Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible Hotel. Ruined my vacation. Which one d

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: nothing
Location: too far from beach.
You still havent sent me my second night return. you are double dipping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by owner, Hotel Management
I don't know who you are since you are "anonymous" so please call me about "my second night return?" I only have one expedia guest from these dates and they had a wonderful time (above review).
5 out of 5
by Karen

Posted Aug 29, 2017 on Hotels
The Inn was charming and the hostess, wonderful!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017
Thanks so much, Karen! Please visit again soon!
5 out of 5
by Joyce

Like your fav aunts house!

Posted Aug 6, 2017 on Hotels
The owner is sweet as pie!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017
Hi Joyce, please visit again soon! Thanks for the five star review!
5 out of 5
by Paul

Posted Jul 22, 2017 on Hotels
Nice place
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017
Hi Paul, look forward to your return! Thanks for the five star review! Hugs, Freda and Indy
5 out of 5
by James

Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Hotels
Freda is simply wonderful. We are so glad to make this connection in the garden oasis of San Clemente. She is an excellent cook and very warm and accommodating hostess.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Won't do that again

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
I would not choose San Clemente as a destination again. Very congested and overcrowded. Seal Beach, Dana Point and Santa Barbara are much better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

A Relaxing Getaway

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Freda!
Cons: We are accustomed to a very firm bed--when we mentioned this to Freda, she actually said that she was going to make a change.
Location: Thrift shops and massage, Dana Point Harbor, San Diego Safari Park
We stayed with Freda at the Always Inn for three nights over my wife's Spring Break. Upon arrival, we found that the place looks just as nice as the photos! This is an intimate setting with not many rooms--it does not feel busy or crowded. Still, we enjoyed meeting the other guests--although it's not required, we enjoyed chatting over leisurely and scrumptious breakfasts before setting out for the day. Freda provides a homelike environment and attends to every detail (including snacks and drinks available when desired). The location is great, a quiet side street, with access to restaurants and shopping a block away--on one day, we only got in our car to drive five minutes to the pier for dinner at sunset. We didn't have to worry about a thing--which was just the break that we needed!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spokane, WA

Great Location...disappointing stay.

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: The location is the only positive to this hotel.
Cons: Everything could be improved. The place needs to be cleaner for guests to be staying in. The professionalism of this facility needs a major upgrade.
Location: The San Clemente Pier is only a 1/2 mile away and there is a beach trail. The hotel is only blocks away from some of the best restaurants.
As a former resident of San Clemente, when I saw the location of the Always Inn San Clemente, I couldn't help but be ecstatic. It is in the heart of downtown San Clemente, and a close walk to the beach and many of my favorite restaurants. When I called to check in a few hours earlier, the owner Freda was kind and more than happy to have our room ready for us. When we arrived to check in Freda was not there but kindly messaged my husband and I to settle into our room. As we were walking in the housekeeper was walking out of our room and the toilet was running, yet there were no cleaning products in her hands. Its safe to assume she had just used our toilet in our already "ready" room. Not the best first impression. However we decided to be patient because the location was unbeatable. We stayed a total of five nights, and by the second night I wanted to leave. No doubt, Freda is very nice, however the facility is extremely unprofessional. There are a total of three rooms and you can hear everything, so there is little to no privacy. Additionally we ran out of toilet paper and there was none to be found and no workers to ask for any. Also, during our stay the house was being "DE cluttered." There was a lady helping the owner clean out rooms and throw away items that were no longer necessary. The main fridge was thawing out indoors for several days, with the food just sitting in front of it. This place all together was not clean, and very unprofessional.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 8, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels