Ratings based on 4,080 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria, TX

Staff very accommodating

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Nice stay room was small but clean and comfortable bed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2016
The hotel is in an awesome location across the street from the Alamo and is full of history and character. I loved that about it. My balcony had probably the best view on the entire city. But - it Had no hot water the morning of my conference, which was a bummer but I guess what happens in older hotels sometimes.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Top location

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Beautiful historic hotel in the middle of everything (riverwalk,alamo,mall). Rooms showed some siģns of age but work is in progress. Would go there again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

An unexpected treat!

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Staying at the Menger was a wonderful experience.
Location: The Menger places you at the center of everything. The river, the Alamo, shopping were all just footsteps away!
We recently spent a weekend at The Menger Hotel. We had stayed there on our honeymoon 35 years ago. When my husband shared this at check in, we were immediately given a room upgrade. As we were enjoying our balcony and the view, a lovely fruit and cheese tray was delivered, compliments of the management. The hotel was charming, with pictures and memorabilia displayed throughout the building. Our room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the staff were outstanding. We are already planning a return visit!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice historical hotel with character

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Bell hop service a bit rude, but what's new , right?
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Bernardino, CA

Historic hotel in a historic city

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: Nicely modernized, classy old hotel. Bright, comfortable lobby and other public places.
Cons: Pool area needs restrooms!
Location: Great location across the street from the Alamo and few blocks from the River Walk.
My economy room was small but very comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Great hotel. Love the history of it.

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Pros: It was a historic hotel and most things were still original
Cons: nothing
Location: It is next door to shopping and the Alamo
The staff was friendly and professional. We enjoyed all of the historic pieces that are throughout the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canmore, AB

One of the best hotels I have stayed in!!!!

Posted May 13, 2016
Pros: There wasn't a thing I didn't like about it.
Location: Perfect location for a first time visitor. The Alamo was a treat to visit and such a convenient location. Everything was very accessible to the hotel.
For my first time in San Antonio, staying at the Menger Hotel was an absolute delight. From the moment I walked into the front lobby I knew it was going to be a great night. The staff were spot on, and did not leave out any details. I even received recommendations on activities to do during my stay, as well as prompt service when I required something that wasn't included in the room. The room was very clean, the beds were some of the most comfortable I have ever slept on, and the outside noise was very minimal! I will definitely be back to San Antonio and the Menger will always be my top choice! Will be recommending this hotel to everyone : )
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manhattan

Well situated Classic jem

Posted May 10, 2016
Pros: It has the grand features of a classic historic hotel. The garden courtyard is beautiful, the layout overall is classic.
Cons: The hotel bar, although historic and well-preserved, needs added appeal. It need not be so dark and a modern lighting consultant could really help
Location: The location couldn't be better --- so close to the Alamo and RiverWalk.
I was in town for business and stayed at a typical modern hotel for most of the week, but extended my return for a day and booked one night in this hotel -- mainly for its proximity to the Alamo and RiverWalk. The staff were polished and professional. The lobby and facilities are certainly classic. There is a sense of history everywhere --- which is nice. Cleanliness is better than one often finds in old classic hotels that sometimes fail to budget for cleanliness, or for that matter, maintenance. The location was perfect for my plans. My room was well-ventilated, well-lit, and quiet. The furnishes were period correct. The bed (mattress) was fortunately modern and firm. I had a drink in the hotel bar --- which was slightly depressing. No draft beer and very little choice in modern beercraft there. It was dark and in need of a loving lighting designer who can keep it faithful to the original but less dark. One regret I had was that my room did not have a balcony --- which I had hoped it might. Other rooms did. This is more the fault of Expedia (and/or me) but I have not found a way to use the search function to select only rooms with balconies under the "amenities" selector.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mississauga

Second time I have stayed here

Posted May 6, 2016
Pros: Unique style. High speed internet.
Location: Close to RIverwalk, conference center, downtown area.
There are advantages and disadvantages to staying in a classic hotel. The Menger does not have cookie-cutter type rooms, that makes the stay more memorable. Easy walking distance to where the conference was going on, through the mall and along the Riverwalk, which I always enjoy.