Ratings based on 191 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson,AZ

Nice furnishings, large comfortable but not clean.

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Library Cafe -- Rebelle Restaurant was gorgeous --Haunt Lounge was beautiful --loved St Anthony Club--
Cons: Staff attentiveness, Cleanliness, Hospitality, room accommodations and ammenities.
Location: Everything was close by and there was plenty to do. I arrived during the Fiesta - (had no idea) - so probably extra crowded.
Arrived and found out that there are only steps to get into hotel and around main hotel. Not Wheelchair accessible and you have to lug your luggage up or down a minimum of 12 steps to front and side doors of hotel. One elevator was "temporarily shut down" for entire stay. Multiple Doorman standing around talking to each other and would not even open the door for me to enter the hotel when my arms were full of luggage. White comforter on bed had old blood on it and they did not change it for 6 days. Hotel is old and very elegant but carpet is filthy and maids left dirty/used glasses collect in my room for my entire 6 day stay. Everyone had their handout for tips - Leave hotel must tip doorman, then guy you give ticket to pick up your car then guy who delivers car, etc. That was on top of a $40.00 a day charge for parking your rental car in a lot down the street. Needs better management and training of employees. Needs more attention to detail. Drapes did not close in bedroom - volume on TV did not work - mini bar was a joke with only two different kinds of chips available for consumption. Then after spending a lot of money on the room, I find out that my SPG points don't get counted or apply because I booked through a third party. Positives were restaurant in hotel was beautiful and food was great. Bar was elegant and inviting. Room was large and comfortable.Library Cafe was great and hostess was fabulous and friendly. Rebelle Restaurant was gorgeous and food was unique
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2017
The staff was very helpful and courteous. We will definitely be revisiting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san antonio

Good luxury hotel

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Check in was a lil chaotic waited 3 hours for my room but was accommodated with anything I needed. Great staff especially Amber Valle front desk manager made me feel so much more at ease will stay again if I plan to travel to SA again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Bummer

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Our room was not ready when we arrived and was not ready until well after 5 o'clock. The staff was not really apologetic about it either. Once we got to our room, the bathroom floor was sticky and there were 2 towels for the 4 of us. The next day, security tried to tell all of us that the pool was closed and wouldn't let any of the kids that were there swim. Twenty minutes later, after we called the front desk to find out why, we were told it was open and everyone could swim and it was just the pool bar that was closed. The day after that, housekeeping didn't even come to our room by 6:00. To say this hotel was disappointing would be an understatement.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay in downtown San Antonio

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
We had a great stay. The staff was great and extremely friendly. We did have some trouble getting ahold of guest services during our stay, which was a little disappointing, but when we did they were on top of things. The valet service "lost" our vehicle at one point and we ended up having to wait about 20 minutes while they sorted it out. This was not the norm however. The room itself was spacious (we had a Superior Room) and very well appointed. The housekeepers were very good and the room was always spotless when we requested them to reset the room. The turn down service was my wife's favorite feature as this was her first 4-5 star stay. The only odd thing was the roughly patched square hole in our bathroom ceiling that totally looked out of place.
5 out of 5
by Todd

Will stay again!

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderfully comfortable and quiet!
4 out of 5
by audrey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Kevin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful historic hotel

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Everything is perfect at this hotel. Great location, awesome room, amazing staff, and one of the best restaurants in San Antonio. Could not ask for more We'll be back