Ratings based on 988 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Simi Valley

Great value, quiet, close to the border

Posted May 22, 2017
Booked a room for 2 nights, 1 bed (2 people). Late check-in was no problem, room was clean (couch had minor staining, bed did not and towels were cleaned as well). No bugs or odors. A/C unit worked as expected. Shower was very nice "rainfall" type of unit, not high pressure but effective and good for taller people. Curtains were clean. Surprisingly nice firework (not sure why I thought it was worth mentioning, but there you are). Free breakfast consists of waffles, cold cereal (3 choices), oatmeal (with fixins), danishes and bagels, muffins, juice, coffee, and the most surprising (but maybe not because it's close to Tijuana), chilaquiles with fresh chopped jalapenos and onions/cilantro. Totally worth it. About 15-20 minutes away from GasLamp district, and 5 minutes from downtown Chula Vista. Grounds are nice, plants are maintained and janitorial/housekeeping crew are pleasant and smiling. 4/5, would recommend and return. Did not get a 5 because this is not a luxury hotel. Few accommodations, but well-maintained makes this a no frills, best bang for you buck type of place. If you need fancy (and double the price), go to the Marriott. Otherwise, this place should satisfy all but the most demanding of guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

A Pleasant Surprise near the Tijuana Border

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: People from all over the U.S. come to stay when they go to Mexico to receive medical care.
Location: Shopping, restaurants, and the U.S. -Mexico border
After checking out early from our original hotel due to how much we were disappointed, checking in and staying here at the BW was a breathe of fresh air. The desk clerk, Claudia was nice, friendly, and has a good personality. We had a nice conversation. She even remembered and greeted us the next day. The room was nice, clean, and comfortable. We appreciated all the electrical outlets. Although we did not have time to use the pool or Jacuzzi, The pool, Jacuzzi , and pool area was clean. Parking was convenient. This hotel is close to shopping, restaurants, the border, and freeway. It is also convenient for those going to get medical care in Tijuana. We will definitely stay here again on our future travels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice, secure and clean hotel

Posted May 1, 2017
Nice hotel, very clean and safe, breakfast is really good, staff is friendly. It's a little bit loudly if your room is close to the breakfast room. Close to shopping (America Oullets) and also very near from the border with Tijuana. The hotel is near some convenient fast food restaurants. I really like this hotel, this is my third stay in this hotel. I strongly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west covina ca

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Excellent stay rooms were nicely cleaned and nice customer service would definitely stay here again. The hotel is close to the border but in a nice areas
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee

Pleasant and Convenient

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: Staff was providing, the breakfast, and room comforts.
Cons: Surprisingly, the room alarm clock was flashing when I came checked in and turned out to be broken. This should have been noticed before I checked in
Location: Close top many fast food restaurants and gas stations. One block from the main hwy ( hwy 5) on ramp and two blocks from the off ramp.
Visually, a pleasant southern California look and style w/the grounds kept up nicely. Room was clean and welcoming noticing all the conveniences like the large tv w/remote, microwave w/coffees and teas, in room sink, ironing board w/iron, plus various other comforts I didn't use but could be important travel needs for others. Rather than use bar soaps and create waste w/unused bar, they have liquid soaps and shampoo dispensers installed in the shower w/a huge shower nozzle (great coverage !). The queen size bed was very comfortable w/4 pillows provided. The complementary breakfast was the best w/ all the basics..great coffee/cereals, waffle making needs/fruits/breads n bakery/juices and more eaten inside or outside in their umbrella'd dining new courtyard. I could have asked for more, but, I was supplied with everything I wanted or needed. They also used paper products for cups and bowls which made me feel good, steering away from plastics. All round a positive feel w/a 4 star rating and reasonable value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Very nice for this price range - would return.

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: Beds were comfortable, cleanliness, pool, hot tub, gym, breakfast was good. Close to I 5 and San Diego but quiet. Staff let us check in early.
Cons: For this price I can't think of anything other than, if there was space to do so, making the gym a bit bigger. Overall an excellent place to stay.
Location: We stayed here to visit a friend in Imperial Beach so weren't looking for things next to the hotel. It's very close to San Diego and the beach.
Clean, comfortable, nice pool and hot tub. Small gym is clean. Breakfast was very good. Quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by Reyna Fitch General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience ,and we are glad you had a comfortable stay, and our goal its to provide clean and comfortable accommodations along with exceptional service, and I am pleased we delivered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LosAngeles

Nice and cozy

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Nice and cozy and rather quiet even though it's right by the freeway. Very spacious and clean room. Delicious breakfast with chilaquiles! Would definitely stay here again even if it's further out from downtown San Diego, but it's worth it to be comfortable and cozy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Tijuana convenient

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Stay was good. Will stay there when traveling to Mexico.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by Reyna Fitch General Manager, Hotel Management
thank you for your feedback we appreciate your comments and rating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from g.p. los angeles

Nice hotel!

Posted Mar 8, 2017
We just stay a night and it was perfect for that. Very polite staff, check in was easy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonds WA

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Clean hotel, nice amenities, and very friendly staff.