Ratings based on 1,606 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pdx

Clean, quiet, and comfortable

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Despite a large number of guests under age 18, the hotel was remarkably quiet. The room was clean and comfortable.
Cons: Parking! When entrance is full, vehicles sit in bus lane on Market St. Valet service = $42; Park your own = $20 but is dicey on weekends.
Location: Only blocks from The Riverwalk, The Alamo, Hemisfair, etc.
We were in town for a special occasion on the same weekend as two conventions and a heap of Garth Brooks fans, so Riverwalk district was especially busy (heavy foot and car traffic, longer waits at restaurants, low to no vacancy at hotels, etc.). Despite this, the only challenges we encountered were pulling into the hotel driveway off Market Street and parking directly across the street from the hotel. The area has a lot of panhandlers, and the municipal service forces (police, EMTs, firefighters) were responding to a lot of activity in the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expedia was not honest

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Everything They fixed your mistake when they didn't have to.
Cons: Proper acknowledgement that river view or river side means the river is UNDER you and you can look over the balcony and see it.
I don't expect this to be printed - but paid additional money for "view" rooms that were flagrantly dishonest. Hotel said customers complain ALL the time and Expedia still will not properly disclose the status of these rooms
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Bad experience. I was making a Coffee and found a big bug inside the coffee maker.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great hotel and great location

Posted Jul 19, 2016
wonderful staff and experience. location is ideal.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Anniversary Weekend went off without a hitch!

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Absolutely everything!
Cons: There was a door that opened and closed frequently outside our room that would resonate rather loudly in our room and we never could identify...
Location: The Westin is in a quieter part of the Riverwalk &, if that's what you want, it's what you'll get. But, you are still close enough to all the fun!
From the moment we arrived to the moment we departed, everything was fantastic: the valet, the front desk, the bellman, the pool, the wait staff/bartenders (Scott, Daily, Daniel, Raul, Mandy...just to name a few), housekeeping...everyone was friendly, attentive and did their job very well. It is clear that they all enjoy being a part of The Westin and, more importantly, they enjoy having us as guests. Thank you to you all!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington

River walk hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Within walking distance to river and downtown. Good view from balconies Good food and drinks but $$. Could not get room cool enough. Hotel puts random charges on your credit card with no explanation so have to watch that closely. Valet parking $$. No other parking. Good friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

Great walking location

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pool was nice for the kids. Could walk to all the downtown attractions.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Effortless

Posted Jun 8, 2016
This hotel was quite perfect: clean, staff was attentive, location was great (directly on a beautiful section of Riverwalk, very picturesque), restaurant downstairs was delicious and had a lovely ambiance), excellent room (clean, well-appointed). Good choice!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good, not Great

Posted May 12, 2016
You can't beat the location. It is in the heart of downtown San Antonio. The hotel was well kept, beautiful, and clean. However, the air conditioner in our room struggled to keep the room cool. The window in the room does not block any sound from the streets below. We were on the 12th floor and could hear the street crowds and traffic below loudly. The service in the hotel restaurant was poor. We ate breakfast there. We had to wait to be seated, though, it was nearly empty. We were seated at a dirty table and had a bad waiter. The food was good though. The cost of parking was absurd. It's also absurd to not offer free wi-fi in hotels these days. I would return again only bc of the great location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wichita

Great Hotel, Quiet access to RiverWalk

Posted May 10, 2016
Great location in the middle of the RiverWalk! You walk out the backdoor of the hotel to the RiverWalk, and it's a less busy very scenic area so you avoid the crowd! The restaurant is also good, breakfast was pricey but excellent! Staff was super friendly and ready to help. Valet service could be cheaper but it's worth it. Would not hesitate to stay again. Easy Walking distance to the Alamo, shopping, restaurants, Ripleys etc.....