Ratings based on 398 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

On the beach!

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Great location! Nothing fancy but it was clean. Close to everything & steps to the beach. Front desk manager was very nice & very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2017
Great Location, great views, had a wonderful time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Fantastic, low-key spot at the beach

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Took a one-night staycation here for my husband's birthday and it was perfect. Steps from the sand, lounge chairs, fine dining and more. Rooms were nice enough, especially considering we were coming in from the beach and sand inevitably gets everywhere. Rates were so reasoanble for the area and location. We'll definitely be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: It overlooks a nice beach. Is very close to excellent restaurants and shopping.
We were there for the La Jolla 1/2 Marathon. The route goes right by the hotel, which was great for us. But the hotel did not inform other guests that they would not be able to leave the hotel between 7:30ish and 8:45ish because the road would be closed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Steps to the beach, very convenient location. .

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Loved it...super friendly staff, great parking...good size room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Best location on beach.

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Better pillows! The needs a some updating.
Location: Close to beach and restaurants. Great place to walk around.
My kids had fun! Great location for price. Beautiful views and close to shops & restaurants.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and out of date

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Bathroom old and uncomfortable. Room old and our if date. The only thing we liked was the location on the beach. Would not recommend this location
5 out of 5
by Susan

Awesome-clean-friendly!

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
Needing a break from reality, we drove from Chandler, Arizona to Del Mar, outside of San Diego for three days. The drive was only five and a half hours in beautiful weather. When we turned off the highway, the Pacific greeted us with the wonderful seaside aroma. The hotel was right on the beach! The view from our room was spectacular, check-in was fast & friendly, and we were on the sand you beach in seconds. Parking was fabulous. The beach wasn't crowded at all, the the lifeguard tower was close. The restaurantsecond were within walking distance with excellent food and cocktails. The hotel was clean, smelled nice, and the housekeepersmell were very friendly. I will definitely stay there on future visits!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location, Location, Location

Posted Mar 22, 2017
they may ask if you want to Upgrade,, should probably check the room you paid for first , before agreeing to the upgrade [ note to self]
2 out of 5
by Chris

Terrible room, great location

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
The room is old, outdated and in disrepair. Plugs are not convenient and hard to find for charging devices etc. The fridge was rusting and noticeably old. The toilet looks like something you might see in a gas station. The only redeeming aspect of this motel is that it is right on the water and only a minute walk to the crashing waves. There are two restaurants very close, 2 minute walk. Poseidon, has great waterfront seating with only mediocre food. For the same cost, or less, Jake's has similar seating and far superior food.