Ratings based on 739 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Clean hotel, friendly staff. No continental breakfast & not enough electrical plugs. Overall ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Historical Gem

Posted Mar 13, 2017
The room was very quaint and clean with high-quality furnishings, drapes and bedding. Our room had a charming sitting area. This historical hotel is small, but they are in the process of constructing a new exercise room and also remodeling the restaurant. Note: we had tasty and reasonable priced appetizers and drinks at the Marriott which is next-door. The hotel location is perfect because it is only a few blocks from the Riverwalk. I would definitley stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This will be a nice Hotel in a year or two,

Posted Mar 5, 2017
As of March 2017 the Fairmont is under Renovation. The restaurant, will looks like it will be really pretty when it done, is still under construction. The plumbing sucks. Our toilet was a problem for 3 days. poor water pressure most likely to blame, that and 100 year old drain pipes. The hotel smells like paint. The staff is nice. It very close to the RiverWalk. The rooms are big. We saw 2 of them. The rooms are decorated well. Good Wifi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, TX

Close to Everything!!!

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Close to the riverwalk, convention center, San Antonio nightlife.
Cons: The room could use more electrical outlets and interior lighting.
Location: Henry B Gonzalez Convention Center, Tower of the Americas, RiverWalk, Alamodome.
The Fairmount Hotel is the best value if you want to be close to everything and not pay name brand hotel prices!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Old renovated hotel. Nighttime staff was nice. Our room felt like it was tilted to one side. Not worth the money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waco, TX

"Jewel of San Antonio"

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Quaint with interesting history and decor. Friendly and attentive staff. Conveniently located near Convention Center. Restaurant closed while we were there due to renovations, and, other needed renovations reportly scheduled to be done to make the "Jewel" shine again as it did 100+ years ago. Would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Wifi was spotty. Furniture torn out, torn upholstery
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Very disappointed

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: They need a complete renovation.
Location: River walk is nearby.
Lots of things were falling a part: ceiling door panel, tub paint, large parts of the tub curtain rack paint. Wifi was on and off all the time (they claim they have high speed wifi); no drawers for clothing...and very expensive parking fees (over $20/day).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 7, 2017
..........................................................................................................................
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Cozy gem in heart of downtown San Antonio

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: The little dog that came out to greet us was SO cute! Hearing the history of how they moved the hotel was also super neat. It had so much character.
Cons: There were a few things that could use some TLC like the fixtures in the shower. But nothing was obviously broken or dirty. Balcony could use chairs.
Location: We were 2 blocks from the Riverwalk. The hotel is across the street from La Villita. For vegans and vegetarians, Senor Veggie is closeby and DELICIOUS
Came to town with my partner for a 6 day vacation in San Antonio for PAX South. Check in was a breeze. We had a cute little 3 room junior suite, room 210. The anteroom with a vanity was perfect for getting made up and the bed was nice and comfy. The hotel staff was super nice and they had snacks, tea, and coffee in the lobby throughout the day which was a nice touch. It looks like a new restaurant or something is being put in next door with a joint courtyard. That will be super nice when finished. I didn't get to the fitness center but saw it on a tour and it was impressive how much they fit in a small room. Also SUPER reasonably priced. I am so glad we chose this hotel over a chain.