Ratings based on 1,605 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Aledo, Tx

It was a nice facility, close to the attractions

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Proximity to the attractions.
Cons: Make sure the air conditioning works in all the rooms during the summer before committing them.
Location: Market Square is always a must and it was close to Sea World and the River Walk. The big thing was the large pool for the kids
Although the hotel was nice and I might stay there again if they come through with what was promised, the first 2 days were not what I would expect. We went in the summer and when we got there, checked in and went to the market. Got back a little late and noticed it was hot in the room. Air Conditioner did not work so we called the front desk. They could not get anyone to fix it til the next day and it was miserable. We stayed, got up the next morning and went about our business. In the evening, we checked with the front desk and was told it had been repaired. Got to the room and it was still not working. Called the front desk but again was told it would be the next day. After the 2nd night, we decided to leave as we were told both nights that there were no other rooms to change to. We was going to check out on the 3rd day but was assured it would be fixed. When we got back, they had installed a new air conditioner. The 3rd night was good and when we checked out, the manager offered to refund 2 nights stay. Have yet to see the return but I trust it is coming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio Texas

Love the location of the hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
I have now stayed here twice and I love it the staff is super friendly and it's always so clean and inviting and super comfortable and the pool is amazing hot cold colored lights really a great experience here
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mi

Nice wood floors nasty roaches

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Only 2 towels and 2 wash clothes fr 5 people. Refused to give more. Roaches in room. Wood floors and room decor nice. Breakfast ok. Pool area and property in disrepair.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OKC

Plaza Hotel Stay Aug 2017

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Overall we had a pleasant stay. The hotel staff wasn't always friendly. If we needed something (i.e. extra towels, our floor vacuumed, etc...) I had to ask twice, sometimes three times. But the location wasn't terrible and the room was clean. Breakfast was limited choices and only served until 9, which was quite inconvenient. But for the price, I would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from McAllen, TX

Wedding

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Family friendly, quaint cabin appeal, good location
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to family

Posted Jul 15, 2017
selected this hotel as close to family and had a play area and a good sized pool tho the pool area and bathroom next to it was not clean at all. the room was comfortable but could have used some deeper cleaning. my grandies still enjoyed visiting me there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super great hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2017
This was the best hotel I have found I will only stay at this hotel now
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gave us the worst room when we checked in.

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Nothing worked so ended up complaining and planned to check out early. The first room they gave us had no microwave, no coffee maker, 2 tvs wrent working, dead cockroach under the bed, and ac wasnt good. Complained and screamed at the staff for they were not attending to my calls. I was patient for awhile but got fed up. The staff transfered us to a better room only after complaining.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for.

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
The place is what you pay for. The room smelled like smoke, even though I requested a non-smoking room. The sink's water would take time to drain. The room was clean, but the condition of the room was old. Beds were clean and room had two good HD TVs. Overall, I needed a room so it fulfill my needs. Breakfast was good and had a variety of foods to choose from.
4 out of 5
by Tifiny

Great for a family of 5!

Posted Jun 22, 2017 on Hotels
The accommodations were great for a family of 5. Much like a small apartment, it offered a separate sitting area and two tv's. The pool was nice, and several ice dispensers throughout the property. In our room, we had a bit of difficulty with appliances that didn't work, however the staff was courteous and prompt about replacing them with ones that did work. We will definitely be giving Travelodge another try!