Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Location to Beach is excellent.

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: It met our basic needs and provided clean rooms and a restaurant. The location is close to the beach. Staff are friendly.
Cons: Clean up garbage in river beside hotel,
Location: There are surf schools and rental shops in area. There are a few hostels and restaurants too.
Rooms are clean with A/C. Ask for a room with a safe and balcony as not all rooms have these features. Communication in English was difficult with some of the staff but we were able to get our questions answered. The beaches are amazing and you can walk them easily at low tide. During high tide walking is extremely difficult. There is a hotel in front of this hotel so there are no beach views; however in the evening you are in a much quieter location.
5 out of 5
by Kenneth

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Daniela from California

Not what we expected

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
The property is quaint with a well groomed garden but the neighborhood is dodgy even with the presence of a security guard at night. Our room was a good size with a nice shower/good water pressure and the ability to open the windows which we liked. The carpet however was disgustingly dirty with tons of hair (not ours) stuck to both sides. The room was not cleaned during our twonight stay which surprised us. The breakfast was good but not amazing as people been reporting. I did not like the service however. The three people that served as barely smiled and certainly didnt go the extra mile to make one feel welcome or to provide a bit of customer service one would expect from a hotel. I often saw them sit around and watch TV. The area was quiet but on Saturday night we were woken up at 1am by super loud music which was extremely unpleasant keeping us up for over an hour. I will not return nor recommend.
2 out of 5
by Jacqueline from Texas

Suited for really only surfers

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
The Manglar Hotel is located on a surfing beach, and we aren't surfers. We were really just using it as a place to sleep while we explored mountain communities in the region so we weren't expecting much. Our expectations were fulfilled. During our first night's stay, the A/C froze up and our room became a sauna. We left the hotel at 6 am to find some coffee and came back and the A/C was working again. Same thing happened the next night. Thank goodness we were only staying two nights. The people who worked at the Manglar Lodge seemed nice, but we had little interaction with them. The room was clean, but it did smell of fresh paint. The beach is rocky and not suitable for an evening walk. Won't stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Has lost its spark

Posted Apr 26, 2016
We were early arriving , so understood the room was not ready .Told to return in 1 hour .Which we did .The key was thrust at us and no help offered with bags .All rooms are upstairs .The Internet was terrible in the room and the bath room was dirty and so was the passage to the room . We had to ask for coffee / tea making facilities as not in room as advertised .The owner did try to address all these problems but he really needs to step up and do something about them not just give excuses .Hotel is not manned until 0800 so if you have a problem with no electricity during the night you just have to wait .
5 out of 5
by Theresia from Genf

Nice hotel for short weekend break at the beach.

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
Room spacious and comfortable with small balcony. Very close to beach. Enjoyed our stay
4 out of 5
by Fred from Toronto

Nice place

Posted Mar 17, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyed our stay
4 out of 5
by Felice

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 12, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Suheil

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 27, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Kevin from Galveston, Texas

Misleading

Posted Dec 10, 2015 on Hotels
The comode seat was broken and sand was inthe bed, the balcony door didn't shut properly. Breakfest sevice was substanderd and the meat was tuff as leather. d