Ratings based on 3,419 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

overnite stay on Riverwalk

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: was on 1st floor by the pool/deck area with French doors from our room onto it, very nice and accessible to sit outside
Cons: had no hair dryer in our room tho they said there should have been
Location: lots of bars, restaurants, the Alamo and downtown
great location right on the river, easy access and near crossover walking bridge to other side, saw the lighting of the river for Christmas, but all the barricades made it difficult to walk/see the whole river area. The Irish Pub across from our hotel on the river was great, friendly staff, great buffet setup for all, saw the Alamo, it was great weather for strolling and imbibing here and there along the way, lots of fun
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Perfect. Right off the riverwalk. Great staff. The only thing is, if you go thru a third party not thru hotel directly they will not help as much with problems with room. Room did not look like picture on website. Ambassador room had no qreen foldout bed. Not enough room for 3 people.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel seconds from the Riverwalk and fun

Posted Nov 26, 2016
It has a good vibe with the Spanish tradition and it is a short walk to the Riverwalk where the restaurant and bars.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Terrible room location

Posted Nov 26, 2016
The hotel location is great, but our room location is terrible. My family disappointed the location which is inside the building and close to lobby on the 1st floor.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: The hotel is clear and staff are great.
Cons: Nothing
I enjoyed my stay. The hotel is clear and in a very good location
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Wonderful historic hotel

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: Charming, historic hotel. Large clean rooms. Wonderful pool area. Great location
Wonderful historic hotel at the start of the prime section of the river walk and within walking distance to the Alamo and many other tourist sites or within a few minutes drive from many other tourist attractions. The staff was very helpful and friendly and on finding out that we were celebrating our anniversary they upgraded our room and sent a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries to our room. Our room was on the third floor overlooking the river but was surprisingly well insulated from any outside noise. Large clean room and well maintained and clean bathroom. The air conditioning was quiet but strong. The rooms come with a stocked mini bar and Keurig coffee maker and all the standard hotel room amenities. My wife found the bed to be a bit on the firm side but that was just fine for me. Hotel staff placed 2 bottles of water in our room each evening and filled the ice bucket as part of the evening turn down service. You can park your own car or use Valet service but parking is expensive (as is in most hotels in downtown San Antonio). The hotel has a good and extensive breakfast buffet. We managed to book our room at a discounted rate which made it a great value. The hotel allows dogs as long as they are 35 Ibs. or smaller but charge a one time $50 pet fee per stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

An amazing stay on the River Walk

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: A beautiful historical building right in the middle of all of the action. The wonderful on-site restaurant is open fairly late in the evening.
Cons: When I checked in I was not provided with a map of the hotel, and so I was surprised to find out the Fitness Center was located in another hotel.
Location: The hotel is right on the River Walk close to casual and fine dining, bars, river tours, live entertainment, and the Alamo, of course!
The Omni La Mansion del Rio is famous along the River Walk for good reason: not only is it a stunning building in an ideal location, it affords guests unforgettable service and comfort. From first arriving at La Mansion we were greeted by a friendly staff and a cool glass of Coconut Agua Fresca in the beautifully restored Lobby. I had a room to myself overlooking the River with a view of the Tower of the Americas--I spent a few lovely evenings sitting out on my terrace reading and listening to the night life. The hotel is ideally situated right in the middle of the action with direct access to the River Walk. On Saturday night, I could hear noise from the River Walk in my room, but I always have my noise cancelling headphones whenever I travel so I was fine. The room itself was spacious, sumptuously decorated, and very comfortable, however, the chest of drawers that the television sat on showed a bit of wear and one side (with the wet bar) was locked when I arrived at the room and needed to be unlocked by a porter. The in-room coffee service regrettably lacked tea bags. My key card also needed to be reset 3 times which was very inconvenient. A few times the elevators were down--but it's an old building and I didn't mind taking up the stairs from the patio area. The staff was the best part of the entire experience. Everyone made us feel welcome and took very good care of us. One night I had a stomach ache, and after a brief call I was brought some medicine--that's service!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Very nice hotel on the River Walk

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Everything!!!!
Location: River Walk and several museums, great restaurant options for everyone
On the River Walk and close to museums. Able to get tours from the hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spokane, USA

Elegant historic hotel right on Riverwalk.

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Location: Riverwalk is one of the most unique places in this country. We simply had the best of times walking, eating, people watching there.
We didn't have a room on the Riverwalk side, but our opposite side faced the pool, was quiet and peaceful, and shared a long verandah with other rooms. Fantastic king bed - absolutely perfect for comfort.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

It was not what I expected

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Have seen this hotel several times while walking the riverwalk and thought this looks like a really nice hotel. Finally got a chance to stay there and very disappointed especially for the money I paid. It was not worth the $200 plus a night stay. I have spent a lot less and it was a much nicer hotel