Ratings based on 2,864 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas,TX

Nice downtown location.

Posted May 3, 2017
Nice boutique hotel with great downtown location at an affordable price. Does not have the all the bells and whistles of more expensive luxury hotel but is priced is not priced like a luxury hotel either. Overall great stay and would recommend to others.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Debra, Hotel Management
Hi Tyler, Thank you so much for your 4-star review! We love hearing that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we thank you for recommending us to others; that is music to our ears! We hope to see you back at the Bristol again sometime soon! Warmest regards and safe travels, Debra Sanderlin, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Great Hotel

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Location, spacious rooms, friendly staff
Location: Close to Gaslamp district and Horton Plaza Shops
We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. Great little boutique hotel; nice spacious rooms, comfortable beds and great friendly staff. Would definitely recommend this hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by Debra, Hotel Management
Hi Greg, Thank you so much for your kind comments and we are so happy to know you had an enjoyable stay with us! We really appreciate you having taken the time to provide this review, and it's great to hear that you found your room comfortable and our location convenient. The best part was reading that our staff were friendly and that you would recommend the Bristol. Music to our ears! We hope your future travels might include another visit to downtown San Diego, and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again . Warmest regards, Debra Sanderlin, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location and professional staff

Posted Apr 24, 2017
The location is great - easy walk to Gaslamp, Little Italy, among other fun areas. Rooms were spacious and clean. The hotel staff was very polite and accommodating - we had an issue that required us to need a different room and the staff had a new key at our door with help to carry our bags within a few minutes of requesting. There is some street noise at night, but nothing I wouldn't expect from any city. They do provide ear plugs. Overall, great place. I would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Debra, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your recent stay and for taking the time to provide this 4-star review! We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found our staff to be polite and accommodating. We sure hope you will be back again sometime soon; we look forward to welcoming you once again! Warmest regards and safe travels, Debra Sanderlin, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Cute boutique hotel

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Cons: The only down side I found was the parking, quite expensive.
Location: LIttle Italy
I am obsessed with boutique hotels lately. So I decided to give this one a try. Loved it. Very cute, comfortable. Not too small like some boutique hotels are in Europe. The staff was very friendly. I thought the location was perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Debra, Hotel Management
Hi Lillie! Thanks so much for giving us a try, and we are so happy to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! We are glad to know you love boutique hotels, and we sure hope you will consider making the Bristol Hotel your downtown San Diego boutique hotel of choice. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon! Warmest regards, Debra Sanderlin, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, excellent location

Posted Apr 24, 2017
My friend and I stayed here for two nights and had a great experience from the start. We arrived Friday morning at 1030, planning on just dropping off our luggage and exploring until we could check in. We were pleasantly surprised when we were actually able to check in that early. We had also booked a king size bed, and they were able to change it to two doubles instead. The receptionist (I wish I remembered his name!) was very helpful, professional, and pleasant to work with. The location of the hotel is excellent! Lots of shopping nearby, and about a 10-15 minute walk to the gas lamp quarter. We went to a Padres game and were able to walk there easily, under a mile away. The only time we had to drive anywhere was when we headed to the beach for the day, even then it was only a $10 Uber ride away. Our room was comfortable, clean, and quiet. I will definitely stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Debra, Hotel Management
Hi Stacie! Thank you so much for your review! It's so great to read about your experience, and we are so pleased to know that our staff were helpful and that you enjoyed your stay with us. The best part is hearing that you will stay with us again; that is music to our ears! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Warmest regards, Debra Sanderlin, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delano Ca

Perfect location for shopping

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Staff was great, cleaning lady was amazing. Great location. Near mall, places to dine and night clubs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Debra, Hotel Management
Hi Lizz! Thank you so much for your 5-star review!! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind comments about your room attendant; I will be sure to pass them along. We hope you will make the Bristol Hotel your downtown boutique hotel of choice, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Warmest regards, Debra Sanderlin, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Only downside is there was no free parking. Only Valet and there is no street parking so you pretty much have to pay for parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Debra, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your 4-star review! It's great to know you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We want to assure you that we understand how parking fees can increase our guests' travel costs, so we are committed to keeping our valet parking rate lower than all surrounding hotels. We hope to see you back at the Bristol soon! Warmest regards, Debra Sanderlin, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las vegas

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Rooms are nice, walking distance to restaurants, mall, shops.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Debra, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review! We are really happy to see that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found our downtown location to be convenient. We hope to see you back at the Bristol again sometime soon! Warmest regards, Debra Sanderlin, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Easy and Convenient

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Staff, Room, and Pillows.
Cons: It excells at its niche. Well done.
Location: Very convenient location.
A quick, easy walk to the convention center, gas lamp, and plenty of resturants. Staff was very accomodating and very professional. I apparently messed up my reservation with wrong dates, and the staff worked to extend my stay and cut me a deal on rate. Room was as comfortable as many much more expensive places. BEST PILLOWS EVER.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by Debra, Hotel Management
Dear Shawn, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide this review. We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and our downtown location, and that our staff were accommodating and professional during your visit. We think the beds and pillows are super comfy, too! We sure hope you will be back again soon - we look forward to welcoming you back! Warmest regards, Debra Sanderlin, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Nice hotel depending on room pick

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: Walking distance to Gaslamp district, Seaport Village, little Italy. Close to airport.
Hotel is nice, very centrally located to Gaslamp district, little Italy, Seaport Village all in walking distance. However, our room was facing Main Street. There was a lot of noise at night. When you see earplugs near bed you know you are in trouble. Our third night the road crew decided to begin roadwork at 11:30pm! The entire night was jack hammering, and construction truck noise. Asked to change our rooms in the morning and luckily they only had one room on the opposite side of the hotel. The noise level was much better. So beware when booking and choose your room wisely!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by Debra, Hotel Management
Dear Lori, Thank you so much for your recent stay, and for your review and feedback. We are so sorry about the City's road construction, which they decided to complete all night long the weekend of your stay with us. It affected everyone in the area and we truly understand how upsetting that had to have been. I wish we could have some input as to when and how they schedule the roadwork, but unfortunately we can't and we are so sorry it affected your recent stay with us. We hope that (other than the roadwork!) you did enjoy the Bristol and your guest room, and that you might have an opportunity to stay with us another time in the near future. Thank you and warmest regards, Debra Sanderlin, General Manager