Ratings based on 802 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from andrews

Nice hotel by riverwalk

Posted Feb 25, 2017
It was very nice and quiet, but rooms needed to be cleaner the lampshades needed cleaned or even replaced, but the staff was super!!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing customer service and beautiful facility

Posted Feb 23, 2017
This place was amazing. I was ill the first 24 hours of my trip. The staff was so nice and accommodating. There are so many wonderful amenities and the customer service is great. Bathrooms are also beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montgomery, Texas

Well appointed rooms

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Very clean, nightly turn down service was unexpected but appreciated
Cons: When i called the 24/7 room service I was told it was down for a few hours the night we stayed due to some kind of maintenance issue
Location: We had a nice King Room with a river view of the Riverwalk, just down from the Hard Rock. We used Uber for the first time and every ride was excellent
Very Very attentive staff at every turn, Spa is top notch as is the on-site restaurant. Roof top pool and bar area. Great 24/7 workout area. Very secure, must have room key to activate the elevators.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Perfect anniversary stay

Posted Jan 9, 2017
We stayed in a spacious riverfront room. It was far past what we expected. Everything about our stay was amazing including the process from entering the hotel to entering our room. The staff was incredible and always ready to help in any way possible. The breakfast was amazing, the view was amazing.... This is def the only place I'll be staying the next time i visit the city!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco/Bay Area

Nice hotel near Riverwalk.

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Great staff. Very attentive. Rooms were very clean. Staff is always pleasant and ready to assist you. Definitely would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Corpus Christi

New Favorite Hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2017
We're from North Padre Island by Corpus Christi and it's a vacation area. San Antonio is our mini vacation area away from home. We've stayed at a handful of hotels on the River Walk and Mokara is by far our favorite. We will be staying here again next time we're in town. The staff was also so kind and helpful the minute we walked in till we got on the road back home. They even let us keep our car parked and watched our bags after we checked out so we could enjoy more time on the River Walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel, conveniently located

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Very nice hotel, enjoyed the location on the river walk. Helpful staff; we had an issue with the curtain in the room. Called the front desk for help and within 10 minutes someone from maintenance came up and took care of the problem. Their gym facilities were great. Great experience overall!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Perfect Riverwalk Romantic Getaway.

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Location, Location, Location! Attention to details. Friendly, courteous and helpful staff. Riverwalk view from room. Comfortable, cozy and romantic!
Cons: Bathroom lighting. Private dining staff delivery time after missing items from breakfast order are brought to their attention after first delivery.
Location: The perfect location on the Riverwalk. Close to everything but just far enough from the loud noise. Walking distance to all Riverwalk attractions.
Location! Right on the Riverwalk with a beautiful Christmas Riverwalk view. You must pay the heavy price to get the view but it was worth it in our case. If you're willing to pay a few extra dollars you will definitely impress your loved one. This hotel has all the bells and whistles to make your stay very romantic and relaxing. It was almost like being on a cruise ship without the folded towel animals on your bed. Who knows, maybe the hotel will start making fun towel animals soon. The hotel provided both morning and evening housekeeping services. Making up your room in the morning and turning down your bed in the evening. My girl enjoyed an 80 minute Swedish massage from the hotel spa and she said it was professional and worth the money. The food from the hotel private dining service for breakfast was delicious. I am only going to rate a four out of five because of two reasons. First, the bathroom lighting does not provide enough bright light for women to put on make up. The lighted make-up mirror provided does not provide enough light either. Second, when we ordered breakfast from private dining services, we were missing salt-and-pepper and an English muffin. By the time the missing items were delivered to our room, we had already finished eating breakfast. The hotel did recognize their error and promptly apologized and deducted the missing items and the cost of one entrée from our bill. I would still recommend this hotel for any romantic special occasion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, Tx.

Excellent Staff = Excellent Hotel Stay

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: Staff, Location, Nice room, complimentary hot apple cider & hot chocolate in the lobby, restaurant, fireplace in the lobby
Cons: Checking on the room amenities to make sure they work
Location: Riverwalk right there (restaurants and shopping), Alamo, the missions (Texas history stuff), Hemisfair
We stayed at the Mokara on a cold rainy weekend. We were there for the Rock n Roll Marathon and from the get go I knew we were in the right place! At check-in we were offered hot apple cider which is just what we needed to chase the chill away. That evening, they sent up a small fruit tray. The next morning, we were in a huge hurry but wanted to have a little breakfast. The staff at the restaurant were so accomodating- putting together a bag of muffins and hot-tea for us to take. Each person that we came in contact with was so pleasant, kind and helpful. Oh, did I mention the valet wrote out directions for us! Okay, besides the huge fact that the staff paid attention to details, our room was wonderful. The room was very spacious with a huge bathroom. There was a separate shower and large tub (big enough for a tall person to stretch in. There were a few items in the bathroom that didn't work (the scale needed a new battery & the lighted magnifying mirror didn't light up) which is why I didn't give the hotel facilities/condition a "5".
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Artesia, United States of America

Excellent amenities, great location

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Amazing. We will definitely go again. Hospitality top notch and bed turn over was unexpected and appreciated.