Ratings based on 2,029 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

BW Hacienda

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Started with Check-in, learned it was going to be an additional $19 a night for parking. I can understand there is a charge for parking but it would've been nice to know that while booking the room and not to find out at the last minute while checking in. I asked if there was Wi-Fi and if so if there's a password. They said yes and gave me the password but for the entire length of my stay I was never able to login to the Wi-Fi to get any of my work done while at the hotel. The best part was waking up the first night when just past midnight the fire alarms were going off throughout the entire complex. It took them at least 30 to 45 minutes to figure out how to shut them off meanwhile everybody is walking around outside confused and slightly panicked wondering what's going on. What a joke this place was.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, Utah

Parking space too small and narrow

Posted Jun 3, 2017
First of all the parking area sucks! Its too small and the stalls are narrow! No room to get out of your car after you park. Unless you have a mini cooper. Room smelled like mold and was hard to breath in!! Definitely NOT worth paying over two hundred dollars!! I would NOT recommend staying at this hotel! Save your money!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very convenience location

Posted May 31, 2017
We booked a suite for our family and would say "we love it!" I would highly recommend to everyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Decent Hotel, Great Location

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Perfect location.
Cons: Modernizing the hotel just a bit.
If you're looking for an affordable hotel in San Diego with a great location then definitely book this hotel. It's located in Old Town San Diego so you're central to anywhere you want to go; whether it's DTSD, Balboa Park, Pacific Beach, Hillcrest, etc. Another plus is that it's located in Old Town, so you have plenty of restaurant to choose from that are walking distance! The hotel itself seems a little out-dated, but that was not a big deal for me. They also gave me a complimentary drink for my stay. Oh and one more thing! Do not pay for parking! There is plenty of parking space on Juan St. Don't remember seeing any restrictions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

San Diego Getaway

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Include parking as part of a getaway package or parking maybe less expensive.
Location: Old Town, Sea World, Zoo, Fabulous Food!!!
Fabulous trip. Hotel was amazing and being in Old Town spent a day just eating and exploring the town on Saturday. Hotel is 10 minutes from Sea World which we did on Sunday and 20 minutes from Movie Theater which we did on Monday. This is definitely our new Hotel of choice as the price and location were perfect!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Northern Arizona

Multi-cultural experience like no other.

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: The location and the decor. The architectural structure was beautiful and the peaceful ambience was much needed.
Cons: Be careful of rude Hispanic guitarist. When he discovered we were not Hispanic, he called us "bobosa" in Spanish. That means "stupid". Not cool.
Location: We had a real certified mortician give us a tour regarding ghosts, historic graveyards. We learned about the Mormon Battalion and ate too much!
Historical events about Old Town and the various cultures and religions were tastefully and sensitively shared by interesting characters. Our hotel staff was incredibly friendly and kind. The price we paid we incredibly economical and we will definitely use this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2017
Convenient location and very nice rooms. There is street parking so you really don't need to pay extra to park at the hotel!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fresno, CA

higher expectations

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: The pool and BBQ area.
Cons: Better workout machines in the fitness room.
Location: Old town and beach were near by.
The hotel was centrally located near all attractions. The outlets did not work and a couple of the light fixtures were out. The sink did not drain.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Dean Featherstone, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay! While happy to hear you felt the warm responsiveness of our staff, I’m sorry for the outlet issues. In the event this happens again, let the front desk know right away. We’ll review your suggestions for how we can improve the hotel. We update the rooms as needed and always take guest feedback into consideration. We hope to welcome you again soon!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2017
Room had a weird smell, sheets were stained and there were black spiders everywhere. No cable
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2017 by Dean Featherstone, Hotel Management
Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you encountered when staying with us. This is disappointing to hear and very atypical of the gracious service we’re known for. While we’re looking into what happened with your reservation, I can assure you we do everything in our power to avoid this kind of situation. We do hope you won’t let this uncommon experience deter you from giving us another chance to win your loyalty. Please feel free to reach out to our leadership team through the front desk if we can assist you further. Thank you again for being our guest!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from El Centro

Nice Hotel in the Heart of Old Town

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Location, spacious room, and welcome drinks
Location: It's right in the middle of Old Town San Diego.
We got a nice jackpot and had a room right next to our parking space. The room is huge. Service is great. The bed is comfortable. Bathroom is old (but it's expectable, given that it is located in "Old Town"). With our stay, the hotel gave a coupon for 2 free welcome drinks (which is Margarita at Tequila Factory - Awesome!)