Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson,AZ

Nice furnishings, large comfortable but not clean.

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Library Cafe -- Rebelle Restaurant was gorgeous --Haunt Lounge was beautiful --loved St Anthony Club--
Cons: Staff attentiveness, Cleanliness, Hospitality, room accommodations and ammenities.
Location: Everything was close by and there was plenty to do. I arrived during the Fiesta - (had no idea) - so probably extra crowded.
Arrived and found out that there are only steps to get into hotel and around main hotel. Not Wheelchair accessible and you have to lug your luggage up or down a minimum of 12 steps to front and side doors of hotel. One elevator was "temporarily shut down" for entire stay. Multiple Doorman standing around talking to each other and would not even open the door for me to enter the hotel when my arms were full of luggage. White comforter on bed had old blood on it and they did not change it for 6 days. Hotel is old and very elegant but carpet is filthy and maids left dirty/used glasses collect in my room for my entire 6 day stay. Everyone had their handout for tips - Leave hotel must tip doorman, then guy you give ticket to pick up your car then guy who delivers car, etc. That was on top of a $40.00 a day charge for parking your rental car in a lot down the street. Needs better management and training of employees. Needs more attention to detail. Drapes did not close in bedroom - volume on TV did not work - mini bar was a joke with only two different kinds of chips available for consumption. Then after spending a lot of money on the room, I find out that my SPG points don't get counted or apply because I booked through a third party. Positives were restaurant in hotel was beautiful and food was great. Bar was elegant and inviting. Room was large and comfortable.Library Cafe was great and hostess was fabulous and friendly. Rebelle Restaurant was gorgeous and food was unique
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2017
The staff was very helpful and courteous. We will definitely be revisiting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san antonio

Good luxury hotel

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Check in was a lil chaotic waited 3 hours for my room but was accommodated with anything I needed. Great staff especially Amber Valle front desk manager made me feel so much more at ease will stay again if I plan to travel to SA again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Bummer

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Our room was not ready when we arrived and was not ready until well after 5 o'clock. The staff was not really apologetic about it either. Once we got to our room, the bathroom floor was sticky and there were 2 towels for the 4 of us. The next day, security tried to tell all of us that the pool was closed and wouldn't let any of the kids that were there swim. Twenty minutes later, after we called the front desk to find out why, we were told it was open and everyone could swim and it was just the pool bar that was closed. The day after that, housekeeping didn't even come to our room by 6:00. To say this hotel was disappointing would be an understatement.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful historic hotel

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Everything is perfect at this hotel. Great location, awesome room, amazing staff, and one of the best restaurants in San Antonio. Could not ask for more We'll be back
1 out of 5
by Lauren

Worst experience by far. Don't waste your money!

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
I don't understand how this is a 5 star hotel. Worst experience by far. I might as well saved $200 and went to a Hampton inn. I paid above average to have the Deluxe King Suite. The only thing that was deluxe was the price. Even though I paid over $300 for one night, my "acceptable" view was of trash and air vents. If I wanted a different view it would be a $30 up charge. ABSOLUTELY RIDICULOUS. The mattress was horrible, both my husband and I tossed and turned all night. The room was poorly cleaned and we killed 3 spiders in the hour. Unfortunately, my prepaid room was nonrefundable. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone. Huge letdown. I will never return and I will recommend to my friends the same.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Getaway Overnigt

Posted Feb 20, 2017
My husband and I made a quick trip to San Antonio and a wonderful stay at the St Anthony Hotel. We have already made reservations for a weekend this spring! Fabulous from check in to check out. Staff was remarkable, room spacious, clean, quite, pool was just awesome. This will Benoit new "go to" hotel in San Antonio .
5 out of 5
by ROBIN

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cold water showers...... No five star service.

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
Cold water for four days.....numerous complaints yielded no help and mostly an "oh well - we tried" attitude. They wanted us out of the room so they could re-book it before they would send anyone to look at the problem. Sorry, but when I get back to the hotel at 11pm at night, I don't expect to have to pack up and move without notice. If you couldn't fix the problem, then contact me during the day. But instead you booked all the open rooms, and expect us to suffer the problem. How hard is it to put your hand under the faucet to check temperature? Day 3, it finally would get "luke" warm after 3 minutes of running, and then it only lasted for a couple minutes max. Horrible. Luggage locked up downstairs for 25 minutes while we waited. Bell captain said someone else had the key. Ridiculous for a hotel, just code access the door. The doorman was nice. Upon leaving, I tried to help by telling them problem still existed, but they looked at me like "good riddens!"
5 out of 5
by Neelofur

Outstanding!

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel in the heart of San Antonio. Very pleased! Will stay here again whenever I come to San Antonio. Top notch.