Ratings based on 621 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Tx

The hotel was close to the river walk

Posted Jan 26, 2016
I tried to give this Hotel a 3 but it wouldn't allow me to finish this review. We were not told that the hotel is under renovations and no restaurant or room service is available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from V

Close to river walk

Posted Jan 21, 2016
It was very romantic and my girlfriend really like the way all was designed and dressed up
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, Tx

Get away in SA

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Cons: shower heads and small fixtures were worn out, loose or broken.
Location: River walk is very close, about a 5 minute walk.
This was sort of a last minute trip and I was happy I chose this hotel compared the to the other $180+/night hotels. Very close to the riverwalk and the history of the hotel is amazing. I like that they keep the old antique style which is very different from the modern hotels of now. Good room for a good price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oranit Israel

The "jewel of San Antonio " lives up to its name

Posted Jan 14, 2016
We stayed for one night at the Fairmont Hotel. From the first moment we felt a special atmosphere, starting with the most helpful and friendly staff (including tips on how to spend our time ), the ambience of the lobby and the room --keeping the spirit of early 20th century, yet affording adequate modern amenities...Our room had the theme of a ship with the wheel over our bed, the buoy in the bathroom and even a small ship model hanging on the wall.. The location is amazing 5-10 minutes walk from most attractions downtown . The only drawback was that the plumbing in the bathroom could use repair /update (leaky faucet and faulty bath mechanism ), but when taking into account our overall stay -really didn't bother us. My wife and I wholeheartedly can recommend the Fairmont to round out a perfect vacation in San Antonio
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small hotel close to the riverwalk

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Thought the hotel was close to everything. Nice and small but with large rooms. We would stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calif

Charming.

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Lots of charm, character. We enjoy its historical life
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alvin, Texas

The room was lovely and spacious.

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Pros: most everything
Cons: Some of the balconies need repair but other than that, nothing
The room was lovely and spacious. This was the second time I have stayed here and the historical feel is real. I could imagine watching the trains pull up to pick up and drop off passengers. The hotel staff was super friendly and very accommodating as well. Enjoy your stay there and go back in time with a great hotel room and staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from louisiana

Great location

Posted Dec 22, 2015
Beautiful old hotel. Needs a little more makeup but that's in progress. Only a few blocks from river walk and many restaurants. Amazingly quite and peaceful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel by the Riverwalk

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Pros: In addition the wonderful experience, they had beautiful Christmas decorations!! Also, reading about the history of the hotel was very interesting.
Cons: Parking was $21/night but that seems to be the going rate on the Riverwalk.
Location: Riverwalk and restaurants
We had a great stay at The Fairmount. The staff was wonderful and the room was quaint. We will definitely be back! Some people have complained about the rooms being dirty. Well, this hotel is over 100 years old and was moved...Our room was clean with a few little things here and there but no real issues. We loved the real, heavy drapes that blocked out the sun, moon, and dampened the noise. The bedding was comfortable as well. Speaking of beds, this one was comfortable! Our room also had comfortable robes we could use which was nice since it was cold when we first got there. I would highly recommend The Fairmount.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In a great location

Posted Dec 4, 2015
Loved my stay at the fairmount! Everything was walking distance and the staff was very helpful and courteous. I will definitely by staying again! Thank you so much Fairmount hotel staff for your hospitality!