Ratings based on 666 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

nice hotel near the river walk.

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: cozy and old feel
Cons: food availability. the hotel is under some kind of construction to include food or a restaurant area.
Location: La Villita is a few steps away along with the alamo and river walk
Love the location and view. I would recommend this to a couple with no children. No pool nor food available.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Lovely place!

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Great location. Loved our room overlooking the courtyard.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to River Walk

Posted May 1, 2016
Pros: history
Cons: upgrades
Location: River Walk
This is an old hotel, close to River Walk but need lots of improvement
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bastrop TX

Old world charm

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Pros: Decor/Location
Cons: Can't think of a thing.
Location: I picked it because my husband can't walk far because of bad knees and it is close enough to the riverwalk for him.
The decor was wonderful. I enjoy older hotels. This one was very comfortable, within close walking distance of the riverwalk. Relaxing room, seating areas and courtyard. Will have to come back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: Quite and front desk people were nice
Location: La Villita and lots of stores
Overall building was in need of repair and floors in room were dirty
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel has an interesting history: dating back to 1906 it served first the railroad workers and I could imagine it was quite a hub. Check the You Tube-video about moving the hotel. Yes, it was moved in a single piece to the present location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

La Vallita

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Perfect place to stay and close to the hemisphere, Alamo, riverwalk, the Alamobowl, etc. Great staff and quaint hotel with a history.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2016
A great vintage hotel only a block from the Riverwalk. We enjoyed our stay and look forward to a return trip.
3 out of 5
by david from Westlake, La

Good but could be better

Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel itself is great. Loved the room and the closeness to area attractions. The $20 for valet is disappointing being you can walk anywhere. What I really didn't agree with was a hotel staff member ( I guess it was a member, she didn't have a uniform or name tag) woke me up at 8am to ask what time I was checking out. I was really hoping to sleep in, but she began to open my door, making me get up to answer her question. Even though the hotel was great, I would have to be very persuaded to stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Emily from Michigan

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
We loved the Fairmount!!! Small unique hotel, with lots of history. We loved reading the stories in the lobby and the history info included in the In-room info book! Each room is uniquely themed and decorated - We had a golf themed room. Bed was quite comfortable, multiple options for sitting chairs as well. The bathroom was very nice and so LARGE! Our only complaint was that the room was dark, and there was no overhead lighting. Friendly front desk, w/ a snack and beverage always available in the lobby. The lemonade was a nice surprise one afternoon after a hot and humid walk through downtown.