Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Amazing location - but we didn't have car and had to rely on expensive taxis and guides to see things. Due to lack of public transport you feel a bit forced into spending. The receptionist assistance was a little basic and i felt suspicious that every thing we did the price was negotiated on phone by receptionist - we did nothing out of ordinary and thought the prices would be established - but this place is beautiful and the Eco side of v impressive.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, surrounded by nature

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Staff Room Food
Location: Whitewater rafting Hot Springs Fortuna shopping Ziplining
20 minutes away from Fortuna, the Finca Luna is truly and completely surrounded by the rainforest. All of the staff were very friendly and helped us organize tours nearby (we did whitewater rafting, ziplining, and the hot springs. Would recommend all of them). Food on the whole was incredible. The chocolate tour was great; we learned about the history of chocolate and even made our own! Would be interesting to most, I would guess. Included in the stay is a tour of the hotels farm where a lot of the food is grown; we, unfortunately, did not have time to take this tour, but we did walk around the farm, which was very pleasant. For nature lovers in the Arenal area, this hotel is a must.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Eco-lodge in rain forest

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: Very peaceful and lovely.
Cons: Maybe I missed it, but I wish we had known we needed to bring snacks and wine with us.
Location: Hiking in the rainforest. Ziplines and lots of tourist stuff an hour away.
This is an eco-lodge experience, so there is no A/C, no TV, lukewarm water, no ice and very basic accommodations. That said, it is very beautiful and peaceful and has a lovely pool. Wifi is available in the dining room, pool area, and main reception area and a few of the rooms. The meals are tasty but very simple with small portions. We did not know until we arrived that there is no alcohol or soda sold on the grounds, but you are welcome to make the half-hour trip back down the very twisty unpaved road to La Fortuna to get some, which they will allow you to drink in the dining room for no set-up fee. They request you not bring food into your room because of insects, so there is no food available between meals. (We kept almonds and hard candy in ziplock bags and had no problem with insects.) They offer several tours (of the farm and the seed bank and the rainforest around the site) for additional fees.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago area

A little remote, but certainly worth the drive.

Posted Jan 2, 2015
I was looking to take my family to a non-typical place where they might have a different experience and actually learn something - and finca Luna accomplished that and them some. Farm tour was outstanding - got to walk and eat our way through fruits and vegetables I had never seen or heard of. Also - we had our best dinner of the trip at the restaurant. Staff even kept the restaurant open late as we were late returning that night. Staff was friendly and very helpful. They made reservations for various La Fortuna/Arenal attractions. Danny even found a hotel on Jaco Beach for us for later in our trip. I would arrive during daylight on my first day there as it us remote, but certainly worth the drive. I hope to return there again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oakland, ca

Wonderful Ecolodge Experience!

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Our family of 3 stayed in one of the individual bungalows and loved the experience! Not luxury accommodations, but that wasn't what we wanted or expected. La Finca had everything we needed - clean, comfortable rooms, beautiful grounds with wildlife, trails and a working farm, a great pool and hot (warm) tub, and tasty local-style meals available from the lodge restaurant.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uruguay

A horrid experience

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Terrible. Too expensive for what you get. I think The owners should focus on The finca and leave The hotel side To someone with knowledge. Or just charge The half. Although Costa Rica is expensive for that money you get better places!!!
5 out of 5
by World Traveller from Edmonton Canada

A very nice surprise

Posted Apr 12, 2014
We booked this trip after about 5 min consideration on a last minute decision to make our way from Tamarindo to drive past Lake Arenal before sunset. The people and the place are beautiful with a somewhat remote location (totally worth it). Christian and Stephen and others treated the small group of lodgers like personal guests of this Eco lodge and organic farm. The value for our money went way beyond our expectations with wonderful home grown and home cooked local fare. The pool/garden area was very serene and fun for our kids. The night swim was reall cool with all the jungle sounds around us. The staff working here seemed to treat each other and us like family We stayed 1.5 days but would have liked more time. Hopefully we can return again some day, this is a great base to explore the area from and great people to point you in the right direction. Thanks to everyone at Finca Luna Nueva for a really beautiful and informative stay. We wish you all much success with your farm business, your mission and your research into regenerative farming
5 out of 5
by Jenn from South Carolina

Opportunity to learn and relax

Posted Jan 29, 2014
Pros: Spacious room, great food, lots of privacy
Cons: The bed is a bit uncomfortable, but truthfully, not the worst we slept on in our stay in Costa Rica.
Location: Near La Fortuna, which is a great little town to check out. Not far from Arenal.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in our little cabin on the farm. Go on the farm tour! Staff possesses good bilingual skills and is very knowledgeable and helpful. You will be inspired. The road leading up to the property is sketchy, so bring any supplies and plan to stay in, at least at night. The food is wonderful there.
3 out of 5
by Andreas from Remscheid

Posted Dec 29, 2013
Cons: Kompetenz und Geschwindigkeit an der Rezeption. Dinner
4 out of 5
by alana from las vegas

Nice hotel in the middle of the rainforest

Posted Oct 11, 2013
Pros: Relaxing, good location, clean and good security
Cons: The dirt road and air con units in rooms
Location: La fortuna nearby as well as arenal. Numerous tours and restaurants available
Only thing I didn't like was the dirt road to the hotel