Ratings based on 210 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Jewel of San Antonio

Posted Jan 14, 2017
It's called the Jewel of San Antonio for a reason. Nice boutique hotel with large rooms, great location and friendly staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houston

I Had A Terrible Experience At This Hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: build a new one this hotel is a nightmare
Location: alamo
Worst hotel that i have ever been to it ruins our anniversary . Everything in the room was dirty this (hotel) is a run down establishment the heat didn't work , the front desk lady said that because the hotel is old mold in the bathrooms , one man show staff you are forced to valet park for $21 a night (no self parking) the desk lady is the valet driver and bellman and the repair person !!! we had to find another hotel when we complaint to expedia the hotel manager told expedia that the heat was fine (our room was at 55 f very cold . the manger of the hotel never called us back !!! to hear our problem. this hotel is rated 4 stars i can give this place more than a dirty moon .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Great location and staff

Posted Jan 7, 2017
The staff was incredibly helpful and nice. We enjoyed our stay; however, the water pressure in the shower was really weak and water was a bit cold. Also, I think the heater might have been broken. The room was very charming and I'm thinking we just got a dud room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver CO

Good location nice staff but that's all

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Freindly helpful staff and convenient location to downtown are the pluses. Minuses abound unfortunately. Lack of parking means you must valet park at $21/day. Black mold in bathroom shower, dirty baseboards, and outdated fixtures and generally poorly maintained amenities lead pack on minuses. Not a very quiet place with construction going on. Lack of outlets makes charging your gizmos difficult. Historically quaint but you need to be looking for that to be happy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice near riverwalk

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Staff very nice a warm environment just need to served some kind of breakfast a old hotel but very clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Gorgeous historic hotel

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Location: Just across the street from La Villita (a collection of historic buildings), and a block from the Riverwalk. Great area!
This historic hotel, built in 1906, was moved to its present location in 1985 (it made the Guinness Book of World Records for being the heaviest building moved), and then expanded. My room was in the historic portion. The room was luxurious, and had a set of French doors opening out onto a balcony. What more could I want for a stay during such nice weather! The concierge was very friendly and helpful, and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I only wish I had more time to spend here!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Will stay again!

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Great historic hotel with an even better location, literally steps away from the River Walk. Staff was extremely helpful and very pleasant. I would absolutely recommend staying here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Great Time

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: It is close to the River Walk, close enough for walking.
Great hotel, sure it's old and needs a little renovation, but we always have a good time enjoying the history of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016
It was great had a great view! The ac worked super cold in our room which is great! Only problem is it rattled the attic door in the bathroom
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Charming, very friendly and helpful staff. Perfect location. The rooms could have been a little cleaner and there was some mold growing in the shower / bathtub area.