Ratings based on 2,129 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Historic hotel, great bar, and location

Posted May 22, 2017
Good price, close to big attractions including San Diego zoo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In the thick of it

Posted May 20, 2017
Quaint hotel in the middle of the gas lamp district. Easy access to everything in the district. You can hear the nightlife all night long. Parking is expensive. Great place to explore the convention center, ball game, gas lamp district. I would not stay here is your goal is to explore the rest of San Diego.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

GASLAML SUITES ARE SWEET!

Posted May 18, 2017
This hotel is very convenient for staying the the heart of The Gaslamp Quarter. Highly recommend to stay at least one night. You get fast access to club downstairs with room key. How neat is that!?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from z

Fabulous Hotel

Posted May 13, 2017
We usually stay at the US Grant when we come to visit San Diego but came across this little hidden gem and what a surprise. The hotel stafff was great, the hotel room was spotless and the bed was super comfortable. We also had free internet and a great continental breakfast on the rooftop deck.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Wonderful hotel in an interesting area

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Very pleasant staff. Interesting transformation of an office building to a lovely hotel.
Cons: For those staying several days a slight variation in the morning meal would be nice.
Location: It is exactly where you want to be if you want to be in the heart of the Gaslamp area. It is also great for transit. Area has lots of vacant shops.
The hotel is great. I'm not sure I would stay in Gaslamp area again if I went to San Diego but if I did I would stay here. We were there during Cinco de Mayo which was very loud so sleep was difficult. I liked the idea of breakfast in the hotel although the menu was very limited so I had pretty much the same thing all four morning. The room was beautiful. It was much more colorful and decorated than most hotels we have stayed at. I would recommend this hotel without reservation if one wanted to be in the Gaslamp area. or nearby. An additional advantage of the hotel is that public transportation (including a direct bus to the airport) is a block or two away. We made trips to the airport, Balboa park, the Zoo, and the waterfront for $1.10 (senior rate) each.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nice and clean hotel

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Clean and spacious
Cons: Real cribs instead of play pens
Location: Several bars, restaurants (casual and nicer), shopping areas
We only stayed one night (testing how my kid does in new space). I reserved a suite with separate bedroom so we could stay up without bothering her, it was a very large/nice space. She had a blast crawling from one side of the suite to the other which resulted in me getting down on my hands and knees inspecting everything, it was clean :) Bed was soft; furniture modern/no smells or stains; bathroom could use better lighting but overall good; Continental breakfast was decent but very limited seating (yogurt/coffee/tea/milk/juice/bagels/cereal/apples/oranges/toast). My only real negative was that the site says "crib" but they give you a playpen. You get a loose sheet to use on top of the pad, she was tired enough so she didn't play in the pen but it wasn't what I wanted. I've never used a crib at another hotel, so maybe this is standard? Last thing that the hotel has no control over, but the area around it is very "downtown" feel, lots of bars/restaurants/shopping but also a lot of homeless and drunk people. We were up several floors so I didn't notice noise but probably not very young kid friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Great hotel near everything in downtown San Diego. Definitely recommend it!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you so much!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very unique building, centrally located.

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: Water pressure was pretty low, but that's hardly worth mentioning.
Location: Very much in the middle of downtown San Diego. We walked to dinner, the bay and pretty much all over the Gaslamp Quarter.
Cool hotel with unique rooms We had a suite with a nice view of the city. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and professional. I loved this place because it was not your typical hotel. Highly recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you so much!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Guest Service

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Guest Service and cleanliness, room had a fridge, coffee maker, utensils and sink.
Cons: Continental Breakfast
The employees were great, everything was close to the hotel, the rooms were clean and classic, I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Location, comfort, roof top area, staff.
Location: Great location for food, entertainment and the ball park. Convention center is 1/2 mile away, nice walk.
Was recently in town for a conference. This hotel was a 0.5 mile walk away from the conference center but good alternative to the expensive hotels close to the center. So many different restaurants in the area to choose from. A bit noisy when the Padres are playing but really a nice low-key place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you!!!