Ratings based on 2,913 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dupo, United States of America

Good location, limited amenities

Posted Oct 21, 2016
This hotel iis quite old, even historic. It's charming, has a nice pool courtyard and friendly staff. Online, however, it listed a full, craft cocktail bar and an in- house cafe. While we were there, neither of these was fully functioning, nor was their appearance like the online photos. We were told a new company was taking them over, but that still made readily getting food and drink rather inconvenient. We liked the hotel but some of its renovations ( paint, pool deck, etc.) seem incomplete.I might stay there again if I could be sure everything would be as advertised.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

You want Riverwalk without premium price rooming?

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: The pillows; superb
Cons: Decor
Location: Not that we are Catholic by any means, but good for San Fernando and Mexican Mercado as well
Then this will do, plus good parking for those without legs. Riverwalk Plaza is now tired.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2016 by r, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing The Riverwalk Plaza, we appreciate your business. We hope to see you again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston,Ma

Pool was a let down

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: Pool
Location: Riverwalk 10 min walk, AT&T center ,Sea world and Six flags all 15 min drives
Checked in was told that even with CC on file i need to give a deposit.. We stayed 5 days they charge additional fee to park on site .That was a Per day rate.. So when i checked in this Cost me a few hundred extra that we had not planned on.. Hotel Needs to be updated .80s carpet in units and halls. Clean but looks drab. Rooms were fine. They were cleaned each day . Beds were comfortable . Linens on beds seemed clean,Bathroom was clean with fresh towels each day. Close enough to River walk just on the far end. if you do not mind a little walking location did not bother me. Biggest let down was the POOL . Small in an under statement . 3-4 ft deep. pool was falling apart at the edges Skimmer did not work as pool had a layer of hair,leaves and slim on the top of the water. We spent a week there and pool was not cleaned one time. Check each day and from the people that did swim the slim from lotions got worse . Temps were 90+ so if you are looking to swim this is not the right place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Good location

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Phone was out, resturant was closed so no free breakfest and safe didn't operate, hotel staff were kind and helpful, location was awesome.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 18, 2016
It was nice to be close to everthing.Bar was limited on drink menu. I asked for strawberry daqueri and they did not have stuff to make it with.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location and nice rooms

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Close to the riverwalk, nice and quiet, friendly staff and great outdoor pool.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fond du lac, WI

Restaurant and bar closed. Machineso broken

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Not right in the mix of the entertainment. Had to walk a ways to get to downtown
Restaurant was closed. Bar closed on Saturday. Bartender was very rude. Asked for a taxi call. They never showed up. Found out they were never called. Pool was dirty. Ice and soda machines broken. Overall a very poor experience
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay and even nicer staff

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: A little further than expected from main areas of river walk but not enough to change our mind on staying there
A little older but well kept and nice staff. I felt as we were treated like we should be in a 3-4 star hotel. Only thing I would change is the parking fee.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Easy access to the River Walk

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: It was in a perfect location.
Cons: We wished it offered breakfast.
Location: The River Walk is so much fun. We ate most of our meals there and used it to get to many of the sites we wanted to see. The boat trip is a must.
This hotel, though older, was very comfortable and clean with caring staff. The best part was that it was right on the River Walk and easy walking distance to the Alamo and many sights and museums.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tacoma, Wa.

Nice room good location

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: Good location.Riverwalk nearby with lots of overpriced restaurants to choose from. Bars and restaurants above the riverwalk are more reasonably priced
Check in was fast.The room was was clean. Shower had plenty of hot water. Elevator worked good. Bar was small and had limited hours. Pool doubles as a smoking section was clean but old, some tiles were falling off. Deck around pool is very slick so be careful there. Over all nice place for the money. No restaurant at the hotel. Close to the Riverwalk. Look for light show on San Fernando cathedral.