Ratings based on 545 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Great+spot+for+an+easy+overnight+close+to+the+beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great experience!

Posted Aug 3, 2017
The hotel staff was very kind. They allowed us to check in a little early. The breakfasts were very good, not just donuts and coffee. The room was clean and the pool was warm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oro Valley, AZ

Convenient to Camp Pendleton

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathroom toilets need to be replaced with taller toilets..
We stayed one night. The hotel is comfortable, conveniently located, and serves a good breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Fe

I'd stay again

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, breakfast
Cons: Check in a bit faster
Location: Pier is fairly close. Delivery of variety of foods very simple!
A bit of a wait for check in, but overall a great location and easy on/off I-5
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

One of the better Holiday Express Hotels

Posted Jul 9, 2017
This hotel was well cared for, nice, pool adjacent to the lobby (not too big). Not a bad continental breakfast (eggs, yogurt, cereal, coffee type-of-thing). Our room had a little balcony, good AC (individual unit in the room with a wall control.) It's in the back of a shopping mall and you can't see it when you enter but luckily we saw signs that said "Holiday Express" with an arrow - otherwise you wouldn't know it was there. (Only a driveway at the far end of the shopping center that you can see.) Would definitely stay here again - decent price for the area. It's next to the freeway but it was quiet! Only bad thing was that we were next to the elevator and you could hear some noisy kids in the morning (didn't wake me up but woke up my husband.)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noise

Posted Jul 9, 2017
The people above us were very disruptive all through the night and early hours of the morning I requested that they be moved to another room
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loud and poor location

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: Near shops and restaurants
Walls and floors are very thin so you hear all movement in rooms beside you. Very minimal amenities. Very small pool accommodating few people. Refrigerator was very loud, had to unplug to sleep. Drive entrance signs are poor. Had to navigate through a shopping center to get to hotel. Very limited and tight parking. Staff was ok mostly because there's not much for them to help you with.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C.B.

Good breakfast, good customer service

Posted May 28, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at the Holiday inn, and would definitely stay here again. The hotel is located in a strange place and hard to find. It is behind a Tuesday Morning and .99 store. The hotel staff especially at check in were so nice. We never have someone go out of their way to thank us for staying. The breakfast was good, I especially liked the egg white omelette. The hotel is located near the Outlet Mall. We enjoyed Slap Fish at the Outlet. Slap fish is a casual fish restaurant, we had fish and chips and it was very good. The hotel was about a mile or so from the ocean and we enjoyed the walk along the beach in the mornings. The state beach off Calfina is great and the Salt Creek Beach is also very beautiful, that one, be prepared for a walk up hill after a beach day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Porterville, CA

Very Nice Hotel

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: comfort
Cons: for a smoker, bottom floor access to a outside sitting area or key access to outside to get back in.
Location: I didn't go to far from the hotel, not sure what was around, great for visiting relatives stationed at Marine Base North side.
I only stayed one night king size bed was comfortable, small couch and desk, the place was clean, quiet, breakfast looked great, clean, easy access to freeway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2017
Hotel was undergoing renovations so the lobby had very strong paint fumes- outside of that, everything was great. It was close to our event location, easy access to freeway, and 5 minutes from the beach. The room was clean and very comfortable. Our AC unit was loud, but only on our last night there. We didn't use the pool but our friends did and loved it. I would easily stay here again when visiting family for the weekend.