Ratings based on 1,151 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Richard

Amazing Resort

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
This is one of our favorite hotels around the world. We keep coming back and each time it doesn't disappoint. The resort is amazing, the restaurants on the campus are awesome and within an 15 minute drive there are loads more great spots to eat. The Spanish architecture is beautiful, the courtyards and pools are incredible, and the hotel staff is always very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Lovely Hacienda with excellent location

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: It fell very private and secluded from the noise and traffic outside of the property
Cons: The food was fine but could be improved. It was quite bland.
Location: Prime location, in the middle of the UC campus, close to Scipp's and only 10ms away from La Jolla
Very comfortable hotel and nice staff. Lovely grounds, gardens and pool with spa area. Nicely decorated.
1 out of 5
by Kelly

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
Hotels.com failed to post that the swimming pool was closed for scheduled yearly maintenance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2016
The hotel and grounds were beautiful and the rooms were comfortable and clean, however the restaurant service was awful and the valet/front desk were understaffed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newport beach ca

Great staff berry accommodating

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Had a great time room was clean staff was nice and helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Valley Center, CA

Classy

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Cons: Air conditioning units
The Estancia is a classy San Diego boutique hotel. They are re-doing the hotel. Be sure to request an upgraded room. The new rooms are much more airy and light feeling. Love the hotel staff here! They are always fabulous!!! Wish the air conditioners held temp better is all. Love the dining here. Great bar. Mustangs and Burrows is awesome and the breakfast is great too, every time! Awesome check in and valet staff always. Love the Fresh toiletries, wow! Nothing but goodness here every time! Other than, that, everything is fantastic and perfect and we will continue to return to the Estancia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent choice

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: Very clean, great staff, beautiful hotel, comfortable beds
The staff was pleasant and very accommodating from the minute we walked in the door. The location is very convenient and the grounds are beautiful. Loved the good smelling candles throughout the property! This is more of a romantic getaway or good for business, but fine for kids too with so many kid friendly options close by!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect stay

Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect. Had massage in the spa and used the hotel's hot tub. Perfect!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous property!

Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
My husband and I always enjoy staying at Estancia La Jolla. We didn't have the opportunity to enjoy the amenities this time around (we stayed the night after a holiday party), but the property and restaurants on site are always exceptional. We're looking forward to our next stay!!