Ratings based on 661 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles, ca

cheap, close to town

Posted Oct 6, 2017
this hotel was a good price and wasn’t a far drive from the beach. you can easily access downtown by car. the staff were friendly and the pool was nice and quiet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxnard, CA

Nice hotel close to beach.

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Disappointed with facilities, carpet wet in room, spa not functioning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Close to the beach but $$$ for what it is.

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: Location near the 5 and the beach and a short drive to downtown San Clemente, ample parking, not too loud.
Cons: Needs to be cleaner, updated and better bed. Better breakfast and coffee quality.
Location: Beach is close, but you need to drive or be prepared for a decent hike. Breakfast and Dining options are not good within walking distance.
Nice location near San Clemente State Beach and Calafia Beach. Not close enough to walk unless you are up it, would be easy with a bike but walking carrying chairs, cooler and etc, not so much. We had no problems finding parking at Calafia which is paid parking. Parking is ample and well lit, the hotel is clean for the most part, but we found our room to be somewhat dated with worn out furniture, dirty carpet, leaking toilet and in need of some updating and/or repairs. Also they inventory the towels they give you and will charge you if any are missing, upon check-in we noticed some missing towels that had to be requested from housekeeping who had to be tracked down. Also had several flies and gnats in our room, I think housekeeping keeps the door It was an expensive stay and weekends are higher, but being near the beach I guess it's hard to complain? Do not expect it to match other hotels in other areas apples to apples. Room was somewhat quiet, aside from people next to us or across the hall slamming their door or walking around above us with heavy feet, we were on the ground floor backside of the hotel, it's possible the rooms facing the 5 might experience more road noise from passing traffic. Skipped the free breakfast but tried the coffee, wasn't great and nothing really is nearby that is good or within a short walk. Nor are there any great restaurants within walking distance for Lunch or Dinner. Suggest Antoine's Cafe in Downtown San Clemente for Breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room small for 4 people; safe not secured!

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Staff pleasant and accommodating. Elevator slow & door sensor undependable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
There was a roach in my bathroom that I killed for you. It's always nice to share a room with another pest. The air conditioner did not work, probably because it was 1000 years old. I tried to heat up some food in the microwave that clearly doesn't work. Most uncomfortable bed I had ever slept on, like sleeping on asphalt. Didn't go to front desk because I got in a 8pm and left at 4:30am. Not worth having to deal with switching from one grungy room to another, as it took a good twenty minutes to simply check me in. Luckily, I didn't get any sleep either. THANK YOU!!!!!! I will not be staying at your hotels any longer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's a little tired

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
Closest hotel to surfer beach farthest from downtown. A long walk to nicer restaurants and pubs. The property is old with problems like missing knobs on ac, ac that doesn't work great. Bathroom fan doesn't work well .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kauai

Closest to lower trestles

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Not only is this hotel closest to the sight of surfing America national championships, it is also the nicest of the larger lodges in town. Free breakfast is a major plus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel beautiful area.

Posted Jun 23, 2017
traveled alone to San Clemente and found comfort suits a wonderful hotel. Staff very kind and rooms affordable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Close to beach

Posted Jun 16, 2017
Older hotel that has been remodeled. Room was a little small, but clean. Hotel staff not very helpful when we asked directions to the beach. Lots of "rules" listed on a card in the room that were not advertised.
3 out of 5
by Justin

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is a bit run down and neglected maintenance wise. Would not take much to improve condition. On a positive note, channel selection was good, particularly for having something for the kids, and the breakfast was good quality. Location requires getting into a car if you want to hit good restaurants or the beach. Wifi was extremely slow.