Ratings based on 2,295 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Close proximity to all attractions and the kids love the pool. The hotel is old, but with a modern flare.
Cons: When we arrived early and was trying to obtain a room, the 3rd shift customer service rep was difficult to work.
Location: This hotel is (1) block from the Riverwalk and (3) blocks from the Alamo.
The only issue I experience was at arrival time. The 3rd shift rep was not helpful at first. We arrived early and he was not able to provide a room for us which I understand. Since we had to wait, I needed to find a laundry mat due to my niece getting sick. He looked it up and told me where to find it, but I had to ask him to print out the direction since we are not from the area. He was reluctant at first and I felt I was inconveniencing him. His customer service needs to be improved.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Little

Amazing hotel and staff.

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Valet parking 32. Go across street. It's 5.00. Amazing room and beds are so comfy. You just fall into the bed and covers. So soft. You only get one bottle of free water. Boo hoo. Convient to river walk, bars and food. Employees are friendly and helpful. I'd stay again and again. Got a great price deal too on Expedia.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful lobby and dirty rooms

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Walking into this hotel, I was amazed at how wonderfully the lobby was decorated. The staff were initially very helpful and within minutes I was walking to my first room. Upon opening the door I was greeted by a completely unmade bed and no towels in the restroom. When I brought all of this to the attention of the staff, they changed my room but only after getting a manager to affect the change. Furthermore, at any other hotel where I have problems, a manager immediately offers some basic compensation for the inconvenience such as breakfast or complimentary parking, but instead I had to ask multiple times if there was anything they were willing to do. Eventually the comped my parking and I was off to my second room. Initially all of my complaints against the hotel were put to rest once I saw our room. It looked clean and it was very comfortable, but when I tried to call for a late checkout, the phone wouldnt work. I had to use my cell phone for what should have been a 30 second call. On top of that, the hotel staff was extremely reluctant to offer me an extra hour in the room, where as every other river walk hotel that I have stayed at has never told me "no". As for the room overall appearance, the bathroom ceiling had brown water stains, the wall paper was poorly installed, and the tub was stained. Overall this was the worst non-budget hotel that I have stayed at. The Drury Plaza, the Hilton, and the Omni all met or exceeded expectations, while the Gunter fell flat.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northeast

Downtown - Near Alamo and Riverwalk

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Older -
Cons: Renovations to bathrooms
Location: Vietnam Memorial Korean War Memorial The Alamo River walk
Nice town - good restaurants - nice hotel - needs updating - typical city problems - clean - lots of touristy things to do. Wonderful Vietnam Memorial, equally moving Korean Memorial.. Don't forget the Alamo. It's the star of the downtown.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2016
There was something wrong with the first room they provided us , but they changed it for us right away. They even upgraded us into a bigger room . Overall we had a great experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from J

Not worth the money.

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Though I didn't face any problems during the stay however the kind of facilities/services available and the money they charge is not worth it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

Hotel by Riverwalk but too old

Posted Jun 3, 2016
We checked in Friday afternoon. The parking is velvet parking super expensive. Check in was quick but we are very dispointed at the room. No couches, very small. Especially the bathroom, super tiny.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

Great location beautiful hotel. Overall enjoyed i

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Room was not cleaned well after our 1st night. The bathroom had clean towels but they were just Yosef in there not neat. Also there was trash in the bathroom & it was not picked up. Beds were made up but first bed was lumpy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mansfield, TX

Just a few blocks to reach the River Walk

Posted May 19, 2016
Pros: Very nice room :)
I casually asked for a king bed and, was surprised with a king bed once we arrived.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

SO FAR THE BEST ONE!

Posted May 14, 2016
Pros: The bartender next to the lobby (friendly, made great drinks) The hotel is clean and has a great location
Cons: Listen to your customers when they are checking in ( I clearly mentioned, anniversary and she gave me a handicap shower. WTH!!! Who those that???
Location: riverwalk, bars, shows, shops, etc
At the beginning, my husband and I got a room with a handicap shower. I complained since we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. The girl at the front desk told me they did not have any other room so the manager/ supervisor took over and she find us the perfect room. The rest of our stay was perfect, great room, clean etc... Bartender by the lobby was amazing (Latino young man, originally from Mexico city) cant remember his name. Location perfect from river walk and other cool bars and places