Ratings based on 2,143 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Do Not Stay Here

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything
Location: Shelter Island is cool, but do not stay here.
This place is barely worth a 1 star rating. It's old and in disrepair. We walked in the room and walked right back out. We couldn't get a refund but still couldn't stand to stay here. We ate the cost and moved to a different hotel. It may have once been charming, but that was a loooooong time ago.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

San Diego Stay Over

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Standard room will put you on the street side of the hotel. The TV worked except the remote. In general nice but needs to be updated.
Location: You are in the middle of the marina's and support facilities. Across from the bay
Used this hotel as a stay over between a cruise and flight out of town. Nice location and close to airport.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location.Facilities need some upkeep

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Attention to details. No decaf coffee provided in room or coffee bar as desk.
Service in dining room was poor. Dresser in room--drawers did not open and condition was not repaired after report.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Staff was always friendly and helpful during our stay. Easy drive to San Diego and surrounding area. Delicious food at the restaurant.
Location: Quick access from the airport. Enjoyed walking along the bay. Walking to nearby restaurants, dinning on the pier at Fathom Bistro.
Enjoyed our view from the balcony of the bay and San Diego. Staff was always friendly and helpful during our 2nd time staying here. Planning our return trip for next year.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alameda,CA

Wonderful diner and bar, bad hotel.

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Staff, bar/diner.
Cons: Beds.
Location: Marina-adjacent, a very short ride from Seaworld.
The staff, both hotel and diner, were excellent. The restaurant/bar was top notch in quality. I only have two complaints, a stain on the carpet and a bed as tough as plyboard, and that second one's a deal breaker for me. I did not sleep well at all and I woke up sore both nights I was there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ travlers

Wonderful:-)

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Friendly staff and beautiful stay. We can see the downtown across the sea and the lovely colorful buildings during the night. Twas the best stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Centenntial, CO

Great location!

Posted Apr 12, 2017
2nd time staying here. Love this hotel and would recommend! Close to the water, clean, comfortable and helpful, friendly staff. Restaurant and bar in lobby, pool and hot tub overlooking the marina. Very relaxing
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Mike, Hotel Management
Dear Christy, Thank you for your review and repeat visits! be sure to check out our new pool bar on your next visit! Best Regards, Mike Ardelt, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Great location, staff was very nice and helpful

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: it was great all around!
Location: Super convenient...and quiet. A great place to relax by the water.
Jody at the front desk made our stay special by moving our room. It was a special birthday surprise for my hubby! Thanks Jody
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Underwhelming

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Mostly very friendly & helpful staff.
Cons: Offer plywood sheets to the visitors for whom the way-too-soft mattresses are way too soft.
Location: There are lots of boats to look at, but apparently, no hardware stores from which to buy plywood for firming up the way too soft beds.
We paid almost 800 for 3 nights, on Expedia. I'm not a frequent traveler to San Diego, so I don't know what that amount ought to get me, in that area. What I DID get was a bed that was far softer than my bed at home; which gave me a very poor night's sleep on night #1 and a significant amount of body ache's and pain. My wife also slept poorly, due to the softness of the mattress. I spoke with Eric, at the front desk, asking whether the hotel might have any rooms with firmer beds. He didn't know. Given my lack of interest in another poor night's sleep, I asked Eric about checking pout early so that we could find a hotel where we might get a firmer bed. Eric said "I don't have the authority to let you check out early, with a refund. You DID book the room via Expedia....", as if to say "WE didn't want to book the room through a re-seller! YOU forced us to do so and now you're STUCK with your decision!" I ended up taking the sofa cushions and the 2 arm chair cushions, laying them out on the floor, and throwing a couple of king-sized sheets on them. I slept a lot better on the floor, on night #2 and #3. The room smelled stale and musty, like a closet at Grandma's house. There aren't any ice machines, so you have to get ice from the restaurant, or bar tender, or the desk staff. When they have time. The staff that I dealt with were between fair, and excellent. Aside from the horrible sleep due to the soft bed, it's was a 3.5-star out of 5. Given the horrible bed, it was a 2.5
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Great place to stay

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Convenience, views, room
Cons: They were a little short staffed when we ate dinner there.
Location: Shelter island
We had a marina view and it was just beautiful. We had traveled from East coast to West coast, and this was the 6th hotel in a week, and we did not want to leave this one. It was awesome. The room was great and the location was awesome. Everything was very convenient. I am looking forward to coming back for another stay.