Ratings based on 2,867 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Idaho

Close to River walk and food.

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Staff member Alma went above and beyond to help us with our stay. We ended up needing to change rooms our second night to 2 queen beds to include my mother. A large group had just booked and it looked like were going to have to find another hotel. I had mentioned we might need to stay another night and she had the foresight to note it and was able to get us a room to accommodate the rest of our stay. Thank you Alma
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by RM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I'm glad that we were able to accommodate you, and that our trained staff was able to take the necessary action to make sure you were taken care of. We hope to see you on your next visit to San Antonio.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Fe NM

Older hotel in great location

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Hotel is in a great location for price. It is older and the cleanliness wasn't the greatest. Crackers left on the floor for two days ( they were there when we arrived. Algae in the pool. Cricket in the bathroom. The maids came in daily to clean but weren't as thorough as we would have liked. Rooms were tiny even after we upgraded.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2016 by RM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property your comments are appreciated. We're glad our hotel meet its value for your money spent. We have looked into the issue and the necessary changes have been made to continue to improve our performance. Thank you for your visit!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016
The hotel seems run-down. Staff is ok. Immediate Area is infested with homeless ( passed out drunk on sidewalk outside of hotel, harassing tourist, etc)
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by RM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We have looked into the issues and we're working hard to make the necessary changes. We have contacted the necessary party to ensure our guest feel safe not only in our hotel but the surrounding areas. Thank you for your time and business.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good place to stay

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Although the hotel is obviously dated, it is clean and we felt very secure. Some of the staff very knowledgeable and some not so much.
Cons: I would have liked the hotel to offer some food; very limited breakfast offerings and bar opened some days at 5 pm.
Location: A block away is a beautiful cathedral that has this incredible projection show on the church. Walk to the Missions and Pearl brewery on the riverwalk
We really liked the Riverview Plaza for the price and location. This was our first time staying in San Antonio and found this hotel to be a very short walk to downtown and the Riverwalk. Most of the staff was helpful and gave us suggestions for things to do/see.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NM

Nice hotel, great staff

Posted Sep 10, 2016
See Robert at the bar! He is the BEST and so friendly!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by RM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, it is greatly appreciated. We're glad you enjoyed your time at our bar. We hope to host you again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from minneapolis, mn

Great location with great staff

Posted Sep 10, 2016
One of the highlights of this hotel is the friendliness of the staff. They were very willing to help me whenever I had questions or things come up. The room was very well kept and fairly spacious. The other guest spaces (such as the hallways and lobby) could use a little facelift. My one problem with my room was the I could hear music through the window coming from the street level, perhaps it was the river walk, until fairly late into the night. I would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by RM, Hotel Management
Thank for taking the time to write a short review of your recent stay. It great to hear that our staff exceeded your expectation. Thank you for your time and business.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to everything

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Rented a car... what a waste. Riverwalk, the Alamo, downtown all reasonable walking distance. Used the car to drive to the motel and back to the airport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2016 by RM, Hotel Management
Great to hear you found our hotel conveniently located in the heart of downtown San Antonio. Thank you for your time and your business. We look foward to your next visit!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Not the best place if your from out of town

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: Being close to downtown core
Cons: The staff need to be a trained. They need more training on the customer service side.
Location: The location is great. Close to the Riverwalk.
When I arrived I asked how much it would cost for an upgrade to a better room. After several moments of shuffling around with the staff behind the from desk and going back and forth into a back room they told me that 1 upgrade for a week would cost more than I was willing to pay. This is after i had booked my flight and hotel stay through Expedia. I thought this was a bit much and politely declined. I went up to the room and opened the door to be greeted by this musky terrible odor. I went in and first thing I do is look at the sheets I would be laying on for the night. On the sheets is a red stain. What it is, I don't know? All i know is I'm not staying in this terrible smelling room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2016 by RM, Hotel Management
I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during check-in. We have looked into the issue we have since implement new training and standards for our Staff. We thank you for your time and business.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hidden charges

Posted Sep 1, 2016
I booked this trip based on what you said about the hotel After I reserved the room I found there would be a charge of $18.00 a night to park When I arrived to pay for my stay I was informed by the staff because I was paying cash there would be addtional $100 security deposit if some thing happens to the room hotel policy I asked why the need the extra $100 a night when they had my Credit card already on file all the could say was hotel policy I WILL NOT BEING BACK TO THIS HOTEL .I have copied what I wrote here and pasting it on Yelp
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2016 by RM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Sorry to hear you were not pleased with our incidental policy. We have looked into the issue and have made the changes necessary to cater to our guest. We have since reevaluated our Incidental Policy to $20 a night for cash paying guest 25% for Credit Cards. We could not have done this with out your review. Thank you for your feedback. We hope for the opportunity to host you on your next visit to San Antonio.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old fashioned, minimal lodgings.

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: The staff, view, lending library, and easy chair.
Cons: Update the hotel. Get rid of the neon lights and strange carpets. Microwave in each room.
Location: Too far from the Riverwalk. You have to be a strong walker to stay here.
It is too far from the main part of the Riverwalk. The view was awesome, the staff friendly. A lovely reading room with lending library.