Ratings based on 972 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted May 15, 2017
Great location. Nice staff. Room clean. Needs updating. Sink did not drain well. Accessible handle in shower rusting and part of it was loose and fell to the end of the grip. Sharp and dangerous. But I still love San Diego. (Carlsbad)
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Thomas Lee, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback on our resort. We appreciate the kind words about our location and nice staff. If we have the pleasure of serving you again, we hope that you reach out during your stay so we can address any concerns and ensure your comfort and safety.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver CO

Wonderful Hotel

Posted May 13, 2017
This was a quick weekend getaway. Wonderful Hotel/resort. Very nice pool/hot tub area, fire pits, easy access to the beach across the street and we enjoyed the complimentary bicycles that we road down the beach on. Very close to restaurants to both the North and South. Room was spotless, very comfortable beds with a nice ocean view. Staff was wonderful as well, would definitely recommend a stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Thomas Lee, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Alina, We appreciate the great review! Thank you for choosing Cape Rey for your weekend getaway. It's so great to hear that you got to enjoy our pool, fire pits and even our complimentary bike rentals. We hope you had a great time. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mountain view

2 nights stay

Posted May 12, 2017
Great location, friendly staff, clean & comfortable room, close to good dining
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Thomas Lee, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Rich - we appreciate the great review and kind words about our friendly staff and comfortable rooms. We hope to welcome you back soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible Front Desk-ruined the experience

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: the room was clean and nice
Cons: get front desk that knows how to do their job
Checked in at 11:20 PM and was told that our room wasn't ready. At 11:20 PM!! Asked if they could find a different room. Eventually was checked in to a handicapped room. Check out was just as bad. I still have not received the receipt that I requested be emailed. I even gave them a business card with my email address. They were terrible. They did not know what they were doing at all. The hotel was clean and lovely. The front desk was the worst I've ever had.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Thomas Lee, General Manager, Hotel Management
We have spoken with our Front Desk Supervisor and are not aware of any issues with check-in within the past couple of weeks. Please feel free to reach out to us directly if we can be of further assistance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Resort style living/Beaching it

Posted Apr 30, 2017
We usually vacation in Palm Springs for spring break but, this year we came to San Diego and we couldn't have been more happy with our decision. My wife and I , our 17 yr old son, our 14 yr old daughter and our 7 yr old son enjoyed our trip thanks to the Cape Rey Carlsbad.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by Thomas Lee, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for choosing Cape Rey. We are so glad that you enjoyed your trip. We hope that you choose to stay with us again on your next vacation to San Diego.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Very nice facility...Be upfront about charges

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Facility is in very nice condition. Our room was clean and comfortable and kept that way by housekeeping staff. Spacious lobby and great pool area.
Cons: I hate hidden-cost surprises. I was aware of the $20/day resort fee, but not the $20/day parking fee until check out. Be upfront about ALL charges!
Location: Great location for exploring beaches from Laguna to La Jolla. We also drove to Palomar Mountain and Temecula...Traffic was not an issue even on I-5!
My wife and I stayed at Cape Rey for 5 nights. Hotel staff was polite and helpful throughout our stay. The person at the check-in desk appeared to give some thought to choosing a room for us which I appreciated...It gave me a feeling of being a "guest" rather than "just another customer." Chandler's restaurant was more expensive than other area restaurants so we choose to eat elsewhere. Housekeeping staff did a very good job. The location of our room was quick...We didn't hear any noise from other guests. One morning, there was no coffee creamer, but a quick call to the front desk and a quick delivery helped avert a morning "disaster" :-) We had a very nice stay and would not only recommend Cape Rey, but will consider staying there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by Thomas Lee, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Brian - Thank you for the review on our resort. We appreciate the feedback and are glad to hear that you had a very nice stay. We strive to provide top notch customer service so reading that you truly felt like a guest and that you will likely return means a great deal to us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from santa clara CA

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Had a very nice stay at the hotel. We had to cancel another hotel after the fact and book this one the day we landed in Carlsbad because the other hotel, also booked on Expedia was very disappointing. Hotel staff is courteous. Very clean and pleasant. I would visit again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Nice hotel, near beach, away from noise & traffic

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, good restaurant, amazing breakfasts.
Location: The beach is close by and it's one of the few hotels where you can take walks.
I stay at this hotel 5-6 times a year. It's consistently good. I travel North and South from there and find that the location works extremely well for business travel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Savannah

At the beach

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Valet parking staff.
Cons: Staff!!!
Location: Rather isolated. Beach is a walk.
I won't be back. Still waiting for the k cups I asked for the 2nd day. Waitstaff at restaurant was horrible. Didn't bother with the spa in light of the other disappointments.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Beautiful view of the ocean

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Beautiful view of the ocean, close to the beach, great restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Thomas Lee, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of our resort and sharing these great photos of our beach!