Ratings based on 1,010 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Very Nice place to stay. Close to the beach and many other activities. Would definitely recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Thomas Lee, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the the great review. We appreciate the recommendation!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017
i really enjoyed my stay . the staff was really courteo
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Thomas Lee, General Manager, Hotel Management
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please visit us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Posted Jul 10, 2017
We stayed for Father's Day weekend and we can't wait to go back. Loved it. A little pricey but totally worth it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Thomas Lee, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Cape Rey for your Father's Day weekend getaway. We are glad that you loved it and hope to welcome you back soon! Thanks again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect beach location!

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Beautiful location, great staff, great onsite amenities. Beds could be more comfortable but overall an excellent experience here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, upkeep lacking

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Location close to the beach. Originally a very beautiful hotel.
Cons: Hotel in need of renovation. Hotel charged us a room occupancy tax which was not correct.
This is our 4th, extended stay in 4 years. There have been several issues we would like to address. Kids: The hotel claims it is kid-friendly. Yet, the kids' room was turned into a meeting room this year. Cape Rey used to have little kids' welcoming presents (stuffed animal or beach toys) for the children that have fallen by the wayside. Fitness: The treadmill on the L was broken (made funny noises when turned on) - the same treadmill that was broken last year. All of the fitness equipment only had one channel - the one elliptical did not even have that one TV channel without constant disturbance. When I addressed that with the front manager Matt, he said that these issues had come up multiple times (!) with his engineer, and that he had trusted him that they would get fixed. He offered us breakfast vouchers in exchange. We received a quarter of the vouchers needed. We had to go in 3 times to ask for more vouchers and were told by Matt that he did not expect us to be such a large company (we are a family of four...). We finally got some more vouchers but not the necessary amount for the whole stay but were tired to address it again. The staff uses the bathroom in the fitness facilities as a staff bathroom. Hotel room: Rooms were made around 4:30/5 pm. We had to ask every day to have the rooms made earlier. The toilet roll handle was screwed on upside-down so the toilet roll fell onto the floor every time we used it. A towel hook nearly fell off the wall in the bathroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Ocean View

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: The balcony was spacious and the furniture on the balcony comfortable.It also had an outside light, which was nice.
Cons: I had an issue with GPS - clicking through from Expedia to maps it took me to a different Hilton, about half a mile away.
Location: The beach was small(ish) and stony but it seemed to be ideal for surfers, of which there were many. There is a shuttle to another beach.
I had a room with full ocean view and a balcony, which was lovely but the ocean was across a road and right in front of my balcony was the pool. I suppose for some that would have been optimum but I had needed some time to work and had hoped to do so on the balcony in a beautiful setting. The pool was distracting. Having said that, I ended up working in the wee small hours with the pool (closed but lit) all still, two palm trees right in front of me and the distant sound of the waves. That was pretty impressive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet, overlooking to the beach

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Its a very nice hotel and we enjoyed our stay here.it is quiet, peaceful place. I love there pools and we were able to swim at night. The facility is clean. I will definitely come back here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Thomas Lee, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great rating. We are so glad to hear that you will definitely come back here and we look forward to serving you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel a street away from the beach

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Well-kept grounds, nice staff, kid-friendly pool, spacious room.
Cons: All the extra charges. We had a booth in the hotel restaurant and the leather seats on both sides had holes. The $22 breakfast was just standard.
We were there for one night only. Overall experience is good. Our balcony view of the ocean was somewhat marred by all the camping trailers, chairs and mini-tents on the beach. Our room was on the second floor and we were woken up in the early hours of the morning by the occupants on the floor above running about for over an hour. So much for quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Thomas Lee, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback and review of Cape Rey. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our pool and spacious rooms and that your overall experience was good. We are actually looking at renovating our restaurant in 2018. Thank you again for your time and we hope to welcome you back soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Definitely not worth the money paid

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: The pool
Cons: Stop charging for parking. Get the valet to chill out. Improve your wifi dramatically. Provide free breakfast.
Location: Ralphs grocery store is great. Only about 2 miles away.
This was our first time in the San Diego area and we wanted to stay some where nice (nearly family in Carlsbad). I was expecting this place to wow me. I left underwhelmed. This place is only slightly better than your average hotel at double the price. First, I pulled up to the entrance and the valet literally opened my door before the car was in park. The main attraction of this hotel is the pool and location to the ocean. The pool was nice. But don't confuse yourself. You are paying a daily resort fee for that pool. Factor that in to your room rate. The ocean/beach is across the street but the beach is too rocky for most people to lay on. The two things that upset me the most about this place were that we had to pay to park even though there were plenty of parking spots behind the hotel. And the the wifi was TERRIBLE. We could only get on wifi at most 20% of the time. And that was part of the "resort fee".
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Thomas Lee, General Manager, Hotel Management
We truly appreciate the feedback on our resort. We are sorry to hear that your experience was anything less than exceptional. We strive to provide the best service and amenities and hope that each guest finds value in staying at our resort along the coast. Also, we wanted to mention that our property will be investing in our infrastructure to significantly improve our WiFi services. Thank you again for your time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Great upgraded hotel.

Posted Jun 4, 2017
First room had window blocked out and loud a/c unit outside it. The manager was great to upgrade us and we had a fabulous stay. You could tell he cared about our stay there. Had a heating problem and the tech's were on it fast and replaced the whole unit. Great team.