Ratings based on 852 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Jenine

Overnight in Downtown San Diego

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
Nice boutique hotel in a great location in the middle of the Gaslamp District. Park your car and you won't need to move it again. Check in/out was easy and quick. All staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel and rooms are neat, clean and comfortable. Roof top bar is very cool. We would absolutely stay there again if in San Diego.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Maria, CA

Boutique Hotel Close to Everything

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: Cool vibe. The rooftop deck has amazing views, an awesome fire pit, good but limited food menu, and super friendly wait staff.
Cons: No hot water in bathroom sink. Hot water took forever to get to shower and it was very wasteful to have to run water for at least 2 minutes.
Location: Balboa Park is amazing! An absolute must. Several museums, an arboretum, plaza with sparking fountain, cactus and rose gardens. Urban gem!
I had a corner room on the second floor and it was very noisy (traffic, people exiting hotel and coming up from Gaslamp district when bars closed. The room was dated (they are redoing all the rooms) but very clean. The housekeeping was excellent. They restocked the free water and the Keurig cups for the in-room coffee maker daily. The wifi was not very good if you like to stream music or need to upload/download files (slow as heck). Nice Samsung wall mount flat screen with excellent reception and decent channel selection. If you want a good deal, book now. Once they get all the rooms re-done I imagine the rates are going to go way up. Overnight parking rate at hotel is $45 per day so I would suggest leaving car behind and either flying taking train to avoid that. Lyft cars are great and inexpensive. Ask for an interior room or a higher floor to avoid street noise.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Dissapointing

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
I really wanted to like this hotel, as other Andaz locations are like a dream come true. The bed was really terrible, it felt like an air mattress. The really beautiful amazing shower with two shower heads in the king suite only had enough water pressure for a trickle from one of the heads, and then after showering, the water dripped all night long. The drunk and homeless people outside were screaming and yelling into the wee hours of the morning, and the elevator smelled like vomit. Also, there are no potty spots for your furry friends near by, so bring tennis shoes so you can walk a long way through sketchy dark streets to get to the park. The kitchen staff was also sleeping on the roof top lounge couches at the bar which was incredibly unprofessional. I only paid a fraction of the cost for this hotel so I can't be that upset, but I feel really bad for anyone who stayed here and paid full price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is / was under construction

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was under construction - presumably why the price per night was quite low for an Andaz. Loud pile driving during the daytime that shook the walls! Without the construction, would have been a 4.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and good staff

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Overall was good but just a bit to noisy in early mornings
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location but Hotel is Going Downhill

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
This used to be a great hotel with a wine bar and excellent service. Now the wine bar is gone, and we had a horrible sewage smell in our room the whole time. The hotel sent up a handy man but nothing was fixed. When we checked out, the man at the front desk just said they'd look in to it before the next guests arrived. Not worth spending the big bucks here anymore!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel close to dining/clubbing destinations

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Use windows with better soundproof effect!
The hotel is in a great location if you are a fan of clubs and restaurants. It also has a fancy rooftop bar which gets really busy in the evening. However, this location also means too much noise, especially during weekend nights. We stayed on the 4th floor, went to bed at 1AM on Saturday but couldn't fall asleep until 3AM ish because of the noise downstairs.