Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice for relaxing and yoga

Posted Oct 19, 2016
The food (breakfast especially) was disapointing. Rooms at la casa dark, but very clean. Nice veranda. Apart from that everything was very nice. Well maintained farm! Tidy and clean. And they have a look out tower.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Amazing location - but we didn't have car and had to rely on expensive taxis and guides to see things. Due to lack of public transport you feel a bit forced into spending. The receptionist assistance was a little basic and i felt suspicious that every thing we did the price was negotiated on phone by receptionist - we did nothing out of ordinary and thought the prices would be established - but this place is beautiful and the Eco side of v impressive.
4 out of 5
by Darren from Austin, TX

A gem

Posted Dec 8, 2015 on Hotels
A beautiful property, very quiet and secluded. Food was delicious, staff were friendly, wifi everywhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, surrounded by nature

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Staff Room Food
Location: Whitewater rafting Hot Springs Fortuna shopping Ziplining
20 minutes away from Fortuna, the Finca Luna is truly and completely surrounded by the rainforest. All of the staff were very friendly and helped us organize tours nearby (we did whitewater rafting, ziplining, and the hot springs. Would recommend all of them). Food on the whole was incredible. The chocolate tour was great; we learned about the history of chocolate and even made our own! Would be interesting to most, I would guess. Included in the stay is a tour of the hotels farm where a lot of the food is grown; we, unfortunately, did not have time to take this tour, but we did walk around the farm, which was very pleasant. For nature lovers in the Arenal area, this hotel is a must.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Eco-lodge in rain forest

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: Very peaceful and lovely.
Cons: Maybe I missed it, but I wish we had known we needed to bring snacks and wine with us.
Location: Hiking in the rainforest. Ziplines and lots of tourist stuff an hour away.
This is an eco-lodge experience, so there is no A/C, no TV, lukewarm water, no ice and very basic accommodations. That said, it is very beautiful and peaceful and has a lovely pool. Wifi is available in the dining room, pool area, and main reception area and a few of the rooms. The meals are tasty but very simple with small portions. We did not know until we arrived that there is no alcohol or soda sold on the grounds, but you are welcome to make the half-hour trip back down the very twisty unpaved road to La Fortuna to get some, which they will allow you to drink in the dining room for no set-up fee. They request you not bring food into your room because of insects, so there is no food available between meals. (We kept almonds and hard candy in ziplock bags and had no problem with insects.) They offer several tours (of the farm and the seed bank and the rainforest around the site) for additional fees.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago area

A little remote, but certainly worth the drive.

Posted Jan 2, 2015
I was looking to take my family to a non-typical place where they might have a different experience and actually learn something - and finca Luna accomplished that and them some. Farm tour was outstanding - got to walk and eat our way through fruits and vegetables I had never seen or heard of. Also - we had our best dinner of the trip at the restaurant. Staff even kept the restaurant open late as we were late returning that night. Staff was friendly and very helpful. They made reservations for various La Fortuna/Arenal attractions. Danny even found a hotel on Jaco Beach for us for later in our trip. I would arrive during daylight on my first day there as it us remote, but certainly worth the drive. I hope to return there again!
3 out of 5
by Karin from London

Great place but let down by reception management

Posted Sep 20, 2014 on Hotels
Great place and very nice and committed people. However, when we tried to pay by credit card at the end, an incompetent staff member got 2 of my credit cards blocked because he thought he had to type in the hotel code when asked for the pin! After 3 attempts the cards were blocked and I could not get them unblocked whilst in Costa Rica.
3 out of 5
by Sp from Bellevue, WA

Good

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels
It was good. We stayed 2 nights. But it is hard to find, roads are unpaved. But it is in the middle of a rain forest and very relaxing. Saw a lot of birds. If you are travelling ith seniors, it may not be the place for you. It is further out in the wilderness. Food was average but expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oakland, ca

Wonderful Ecolodge Experience!

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Our family of 3 stayed in one of the individual bungalows and loved the experience! Not luxury accommodations, but that wasn't what we wanted or expected. La Finca had everything we needed - clean, comfortable rooms, beautiful grounds with wildlife, trails and a working farm, a great pool and hot (warm) tub, and tasty local-style meals available from the lodge restaurant.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uruguay

A horrid experience

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Terrible. Too expensive for what you get. I think The owners should focus on The finca and leave The hotel side To someone with knowledge. Or just charge The half. Although Costa Rica is expensive for that money you get better places!!!