Ratings based on 335 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DIRTY

Posted May 30, 2017
I found dirty rags on the bathroom counter and a hair tie on the ground. The room was freezing when we arrived. Room felt dirty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to post your review. We sincerely apologize for the service and housekeeping issues you experienced. We have procedures in place so these types of situations do not occur. Regrettably we failed during this process and for that I am sorry. We can absolutely do better, and we hope you will give us the opportunity in the future to prove that to you. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tehachapi, CA

Decent hotel but very worn out

Posted May 16, 2017
Staff was super friendly and courteous. Bed was very comfortable. Slept like a baby. I didn't like that the countertops were worn out and stained all over, or that the kitchenette and bathroom had one trashcan to share. Very gross. Hair care product from last occupant was left in the room. An overall pungent smell was abundant in the room when we first walked in. However, the convenience of location was very accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for being a guest at our hotel. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your overall stay and that you were impressed with the comfort of our cozy beds. However, I am sorry we missed meeting your expectations in regard to your room and regret the inconvenience it caused. I have shared your concerns with the concerned team to ensure it never happens again. We appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon! Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

First Time

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Lovely looking Building
Cons: lots
First experience at Extended Stay America, won't be back. The no frills attitude does not reflect in the price. The room looks like it is designed to be hosed down. outdated look, outdated furnishings. No maid service. Grab your own towels. Not for me.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We apologize our hotel and facilities were not to your expectations. Our hotel is designed for guests staying a week or more at a time, who prefer a home-like living experience. So we certainly understand why you may have found us a bit different than traditional hotels. Regardless of the length of stay, our goal is to provide clean, comfortable and well-maintained accommodations with a friendly staff at a good value. We hope you will consider us again. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from REDLANDS CA

No ice maker

Posted May 5, 2017
Cons: the counter person would at least say sorry she gave me room that looked like went thru a movie production
Location: Carlsbad is nice
luckily i decide to go open the room before my two sons and wife as they waited at the truck. opened the door to the room i was giving and saw Fear and Loathing from las vegas had already been here, Luckily the people were either gone or passed out and never heard me open the door, as i stared at the mess i was getting into after my long day at legoland! I went back to the office and had to wait for 10min for the rep to come back to the counter to get a different room. Room is was it is for the price, My wife was cold and called for a extra blanket. the office girl said she would call right back and never did, so i walked to the office to get a blanket. only other complainant is went to go get some ice and they have none! No ice machine really i thought every place had one! Next round i think i will try somewhere else
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2017 by General Manager  , Hotel Management
First and foremost, I would like to offer you my apologies for the inconvenience that you and your family experienced during your stay with us. Your feedback in regard to our service and your room will be shared with the appropriate teams so that we will be more diligent in our efforts. Since our kitchen is equipped with a full-size refrigerator which includes ice trays, we do not have ice machines on our property. We are sorry for your disappointment. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you all again in the future. Sincerely, General Manager 
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Really basic.

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Excellent location close to lots of things in Carlsbad, plus the beach.
Cons: Breakfast...
Breakfast was laughable. Had a difficult time sleeping because of noisy fridge and ducts blowing air super loud. I'm usually a deep sleeper with noise, but couldn't here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your candid feedback. It’s nice to know our location was convenient for your needs. However, we are sorry that our breakfast offerings were not to your liking and also apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to the noise issues in your room. We have shared your feedback with the appropriate individuals in our organization in an effort to improve our facilities. We appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to make your next stay perfect in every respect. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles, ca

Great location hotel, prices, amenities, and food

Posted Apr 26, 2017
We had a late checkin. We unfortunately arrived when the check in person went to lunch and had to wait 30 mins till their return. The lobby is really cold! But once we got the key to our room- check in was quite quick once started- the room was very big and the kitchen was small but work for us and plenty of room in the fridge and cabinets for stuff. We requested pots and pans etc. it didn't come after an hour. So I had to send my hubby to get some of the items and the next day we got the rest. The continental breakfast was good. I live the coffee and the oatmeal was great and also the snacks Togo as well. The price we paid per night was great compare to our last visit to Carlsbad and we saved so much. Plus much closer to legoland this time. Close to great places to eat and also smart and final for the must have for cooking there at the hotel. All and all a great trip! I will definite come here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Elias, it makes us so happy to read how much you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us. It is nice to know you liked our pricing, your room and the location of our hotel which was perfect for your needs. Thanks so much for the wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you both again at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Terrible

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Terrible bed noise all day and night, the room above me had a kid and the kid ran up and down all the time, it was terrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Pat, we apologize for disturbances from other guests at our hotel which put a damper on your stay. When made aware of these situations, our front desk staff is trained to have appropriate conversations with our guests to resolve such issues. We are terribly sorry you had an uncomfortable visit and hope you will choose us again as we would love to ensure you have a restful experience. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Had to wait 20 min for clerk to show up to check in. Room dirty. Bathroom toilet never cleaned had pee stains. You get what you pay for. Pictures made it looked clean even front office was dirty and disorganized.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Wally, thank you for your review of our hotel. I am sorry you experienced so many difficulties during your stay with us. My staff and I are taking steps to ensure every detail from the first impression at check-in to final check-out will focus on exceptional customer service and impeccable attention to detail to our suites. I encourage you to try us again in the near future. I am confident you will enjoy a better stay. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You often get what you pay for.

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: The young lady at the front desk was very helpful and had a pleasant personality.
Cons: Cleanliness.
Not a bad location and though it sits feet from the 15 freeway, if your room is on the back side of the building, you cannot hear any freeway noise. HOWEVER, though I don't know if this holds true for every room, the room we were in was a veritable pig sty. The room was dirty, not in the common it hadn't been cleaned recently kind of dirty but wow, if one didn't know better, one would think that farm animals had been kept there. First thing we did was get the towel for the floor of the bathroom, wet it slightly and ran it over the parts of the floor we would be walking on. It started out as a "let's get the visible spots up" and quickly turned into a much larger project. Needless-to-say, the towel was left a very dark brown almost black color by the time we had covered the short distance from the door to the beds. We opened the drawer in the bedside table to put our iPads and quickly closed it again; the animal's feeding trough perhaps? Oh, did I mention the shower rod? Completely torn out of the wall at one end and hanging 3/4" from the wall by some long screws. It had a downward angle to the extent that someone had used some sort of plastic something or others to prevent the shower curtain from sliding down into the center of the rod. You had to hold the other end of the curtain up as you showered to keep the curtain from sliding to the center and water from splashing all over the floor. Twenty-twenty hind sight says that might might not have been a bad thing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your evaluation. Although we are glad you liked the service provided by our front desk staff, please accept our apologies for your unpleasant experience at our hotel. As the cleanliness of our hotel is a key priority, we are very sorry your room fell short of expectations. Please rest assured that your comments have been shared with the team in an effort to improve our service and facilities. We hope you will give us another chance to impress you on a future visit. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Will recommend

Posted Apr 15, 2017
The hotel was nice and clean considering I'm very picky about hotels. We went to lego land and it was a convenient drive from the hotel. The staff was very nice and welcoming. People who stayed there as well were not loud or disturbing. Pets were allowed and I didn't not hear one dog bark nor did I see any dander in the hotel or feces outside the hotel. I will stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest Extended Stay America San Diego - Carlsbad Village. We are glad that our location was perfect for your travel needs, and that you liked our service and facilities. Thanks for recommending us, and we look forward to seeing you in the future!   Sincerely, General Manager