Ratings based on 851 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017
Very nice hotel in the prime location of Gaslamp. Loved the rooftop area. Will definitely be back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware of Valet Charges

Posted May 5, 2017
I would not recommend this hotel because the valet charges are the highest I have seen at any hotel throughout the nation. They charge $49/night and this is a surprise when you check in. Self parking is an option but is several blocks away. The valet is also very slow. I won't stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2017
Great service, comfortable beds, nice rooftop and location, overall wonderful experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel in vibrant Gaslamp area.

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Staff very helpful. Rooftop pool excellent and well maintained.
Location: Great location for Gaslamp but bordering a less desirable area with many homeless. Walkable to seafront and lots of good bars and restaurants.
Disappointed that there was no compensation (such as a voucher towards a future stay at a Hyatt hotel) for the overnight power outage that took out the air con, wifi, lighting etc. Room clean but very small and there was a lot of noise from homeless at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near the city centre

Posted Apr 7, 2017
The only problem was a lack of space to store your clothes
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent hotel but very noisy at the weekends

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Great rooms, very clean
Cons: The noise and the customer service, however I must stress that all other members of staff were excellent it was just the man who checked me out
Location: The location is good, not great due to the homeless people that are camped 1 block over, however they never caused any trouble.
Great hotel but as part of the refurbishment they should have put in double glazed windows especially as the main complain from customers is about the noise. Also, the customer service needs improving, on checking out all that the man said was " you are good to go"; he did not inquire whether I enjoyed my stay and that he would be pleased to see me again, it appeared that he could not get rid of me quick enough.
2 out of 5
by John

Can't sleep - Thin windows

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
Went to this hotel expecting great things as I had read great things about it. To its credit, the staff is friendly and courteous as was expected. The rooms are abnormally small and leave you wondering if they meet local fire codes. The worst thing about the hotel is that its windows are NOT double pane. As a result, I was up until 4 am listening to local drunks outside talking as well as cars driving by.
3 out of 5
by Ehsan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, Bay Area

Nice location in Downtown San Diego

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The hotel has a boutique feel with upscale clientele. I enjoyed the roof-top facilities the most, especially in the evenings and on the weekends.
Cons: The hotel is going through a remodel on some floors so my assumption is that improvement is already underway.
Location: The hotel is centrally located to the more common Sand Diego attractions like the zoo, the beaches are not too far and the airport is 5 minutes away.
This hotel turns a boring business trip into an event. Each evening I would enjoy the facilities on the roof-top where there is a full scale view of downtown San Diego. The bar, swimming pool and fire pits provide an extra ambience with all the amenities of an outdoor lounge. There is a DJ on Friday and Saturday evenings which create a festive, upscale feel different than the downtown Gaslamp district venues. I love this place!
5 out of 5
by Jenine

Overnight in Downtown San Diego

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
Nice boutique hotel in a great location in the middle of the Gaslamp District. Park your car and you won't need to move it again. Check in/out was easy and quick. All staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel and rooms are neat, clean and comfortable. Roof top bar is very cool. We would absolutely stay there again if in San Diego.