Ratings based on 348 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from V

Nice hotel close to where we were going

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Friendly staff, held a conversation during check in since it took awhile. Got upgraded. Free breakfast!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and clean

Posted Jun 25, 2017
We stayed two nights, and enjoyed our stay. It is a clean, well maintained hotel. We didn't really like the breakfast, but it is included and offers all the standards, which can be expected for the price. It was good value, and we arrived a bit earlier and still received a nice room right away, which we really appreciated.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Simple Place to Stay

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Pros: The service.
Cons: Cleanliness.
Location: There's a 24 hour Mexican drive-thru only 5 minutes away, just yelp it!
All we needed was an accommodating place to stay for 6 people for the weekend and this Best Western is only 20 minutes from San Diego. Each time we needed to speak to the person at the front desk, they were friendly, efficient and polite, whether it was questions or requests for towels, etc. The room itself is a very basic room with 2 beds and a sofa bed, kitchen area and restroom. It was perfect to stay besides the fact that we killed at least 4 spiders in 2 days. I would not stay at a Best Western again but this being my first time, it was not bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Nice hotel; less than 10 minutes from SDSU

Posted May 19, 2017
The room was clean and the sheets were comfy. I didn't hear any of the freeway noise. The breakfast was good; they had a lot of variety.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Staff was argumentative initially before being willing to accommodate me. My company was booking 4 rooms for 4 families that needed to be temporarily relocated. They were unwilling to do early check-in or even attempt to do an early check-in.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel poor area

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was nice, cleanliness is definitely important here. Overall facility was clean, room was decent, breakfast tasted good. Front desk offered extended checkout which was nice and I was able to print from the pritner without hassle. The drapes cpuld have been longer(touching the floor) the light spread through the bottoms pervasively, printer needed ink as well, tv service was very poor only a few channels, . Great building and service overall would attend again. For what we paid I would expect better internet and at least basic cable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from imperial, ca

Really nice hotel close to freeway, good eats

Posted Apr 6, 2017
My stay eas very relax. The room eas spacious and had refrigerator and microwave. They also serve breakfast, it was great. Ut was a great stay. Thanks Best Western Cimtinental Inn.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is in a shady area of El Cajon. It smelled pretty bad. Like they were trying to cover up another smell. Drain plug didn't work for the tub. Carpet was vacuumed, but felt dirty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2017
I apologize that we did exceed your expectations. We are one of the safer properties in the area with several cameras and our night auditors also do rounds throughout the night. regarding a smell and the carpet feeling dirty, did you mention this to the front desk? We would have have done whatever necessary to make sure you were happy with your stay if you had let us know at check in. Thank You
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara, Ca

It has seen better days...

Posted Mar 25, 2017
This is an old motel that has been painted and cleaned up a bit. They were doing construction in the part I was in - which is older and closer to the freeway. At check in asked for a 'quiet' room - and she placed in the a second floor near freeway. Noisy due to freeway and nearby gas station, construction, unsecure steps to second floor (part of the construction). Room - okay. Had problems getting hot water for shower in the am. Evening staff not very friendly or welcoming. Checkout/Morning staff very pleasant. Probably will not stay here again. The price was higher than other budget motels in this area so I thought it would be nicer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2017 by ed, Hotel Management
Hello Jim, On behalf of the entire staff, I apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Regarding the room situation, When you book a standard single room, the rooms are all in the building next to the highway. Best Western requires upgrades at times and we try to restrict the noise as much as possible by starting later ending earlier. Regarding the water issue, the owners have been made aware and we are waiting on updates of this issue. Thank you, Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ed at the front, was very accommodating.

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: The bed.
Location: Near downtown El Cajon where there are many restaurants
I had just lost my fiancé to cancer that day and Ed was kind to me in the best room he had. Helix suite. It was clean and the bedding was comfortable.