Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Kenneth from Heredia, Costa Rica

Bello y retirado, perfecto para relajación!

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
Como está explicado, el hotel está situado en un pueblito que se llama "El Castillo" y de noche no hay mucho que hacer más que quedarse en el restaurante del hotel. La atención es buena y se pasa muy bien. Todo estaba preparado nuestra llegada, incluyendo el detalle que levábamos a nuestra Basset por lo que no hubo problema alguno. Un detalle: La piscina es pequeña, es más para relajarse que para hacer natación.
4 out of 5
by Yanick from Québec

Pour le prix très bien

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel bien situé en campagne. Loin des immenses groupes touristique. Personnel de l'hôtel charmant et conviviale. Vaut la peine d'y aller
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel agradable, atención personalizada

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Todos son muy amables, la vista hermosa, comida deliciosa, súper recomendable
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

MISLEADING LOCATION

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: DO NOT LIKE THE ACCESS ROADS
Cons: Needs to give warnings on the location, and access roads
NEEDS TO CORRECT THE MAP, AND GIVE ACCURATE ACCESS We had booked this hotel on expedia prior to coming on our Costa Rica Trip. Since we were renting a car, we wanted to drive and staying in a few different areas. When we were searching on expedia for hotels in monteverde, it says this hotels only 9 miles from it. (only an hour from our previous hotel) But once we were down in Costa Rica- we found out there is no access there, in that direction. You have to drive 3 HOURS around the lake to get to that location. so NO, it is NOT 9 mile drive from monteverde. its several HOURS!!!! so not happy about that. we called expedia to cancel- stating it was very misleading- and we needed to stay IN/near Monteverde… It was very difficult- and they (expedia) kept saying we may still get charged (even though we were canceling 24 hours in advance) we explained the website is misleading- and untrue. she kept trying to call the hotel to confirm- but could not reach anybody on the phone.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Metz

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Superbe vue sur le volcan et la vallee. Choix entre trois petits dejeuners : typique, tropical et pancakes. Nous avons testé les 2 premiers et avons été ravis. Restaurant avec prix corrects (voir moins chers que le petit soda del castillo) et bonne cuisine.
5 out of 5
by Francois from Antibes

Coup de coeur

Posted Jan 30, 2016 on Hotels
Très belle hôtel un panorama exeptionel un très bon restaurant qualité prix personnels excellent
5 out of 5
by Andrew from California

El Castillo Hermoso, Beautiful!!

Posted Jan 15, 2016 on Hotels
The staff at Hotel Castillo Del Arenal are absolutely wonderful, all of them were very kind and delivered excellent service. Me and my girlfriend felt very welcomed and truly enjoyed our stay. We arrived by shuttle and had no car and Fermín the owner of the hotel drove us to the different destinations such as zip lining, white water rafting, El Tabacón the beautiful hot springs, and so on. This was for a small fee but it was definitely worth it. The views are spectacular, and the town is very quaint and welcoming. A beautiful place to stay with so much nature and wildlife. 5 out of 5 stars from me!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2016 by Fher, Hotel Management
Muchas gracias Andrew, estamos para servirle y recuerde cunado regrese a Costa Rica Hotel Castillo del Arenal es su casa. Saludos y abrazo... Fermin Ramirez C
5 out of 5
by Nuria from Mexico

Hotel exclusivo

Posted Jan 8, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel ubicado en la parte alta de la montaña, alejado de zonas pobladas. Si tiene auto para llegar ahí es excelente. Los árboles que rodean las habitaciones cuentan con animales de la región como tucanes y osos hormigueros. Se puede ver el amanecer desde la habitación. Chef Benedict fue muy amable durante la estancia y disfrutamos de buena música y comida.
2 out of 5
by Eduardo from São Paulo

Propaganda enganosa

Posted Dec 30, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel em péssimas condições, chuveiro não funciona, imagens do site em perspectiva para passar impressão positiva. Tive de colocar uma toalha no batente da porta para evitar a entrada de insetos. Localização boa próxima ao vulcão Arenal e em torno de 40 mins de carro de La Fortuna. Não recomendo pois o custo x beneficio é baixo.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from edmonton

Nice views and great staff

Posted Dec 5, 2015
The staff at the hotel were wonderful. The restaurant was great. The downs were that the website says there is hot water and wifi in rooms. If you can have your shower in under 60 seconds then I guess it is true. The wifi was available but only in common areas. The beds were horrible and very uncomfortable. The pillows were also very bad. Would never stay there again because when you are staying in the rainy part of Costa Rica in the mountains a cold shower is not the way I want to wake up. Suicide showers are best suited to beach areas.