hotel is worth a visit! And it is right across the street from the Alamo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Good hotel overall.

Posted Aug 30, 2015
I stayed there to be close to all of the down town attractions. The hotel bar was very nice. The room was ok. ...a bit outdated and did not appear very clean. There were smears and smudges on the tv and table tops. The staff was very friendly. I did not eat at the hotel restaurant as the menu was pretty pricey, and there are many places to eat nearby. I will stay there again. I'll ask to stay in one of the newer rooms.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Pros: close to Alamo.. that is is!
Cons: needs complete re-do
Location: Alamo was close
disappointing. old and smelly.. even the restaurant at breakfast awful smell ....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from j

Very close to Majestic theater

Posted Aug 28, 2015
walking to all downtown activities very interesting retro hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic Hotel Convenient to Riverwalk & Alamo

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: The convenience to everything and the staff was excellent and very knowledgeable and helpful.
Cons: The rooms definitely need to be updated. the bathroom was so small, there needs to be a place to put your things. also, the a/c didn't work very well.
Location: Great location! Close to everything.
The hotel staff was excellent and the grounds and Lobby & historic information was great. However, they are remodeling and the rooms are very old and need to be updated. Our room was small and the a/c was not very cool but ok. The bathroom was so small and no place to put anything much. The carpet was worn and our view was of the top of the buildings below. But then, we were just staying for a weekend and it was fine. The location is very convenient to the Riverwalk, Alamo and The Majestic Theater which is why we were here. I would recommend others check out this beautiful old hotel but maybe not stay there so much. Once was good though. The staff was wonderful no complaints there!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston,TX

Great hotel - Close to the Alamo

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: I love the location
Cons: I would say maybe add free water instead of the $8.00 Voss Water
Location: The Alamo and the Riverwalk are a stepping stone throw away.
If you go here, you need to have a drink at the famous Menger Bar! Room is clean and the staff are always friendly!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, Tx

Great location but cramped rooms.

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Housekeeping was horrible. Charged for complementary water bottle in room ($8ea).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic hotel, excellent location

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: Location, museum showcases, pictures, saloon, ambience.
Cons: Pillows were not comfortable and should be replaced with newer style pillows with better support.
Location: Location is right beside the Alamo and across the street from River Walk. Shopping is right around the corner. Hop on hop off in front of hotel.
The Menger Hotel is like stepping back in time but with modern amenities. Would have liked more control over the thermostat as our room was too warm at night and better pillows but overall we enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and Historical

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Very convenient to Riverwalk and Alamo. All within easy walking distance. Also history of Hotel was very well exhibited and very interesting. Hotel in excellent condition considering it's 150 yr old age.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Close to the Alamo

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: The location
Cons: The air conditioning in the Hallway.
Location: The Alamo, The Menger Bar
Had a great time at the hotel. 30 sec walking distance to the Alamo. Go have a drink at the Historic Menger Bar!