Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Palm Desert ,Ca.

a bit pricey

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: the history behind it.
Cons: better breakfast ,
Location: great shops and restaurants close to hotel.
not many amenities , great location next to shops and restaurants , small rooms . continental breakfast could of been better for the amount you pay for the room . ok for a night or 2 . Small bar in the courtyard is quaint .
5 out of 5
by Trasi

The visitor

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay was fabulous...we had a experience regarding our blind in the window as for when we went to sleep it was closed. My husband woke up in the morning it was raised up halfway... I dint touch it nor did he. It was pretty cool that we had a visitor sometime thru the night. The Hotel is beautiful and the Bar is very relaxing and inviting. Highly recommend the Cosmopolitan to everyone...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Santa Clara, CA

History is priceless!

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: The place itself is fantastic, and the staff is friendly and very helpful. It's a unique hotel.
Cons: Breakfast. It is included, which is a plus, but they need to offer a savory option, even if it is plain bread.
Location: It's in the heart of Old Town San Diego, but you can always catch a train to Downtown San Diego (the transit center is 5 minutes away).
I had to travel to San Diego for work, and since I was on Spring Break, I decided to spend and extra day there with my husband just-for-fun. Out of the different hotel options near Old Town San Diego, I realized the price difference between The Cosmopolitan and more traditional hotels like the Hilton is quite small, but the experience this historical hotel offers is priceless. The atmosphere is magical, and nothing compares to opening the window in the morning and finding yourself in an authentic Spanish colonial town just like the ones I have back in my home country, Colombia. The staff is very friendly and committed to their role, especially when you ask them about the friendly ghosts that inhabit this beautifully restored building. Honestly, I can't wait to come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the heart of old town.

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Other than the fact that there is no TV in the room, the hotel was nice. Stay was good and comfy, courtesous staff and everything was with in walking distance. Lots to do.
4 out of 5
by Steven

Loved the room

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
Love the historic building. The housekeeping staff go to great lengths to care for the rooms. Very quiet even with the restaurant downstairs. If you need a tv, this is not for you. I enjoyed the quiet and walking around Old Town. I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Old Town Experience

Posted Mar 13, 2017
My husband and I loved everything about this place. Stayed in room 4 and loved the original decor and furniture as well as the fireplace, claw foot bathtub and spacious feel of the suite. The garden dining area was another plus and the dinner we had delicious as well. Within walking distance to everything Old Town, friendly staff, comfortable bed. What more could you ask for?
4 out of 5
by Ritchie

Convenient and charming

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
I was just staying there for the night, because it was the closest hotel to the Amtrak station, but I loved it. There aren't a lot of amenities, but the rooms are lovely, and the breakfast scones are great. I would return, if ever in the area again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not impressed

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Hotels
Not impressed for the price
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderfully small hotel with historic charm

Posted Mar 1, 2017
We enjoyed our four night stay at the Cosmopolitan and would absolutely visit again. The hotel is located in Old Town, which is centrally located in the San Diego area and is a great jumping off point for the various sights to see around town. Our room was comfortable and tastefully decorated and I especially enjoyed the history lesson we received during our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Loved our stay! Very charming! We were right in the middle of old town so we were part of all the action!