Ratings based on 1,057 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Loved how close it is to everything.

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Being able to walk to the Alamo within one block or just turning the corner to the river walk made it a very well experience at the hotel as well as the staff/hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by Jesse R, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review on our location at the TownePlace Suites by Marriott San Antonio Downtown. We are pleased to see you had an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to having you here with us again in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Cons: Breakfast options could be more varied and served at earlier times.
Overall, a very good hotel. Clean, friendly staff and generally quiet. Nice rooms with full kitchenette.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2016 by Jesse R, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for writing a review on our location at The TownePlace Suites by Marriott San Antonio Downtown. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to serving you again in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from a

Great location walking distance from river walk.

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Walked to river walk every night. Great location. Staff very friendly and allowed us to check in early at 2:30. Bed was comfortable. Our couch had white stains on it and the room had very poor lighting . I had a hard time doing my makeup in the dark room . Even with window blinds open it was dark. And no full length mirror in my room but my sister had one. I enjoyed the fridge and kitchen sink and stove top very useful. Overall I would say it was a good experience .
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2016 by Jesse R, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our location. We are happy to see you had an all around enjoyable stay, we also want to mention that we will be starting renovations in the winter months to early spring to give our rooms a lift. We hope this will take care of the concerns you had so when you stay with us again in the future, it'll be an all around EXCELLENT stay!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The staff was excellent but our room needed help

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Location: The hotel is two blocks away from the riverwalk and Alamo. A five minute walk to the Rivercenter Mall.
The room had been renovated however there was mold in the shower, on the shower ceiling, and elsewhere in the bathroom. The bathroom sink stopper would not work so a slow drainage. We did not know the garbage disposal did not work. Also a lot of construction noise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by J Rittenhouse, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our location during your most recent stay in downtown San Antonio. We hope your stay was enjoyable and you were able to make the most out of your visit. We do apologize about the maintenance concerns you had during your stay and will make sure to look into this immediately. Once again thank you and we look forward to having you here with us again in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saskatchewan, Canada

Fabulous Place to Stay

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: The location is amazing: one block or so to access the Riverwalk and a block and a half to the Alamo. Great location for touring the city.
This hotel is a 10 on all counts: the room was very spacious with a kitchette, very comfortable bed, and excellent shower. The hotel staff were amazing: the front desk staff were very friendly and helpful; Venrita?) in housekeeping was one of the most friendly and helpful housekeeping staff I have met; and Becky the breakfast supervisor was very helpful and friendly as well. Valet parking was a breeze -- $30 a day and totally worth it. The breakfast was very substantial and provided a great variety of foods.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by Jesse R., Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments regarding our hotel, service and staff. I will make sure to share your excellent comments with the team. I know they do their best to give the most excellent service/experience possible for all and will be delighted to see how well they did.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midlothian, VA

Good value close to Riverwalk

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Very nice hotel with great amenities only a minute walk from the Riverwalk. Staff always available, facility very clean, with a very good free breakfast. Had a great stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2016 by Jesse R, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about your most recent stay with us, we are glad to see you had an excellent time with us. We look forward to having you here with us again in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great location!

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: Safe area. This was our second stay in this hotel and will probably stay there again. Nice breakfast.
Cons: I would like to have had a mirror over the desk where I could sit and fix my hair.
Location: Riverwalk, Alamo, Rivercenter Mall and trolley stop all within walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2016 by Jesse R, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for allowing us the opportunity of serving you during your visit to San Antonio. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to serving you again in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Nice Hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Close to River walk, very nice and helpful staff
Cons: Maybe update the rooms a little, other than that not much
Location: Lots of things to do and see, it was a good time.
Close to all the action and nice for the price. Fairly comfortable beds and really nice staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2016 by Jesse R, Hotel Management
Thank you for writing a review on our location at TPS San Antonio Downtown. We appreciate all of your comments and concerns, I do encourage you to revisit us in the Spring as we will be finished with our renovation. Once again thank you so much and we look forward to having you here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Downtown San Antonio weekend

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
We were cheking in friday and cheking out Sunday morning with 2 queen suite studio rooms. When we got to the Hotel Friday night, front desk was very rude. They could only find one room,and said that they couldn't do anything about it. I showed him my confirmation email, since I booked with hotels.com they said we had to call them to see what was going on. Then I called the hotels.com customer service line and they were very nice and asked to speek with the person doing our check in because they said the reservation was appearing in her system. Once the hotels.com lady spoke to the guy in front desk he found the room and we finally checked in after like 40 minutes waiting. The hotel is in a great location, only a 5min walk to the Riverwalk. The rooms were a bit small but very clean. The breakfast was really good, they had waffles, sausage,egg, fruit, yogurt, juice,muffins, and hot coffee. The pool is very small we didn't even bother to go. They have valet parking for like $30 a day, didn't use it we parked a block away for less than half the price!! Overall was good, could of been great, but they need to work on their customer service in the front desk, very rude!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for writing a review on our TPS San Antonio Downtown location. We do apologize about your arrival process and the experience you had while doing so, we will certainly make sure to address this situation immediately to prevent it from happening again in the future. We are however happy to see you enjoyed the breakfast, convenient location and the offerings we provided. Once again thank you so much and as always for choosing Towneplace Suites by Marriott. Best Regards, Jesse Rittenhouse General Manager
5 out of 5
by Ann from Leander, Texas

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
The staff was awesome and accommodating at the last minute when our original hotel turned out to be less desirable. Great breakfast and friendly staff all around.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for writing a review on our TPS San Antonio Downtown location. We do apologize about your arrival process and the experience you had while doing so, we will certainly make sure to address this situation immediately to prevent it from happening again in the future. We are however happy to see you enjoyed the breakfast, convenient location and the offerings we provided. Once again thank you so much and as always for choosing Towneplace Suites by Marriott. Best Regards, Jesse Rittenhouse General Manager