Ratings based on 383 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location, location, location and nothing else!

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: Not much
Cons: Everything in the "gracious"department
Location: This place only has location! Period!
People skills here are non-existent. The most unwelcoming place I have ever stayed at. I am a world traveler and this bnb in America is an embarrassment! They do not even try! I had to ask for bottled water in my room...the sheets had holes in them! The building is attractive and Historical...I had to ASK for the history which was printed up for me. The continental breakfast is shoved in the corner near an adjacent table..almost like an afterthought! The front desk, if you want to call it that, is a disgrace, It consists of a table with a huge computer screen, When someone on staff sits there in a corner. you can barely see them, consequently, you are never welcomed or greeted ever. This was the coldest, uncordial hotel ever! Room did not have lamps alongside bed for reading.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique hotel close to Balboa Park

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Very unique and comfortable.
Cons: The gardening needs to be spruced up and the front and back water fountain are rusted and don't have any running water.
Location: Walking distance to Balboa Park. It is about 2 miles away from the Gaslamp District and about 1 mile from Little Italy.
Very pleasant experience. It was a unique and charming hotel. The hostess was kind and explained everything clearly and was helpful. The room was clean and very comfortable. The inside of the hotel was beautiful. Great photo op. We were in the gothic room and the sunlight came in through the window behind the headboard. Very beautiful. Also, we were able to open the window and let fresh air in which not all hotels allow.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Construction next door

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Next door to the hotel is heavy construction that starts at 7am. The hotel exterior is poorly lit and not in the cleanest condition. The Hotel temperature was very Hot and uncomfortable. The good side is the Hotel staff was very pleasant and helpful and the Hotel is very Charming with a historical feel. If the inside temperature was cooler and no construction next door I would recommend to stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cute Victorian style hotel but not comfortable

Posted Apr 15, 2017
It is a cute hotel I love the Victorian aspect of it, but the mattress on the bed should be updated. I felt like I was literally sleeping on an 18th century mattress. The room Smelled very musty and was dirty. If the wanted to keep with the Victorian feel of the hotel maybe they could put in wood style flooring. Other than that I loved the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Upper Michigan

Disappointed.....comparing to previous visit

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Location and overall theme
Cons: Full breakfast menu Patio set repaired or replaced Windows washed, fountain fixed, gate locked, soaps in bathroom,new pillows, rooms updated
Location: Balboa park, San Diego Zoo, Barrio Star Mexican restaurant, Extraordinary Deserts
We had stayed there approx. 4 years ago. At that time it was superb. So sad now: No beakfast menu..simply a continental breakfast on paper plates, with paper towels as napkins. Windows so dirty, you could not see out of them in our Garden room. Check in table in dining room, with computer cords all over. No tablecloths. Outdoor patio furniture in shambles...chairs ripped to shreds...and tabletops dirty. Room theme destroyed by modern coat tree in front of window. No individual face soaps in bathroom. No stopper in sink. No wine and cheese or high tea in the afternoon. No ability to print boarding passes, directions....printer not working. Maid and desk personnel were helpful, but poorly managed. This Inn is relying on old reputation.....unfortunately going down hill. Would rate it as a 3, at best. With better management and care, it could easily be a 5 again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Beautiful old historic house

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Our check in was great; Cindy was very helpful. The Garden Room on the first floor was very comfortable and it and the bathroom were spotless (I did the white glove test). This was remarkable because of the construction next door where a great excavation was taking place, The following morning's breakfast was quite a disappointment, though. I would recommend Britt Scripps House for those who enjoy historic buildings and a comfortable bed. But don't count on a good breakfast!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Convenient and charming

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Beautiful historic building with loads of charm and in a convenient location as well.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Va

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Light in hall comes through window above door, cannot darken the room. Major construction next door. Continental breakfast fair at best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice Antique Hotel with nice Antique Furnishings

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Nice Antique Facility
Location: About 2 miles from Convention Center. Very easy to get to. Nice Restaurants nearby. Park in a locked Parking Facility across from the Inn.
Very nice place to stay with the old world feeling. Walking distance to a wonderful Italian Restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno

Truly unique downtown San Diego hotek

Posted Mar 16, 2017
This was one of the best hotel stays I have ever had. There are good restaurants close by within walking distance. The hotel itself is extremely quiet and very clean. I would definitely stay here again.