Ratings based on 4,058 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Disappointing.

Posted May 22, 2017
The rooms had ugly decor; darkish rugs, sofas, furnishings. The noise of other guests was an unhappy surprise. The patio was not secluded. No AC in bedroom. The beach was not as free of litter as I would have liked. However, the staff was very pleasant, except for the cafe hostess. All in all, it was not worth the cost. Have enjoyed nicer stays for less elsewhere.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only book Direct

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: The free parking is unusual for San Diego
Cons: Train the staff better . Refurbish the hotel. Clean the rooms better.
Location: Location close to old Mexican town and mission beach
Booked a studio with a bay view. Put in the oldest building 5 stories high directly across from the lobby. This is an old decrepit building with worn low ceiling tiles, stained carpeting, a dirty elevator and ruined wallpaper. The smell is really bad in the halls and the room reeked of rancid cooking oil. The view was over a parking lot with a road between the room and the water. 18 wheeler trucks were parked on the road and they were very loud. We arrived at 4 and all the other rooms were taken. We were told we booked through a third party were and this is what happens ??? Then they gave us a complimentary bay tour on a steamboat which looked really nice. It ran every hour from 6:30 so we waited at the bar ( only place opened ) until then. The bar serves only 1 kind of white wine by the glass and it was not good. They do serve around 20 beer choices but I don't like beer. After a 2 hour wait we went to the boat and were told it only ran weekends. What .... I went back to the reception and the staff all thought it was funny that he gave me the coupon and it was the wrong day . The boat did go out that night but for a private party. The only plus was free parking. The $18. breakfast was a cold buffet equal to what you get for free at many roadside hotels .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atascadero, ca

Great hotel in a perfect location.

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Location and accommodations
Cons: Could use some updates
Location: Rays bike rentals, beach access
Hotel is in a great location. The rooms are very large, balconies are spacious with great views. The hotel staff are friendly and professional. The hotel bar has a nice selection of cocktails. The best part is they still have old fashion room service. So many other hotels have sub par room service where the meals are delivered in paper containers and plastic utensils. The Bahia still has real utensils and dishes. Service was quick and delicious. They have both health and decedent menu options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno, Ca

Nice Hotel

Posted May 18, 2017
Great hotel near the beach. Lots of activities around and in the hotel. Room was very clean and had lots of amenities. The staff was quick and very polite. Will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ca

Private beach area and ferry rides

Posted May 17, 2017
Only spent one night here, but there was plenty of free entertainment. Spent the whole stay exploring the resorts amenities, taking the free ferry ride to the sister resort, walking on the private beach, and watching the rescue seals swim around. There was also live music available, tennis courts, shuffle board, and of course the pool and jacuzzi.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by The Bahia Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for the wonderful comments. We pride ourselves as a hotel that offers value and we are so glad you were able to enjoy our free boat cruise. We hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Nice hotel with quiet beach view.

Posted May 17, 2017
We loved playing tennis and relaxing on the jacuzzi. The property is so peaceful and quiet, we loved staying inside. The rooms are super clean, loved waking up to the beach view and beds are comfy. With the affordable price, we got everything we wanted!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location to Pacific and Mission beaches.

Posted May 15, 2017
The hotel is close to the beaches but is dated on the inside. It is a unique location and setting which makes up for the older rooms. we did get upgraded on check into a larger room on a higher floor in the tower so that was a plus
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Heaperia, CA

Nice hotel, has a private beach

Posted May 13, 2017
The hotel is great. Has a private beach and so many activities available for guest
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chino, Ca

Great Location!

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Location, tropical feel, friendly staff.
Cons: Bed was very hard and uncomfortable.
Location: Sea world, zoo and lots to do in San Diego area. Location is perfect right on private beach.
We loved the Bahia Resort. The location to all San Diego attractions was perfect. The room was recently remodeled, nicely appointed and very clean. Pool and beach are very nice. Lots of water sports and rentals available on site. The staff was very welcoming and friendly. A really pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surprise, az

We absolutely loved it!!

Posted May 9, 2017
perfect location, quit private beach, great for anyone, quick walk to mission bay shops and restuarants, we will be back again!!