Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Hotel with view to the volcano

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: The view to the lake and Volcano.
Cons: Hotel needs lots of improvement
Location: Plenty of activity around town.
The hotel is a little run down. There were dirty plastic cups with cigarettes in the balcony. The floor was a little dirty and there were not enough soaps in the bathroom. The breakfast was ok, nothing fancy. The personnel was ok. No assistance with luggage and there were plenty of steps to climb before we got to our room. I will not stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from saskatoon

nice hotel , very quite

Posted Dec 4, 2015
Pros: view was the best
Cons: maybe some bilingual staff
Location: nice view and tours booked from hotel , little off the beaten path
probably quieter then usual due to tourist season not started yet , helpful staff
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami Fl.

Worst Hotel saw the room before check in never sta

Posted Nov 9, 2015
The ride up the to hotel takes 35 minutes real bad road with pot holes.The lobby ? The room is a dark dirty old delapitaded room after we saw it we said no thank you and left.we are trying for expedia to fully return our two room two day stay.I would not recommend this Hotel to my worst enemy.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jan from København

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
Hotellet var svært tilgængligt fra hovedbyen, La Fortuna, ved Arenal vulkanen. Herfra var det en tur ad yderst dårlige veje (off road nærmest) på 45 min. Der gik kun shuttlebus fra hotellet til civilisationen tre gange i døgnet, så vi var afhængige af firehjulstrukne taxier eller skulle selv have haft bil. Taxi fra La Fortuna til hotellet kostede $30 - $40. Da vi ankom til hotellet var der ingen strøm grundet nedfaldet træ. Vi ankom ca. kl. 17 og kunne ikke få aftensmad. Hverken på hotellet eller i nærområdet da hotellet ligger ret øde. Total mørke grundet manglende elektricitet, hvilket var hyggeligt men deraf ingen mulighed for at oplade kameraer, telefoner, iPads med mere. Ingen WiFi heller, hvilket vi havde prioriteret, så vi kunne opdatere vores rejseblog. Sulten i seng. Ingen af personalet kunne engelsk så vi kunne ikke arrangere ture med dem. De var dog imødekommende men kommunikationen strandede med vores beskedne spanske ordforråd. Personalet forlod hotellet kl. 19.00, så vi var efterladt alene tilbage på et hotel med ingen strøm i total mørke. En oplevelse men også en kende frustrerende, då vi gerne ville have planlagt næste dag med kompetent personale. Da vi ved udtjekning skulle betale for fire øl vi havde fået, kunne vi ikke betale med kort og prisen på $16 kunne de ikke give tilbage på, da vi betalte med en $20-seddel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pésimo, muy sucio e instalaciones descuidadas

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pésimo, muy sucio e instalaciones descuidadas, tiene una vista al lago y al volcán espectacular, puede ser un lugar muy bonito si lo cuidan
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from GA

Lodge Stay

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: great views
Cons: air conditioning. parking near rooms.
Location: arenal volcano, hanging bridges
Staff spoke very little English. No A/C. Fan was bolted to wall and did not work. Room very hot and stuffy at night. 10 mile bumpy unpaved road to get to hotel. Had to walk up very long steep driveway to get to rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mirjam from Amsterdam

Heerlijk rustig, prachtig uitzicht!

Posted Nov 27, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Larry from Chicago, IL

Quiet, out of the way place

Posted Sep 20, 2013
Pros: Very friendly staff, gorgeous view of the lake and volcano, good quiet place to relax.
Cons: Make it clear the staff doesn't speak English. :-) The rooms could also use air conditioning. The beds were meh.
Location: Aside from the few activities offered at the hotel (horseback riding and kayaking), it's a half hour drive or more to anything else nearby to do.
First off, a warning: The staff at this hotel do not speak English! I think they had maybe 150 words of English between them, and I knew about 20 words of Spanish if I'm generous. If you do not speak Spanish, this is probably not a good hotel for you. That said, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful to the best of their ability, including taking the time to write things down in English (probably with some translation software help) to confirm things with me. The offered horseback riding was fun. If they mention a "boat tour", it's actually a kayak rental. Just you, no guide. I discovered that when they took me down to the lake, gave me a paddle, and said "see you in 2 hours." It turned out fine and I enjoyed the solitude, but it wasn't what I was expecting. There's a nice nature walk through the forest behind the hotel, too. The food in the restaurant was quite good for the price. About twelve buc for a fairly good steak, rice, and vegetables. Service wasn't especially fast, but the food and price were good. There is no hot springs at this hotel! If that's your reason for coming to Arenal, go elsewhere. The staff recommended the nearby Los Laurelas springs, which is more of a water park than springs, it felt like. (Good water, lots of temperatures, but I've no idea if it was spring-fed.) It was 10 bucks, but a 25 buck cab ride each way which made it more expensive. Overall, it was an unexpected adventure but a good one in the end.
3 out of 5
by Gene from San Jose, CA

Very basic hotel with great volcano views

Posted Apr 28, 2012
Pros: View from the room
Cons: 10 km of driving to/from the main road
This is a VERY basic hotel. All about it is a great view of the Arenal Volcano from the room. But that's if you are fortunate. We stayed there for 2 nights in mid-April and quite often the volcano was in the clouds. Nevertheless, we've managed to take several really good pictures during periouds of clearing. It takes about 10 km of unpaved section of the road to get there (20 min). If you want to stay in a very solitude place and enjoy the view of teh volcano - you might consider this place. If you want to stay close to other Arenal attractions - stay closer to the main (paved) road.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrew from Bermuda

Great stay at Arenal Vista Lodge

Posted Apr 14, 2012
Pros: The views, especially from the hotel balcony while enjoying breakfast or an afternoon cervesa. The hotel staff were excellent.
Location: Set above Lake Arenal with the volcano beyond. Worth a 20 min drive on a rough road.
Fantastic location overlooking lake and volcano. Staff couldn't have been more helpful - we booked an extra night while we were there because we were made to feel so welcome. We loved the tranquility and the opportunity to explore Arenal National Park. Excellent food. The hotel even has its own forest nature trails.