Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Marco Island, FL

Nice hotel with fantastic Arenal lake and Volcano

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: I especially liked the Lake and Volcano views and observing how quickly the view could change with the clouds and fog
Cons: TVs in the rooms
Location: The location is on the side of a mountain in Fosforo overlooking the Lake and Volcano. The serpentarium, observatory.cable car and,butterfly garden
The hotel was nice and remotely located. The wild life was amazing especially the monkeys and birds. On a clear day the Lake and Volcano views were spectacular.
4 out of 5
by Rodolfo from Cartago

Excelente atención!

Posted Mar 23, 2016 on Hotels
La atención del personal del hotel fue excelente, aunque no había aire acondicionado, ni televisor en el cuarto. El lugar es muy tranquilo y perfecto para descansar, pero podrían tener mas actividades para ofrecer al turista, estando al frente del lago.
3 out of 5
by andrea g from Wenatchee, WA

Birdwatcher's Paradise

Posted Mar 14, 2016 on Hotels
Arenal Vista Lodge has a great view of Lake Arenal and Arenal Volcano (when the clouds are gone). It is a bit rustic compared to other hotels in the area but it is very clean and has your basic amenities. The staff are very attentive and helpful. It is really getting away from it all and provides some excellent birdwatching. The pool was very nice and highly appreciated.
5 out of 5
by Kiely from Portland, Oregon

Posted Jan 6, 2016 on Hotels
We greatly enjoyed staying here-it was a wonderful retreat into nature. The accommodations were great, thank you!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Familjerum med uteplats blev sovsal

Posted Jan 1, 2016 on Hotels
Hade bokat familjerum med egen uteplats. Blev inskuffade i ett logement med fyra rangliga sängar uppställda i något som kan liknas vid en sovsal eller logement. Hade sällskap av kackelackor och myror. Dag två blev vi visserligen flyttade till ett bra rum (fick själva bära över bagaget genom trappor och korridorer). Ngn kompensation var det inte tal om. Kommer inte att återvända.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Hotel with view to the volcano

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: The view to the lake and Volcano.
Cons: Hotel needs lots of improvement
Location: Plenty of activity around town.
The hotel is a little run down. There were dirty plastic cups with cigarettes in the balcony. The floor was a little dirty and there were not enough soaps in the bathroom. The breakfast was ok, nothing fancy. The personnel was ok. No assistance with luggage and there were plenty of steps to climb before we got to our room. I will not stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from saskatoon

nice hotel , very quite

Posted Dec 4, 2015
Pros: view was the best
Cons: maybe some bilingual staff
Location: nice view and tours booked from hotel , little off the beaten path
probably quieter then usual due to tourist season not started yet , helpful staff
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami Fl.

Worst Hotel saw the room before check in never sta

Posted Nov 9, 2015
The ride up the to hotel takes 35 minutes real bad road with pot holes.The lobby ? The room is a dark dirty old delapitaded room after we saw it we said no thank you and left.we are trying for expedia to fully return our two room two day stay.I would not recommend this Hotel to my worst enemy.
2 out of 5
by Jan from København

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
Hotellet var svært tilgængligt fra hovedbyen, La Fortuna, ved Arenal vulkanen. Herfra var det en tur ad yderst dårlige veje (off road nærmest) på 45 min. Der gik kun shuttlebus fra hotellet til civilisationen tre gange i døgnet, så vi var afhængige af firehjulstrukne taxier eller skulle selv have haft bil. Taxi fra La Fortuna til hotellet kostede $30 - $40. Da vi ankom til hotellet var der ingen strøm grundet nedfaldet træ. Vi ankom ca. kl. 17 og kunne ikke få aftensmad. Hverken på hotellet eller i nærområdet da hotellet ligger ret øde. Total mørke grundet manglende elektricitet, hvilket var hyggeligt men deraf ingen mulighed for at oplade kameraer, telefoner, iPads med mere. Ingen WiFi heller, hvilket vi havde prioriteret, så vi kunne opdatere vores rejseblog. Sulten i seng. Ingen af personalet kunne engelsk så vi kunne ikke arrangere ture med dem. De var dog imødekommende men kommunikationen strandede med vores beskedne spanske ordforråd. Personalet forlod hotellet kl. 19.00, så vi var efterladt alene tilbage på et hotel med ingen strøm i total mørke. En oplevelse men også en kende frustrerende, då vi gerne ville have planlagt næste dag med kompetent personale. Da vi ved udtjekning skulle betale for fire øl vi havde fået, kunne vi ikke betale med kort og prisen på $16 kunne de ikke give tilbage på, da vi betalte med en $20-seddel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pésimo, muy sucio e instalaciones descuidadas

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pésimo, muy sucio e instalaciones descuidadas, tiene una vista al lago y al volcán espectacular, puede ser un lugar muy bonito si lo cuidan