Ratings based on 128 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Windsor, UK

Excellent central location

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Very nice newly refurbished hotel. Good room sizes with all the facilities. Location is minutes from historic area. Very happy with stay overall however I would not recommend booking tours from the hotel i.e. to Sumidero Canyon as we paid 500 pesos each and others on the same tour all paid 300 pesos.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

central clean comfortable expensive

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: It is clean comfortable and centrally located
Hotel Sombre del Agua was central, clean and comfortable It was also quite expensive for a small room that did not include breakfast. I had breakfast there one morning and it was delicious but I was charged 120 pesos. I think that with so many wonderful hotel choices in town that I would not choose this one again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Posted Feb 18, 2016
Great location! Great free breakfast! Beds are a little hard but overall experience was very positive.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Not good for business

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: No music in the common areas that can be heard in the rooms after 10 pm
Nice enough place, with an ideal location. Noise from inside the hotel – music – was a problem when wanting to sleep. The room was kind of cramped, too.
5 out of 5
by martha from Texas

Nice Cozy Hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
GREAT STAFF,VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL. GOOD FOOD ON BUFFET, NICE COZY HOTEL, CLOSE TO EVERYTHING. WE REALLY ENJOYED OUR STAY AND WOULD DEFINITELY GO BACK TO SAME HOTEL!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good deal

Posted Jun 17, 2015 on Hotels
Good price great location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas and Ocozocoautla Chiapas

Older hotel in great location

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Pros: Location and tradition
Cons: More efficient staff and more light in the halls.
Location: Near about everything
We've stayed at the Hotel Espanol (now HI) for many years. The location is great and the hotel is definitely "San Cristobal". Staff at the desk was a bit slow. Our room was hot when we got in and it took a while to get the AC running to cool it off. Otherwise everything was above average for the price.
1 out of 5
by Nilda from Guatemala

NO RECOMENDABLE

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels
Dont stay here! The worst Holiday inn ever
1 out of 5
by Nilda from Guatemala

WORST HOLIDAY INN EVER

Posted Nov 17, 2014 on Hotels
It was the worst experience ever. First if all we arrive at 15:45 and the rooms were not ready yet, even though the check in time was at 15:00. After we asked for a room in the first floor because my mother in law has special needs. They gave us a room right beside the street. By night it was really noisy, music did not stop until 6 in the morning. They did not sleep at all. The rugs and the overall all maintainance look terrible. Gardens in bad conditions. This is the worst Holiday Inn we have stay. I would really like a reinburstment of the money to my credit card. It would have been better to stay in a hostel, rather than paying a lot for a bad sleep.
5 out of 5
by thomas from Antigua, Guatemala

Beautiful, quiet and well located!

Posted Nov 15, 2014 on Hotels
We visited San Cristobal for a weekend getaway and this hotel was perfect. Beautiful hotel, clean with friendly and helpful staff, quiet and safe parking a short walk away. The location is wonderful for walking around town and enjoying the sites and the shopping as well as the excellent restaurants.