Ratings based on 558 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beach Weekend

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Went to Cali for a long weekend. The Holiday Inn Express was awesome. From the front desk, to everyone who worked there (seriously!), to the breakfast and pool. Wonderful location and staff. Whoever trains this team is doing a stellar job. Call out to the ladies in the kitchen and in particular Tesh and Kawika at the front desk. You guys are fantastic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Close to beach, close to shops, wasn't too thrilled with breakfast: omelette was processed and tasted like it , bread was dry. Everything else about the hotel was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice motel

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness and friendly staff.
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Spent all our time driving back and forth from the motel to Mission Viejo Hospital, But having been there before, Mission San Juan Capistrano is close
Very difficult to find, but once you do, it is a very nice motel. Spotless and a wonderful, friendly staff. Like most motels in the area, terribly overpriced. We paid $1010.00 for four nights, and the room was typical of a motel room, nothing special. Breakfast was okay, but nothing special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Luton UK

Great Hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: Great free breakfast
Cons: Improve privacy of pool
Location: Good location, easily accessible to beach and outlet shopping from which there is a free bus into town and pier, beach area!
Friendly staff, great amenities, superb free breakfast. Only downside was room view of Freeway ..other than that highly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Great spot for an easy overnight close to the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great experience!

Posted Aug 3, 2017
The hotel staff was very kind. They allowed us to check in a little early. The breakfasts were very good, not just donuts and coffee. The room was clean and the pool was warm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oro Valley, AZ

Convenient to Camp Pendleton

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathroom toilets need to be replaced with taller toilets..
We stayed one night. The hotel is comfortable, conveniently located, and serves a good breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Fe

I'd stay again

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, breakfast
Cons: Check in a bit faster
Location: Pier is fairly close. Delivery of variety of foods very simple!
A bit of a wait for check in, but overall a great location and easy on/off I-5
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

One of the better Holiday Express Hotels

Posted Jul 9, 2017
This hotel was well cared for, nice, pool adjacent to the lobby (not too big). Not a bad continental breakfast (eggs, yogurt, cereal, coffee type-of-thing). Our room had a little balcony, good AC (individual unit in the room with a wall control.) It's in the back of a shopping mall and you can't see it when you enter but luckily we saw signs that said "Holiday Express" with an arrow - otherwise you wouldn't know it was there. (Only a driveway at the far end of the shopping center that you can see.) Would definitely stay here again - decent price for the area. It's next to the freeway but it was quiet! Only bad thing was that we were next to the elevator and you could hear some noisy kids in the morning (didn't wake me up but woke up my husband.)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noise

Posted Jul 9, 2017
The people above us were very disruptive all through the night and early hours of the morning I requested that they be moved to another room