Ratings based on 4,400 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: It was a beautiful historic facility. We enjoyed looking at the historic photos on the hotel walls and just enjoying the ambiance of the hotel.
Cons: It was great
Location: It was a fabulous location in downtown San Antonio. We loved the fact that is was an easy walk to the Alamo, River Walk, and sight seeing buses.
We love historic hotels. It was a great experience. The hotel staff was friendy and knowledgeable about San Antonio. The brunch was fabulous. The girls really facinated by the aspect that the hotel had ghosts. They thought it was a great adventure for them. We also enjoyed the fact that public transportation was easily excessible.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historical hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2017
The room was comfortable,but the bathrooms are very dated and the showerheads are very short.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location was perfect.

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Cons: Should try to go with queen size beds in single bed rooms even if nightstands have to be narrower. Would have liked access to doing our own laundry.
Location: Alamo, Riverwalk, Rivercenter Mall, everything is close. Night time especially pretty with decorative lighted carriages out front.
Saw the hotel some years ago & said we'd like to stay there. Worth the wait 8 years later. Staff couldn't be better. Room service done in a timely manner. Breakfast was also good & reasonable. Location is beside the Alamo. Pool & garden areas very lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beamsville, ON

Right beside the Alamo!

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: The public areas were really well decorated with the original part of the hotel being the best, in my opinion.
Cons: The vehicular entrance to the building is a bit tricky; bring your patience!
Location: This historic hotel is right beside the Alamo and is close to the River Walk.
This historic hotel is right beside the Alamo and is close to the River Walk. If you're into history, this is the place to stay! The courtyard is exquisitely quiet, especially considering it's in the heart of the city! Authentically decorated yet updated, the Menger has a great balance of the turn of the 19th century and the 21st century nicely combined.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Perfect Location; Disappointing Experience

Posted Mar 18, 2017
We have been to San Antonio countless times and have not had an opportunity to stay at the Menger until a great deal was offered during this busy Spring Break season. We were excited to finally stay in this historic hotel that we had always admired from outside. Although the staff was friendly and the hotel foyer was beautiful, we expected more from our room. Our bathroom was dirty, as in hairs were found on the wall, in the shower, and in the floor--SO GROSS. Also, though size is at least not a matter of hygiene, there was no space on the vanity for anything other than a couple basic toiletries; two people cannot get ready at the same time. The hotel itself had an "old" smell that I can only equate to great-grandmother's house--which isn't bad, but could be uncomfortable for some. Overall, we expected the hotel to be better taken care of, given its competition. We'd rather pay a bit more money to stay somewhere farther down the River Walk that we know will have a clean bathroom with more space.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Tx

Fantastic historic hotel

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Great place to stay. Wonderful location right next to the Alamo. Well updated, but you still feel the history in the fantastic lobby and courtyard. Rooms wee spacious and clean. Valet was a bit of pain because they need 30 minutes notice to get your car, but that is the only complaint. I would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near everything

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Big room, nice balcony overlooking the pool, beautiful lobby, near Alamo and shopping mall
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Texas

Alamo

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: The staff , food -old historical type of hotel was wonderful .
Cons: Our toilet -difficulty when flushing
Location: Wonderful
We loved it !All the gift shops -museum & variety of eating places were great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Thank you

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Great hotel Wonderful service Very clean and comfortable room We definitely will stay in Menger hotel every visit of San Antonio
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with old world charm

Posted Mar 7, 2017
It was a pleasant stay. The staff was wonderful, the hotel is a little old and can use a little updating.